11175: Acronis True Image Home 2009 - Disk Full

5 replies [Last post]
EN4CER
Beginner

Dear All,

I am running Acronis True Image Home 2009 and have a daily incremental backup of my computers C: drive and a weekly incremental backup of my computers D: drive. Today I got the disk full error and noticed my external hard drive is indeed full!

Can I just delete some of the latest or earliest backs in the incremental set or is there a more safer way to create space??

* I have been running backs for about 4 months now.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Win

thomasjk
Regular Poster

Since you have been using incrementals' you can only delete some of the last backups made. If you delete the earlier ones than the backup chain will be broken. You will want to consolidate the incrementals' and the full archive http://kb.acronis.com/content/1761. You may want to get another external drive for this so you have sufficient space.

EN4CER
Beginner

Many thanks for your help.

I've edited the schedule backup to include 60 days worth of backups

thomasjk
Regular Poster

That's a lot of incrementals. Be sure to validate each one. If one in the chain becomes corrupt everything afterward won't be able to be restored. You might consider Chain2gen to handle consolidation for you http://forum.acronis.com/forum/5940.

GoneToPlaid
Regular Poster

EN4CER wrote:

Dear All,

I am running Acronis True Image Home 2009 and have a daily incremental backup of my computers C: drive and a weekly incremental backup of my computers D: drive. Today I got the disk full error and noticed my external hard drive is indeed full!

Can I just delete some of the latest or earliest backs in the incremental set or is there a more safer way to create space??

* I have been running backs for about 4 months now.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Win

Hi EN4CER,