22766: how to clone a windows 7 boot partition (C drive) to a new hard disk

7 replies [Last post]
revan89
Beginner

Hi I am new to the Acronis True Image Home 2011 software, so please forgive me for my ignorance. Right now I have a partition of Windows 7 installed in the C drive of one of my hard disks, and I wish to clone just the Win 7 partition into a new SSD and make sure it boots up and runs just like it is right now. Could anyone please guide me on what I need to do?

fyi, my current Win 7 partition is 150gb, and the hard disk it is installed in is 1tb. The new SSD which I intend to clone the Win 7 partition into has 240gb, that's why I want to clone the Win 7 partition only.

Pat L
Acronis MVP Volunteer
MVP

You should do a disk and partition backup of your hidden system reserved, and you visible C:\system partitions to an external disk.

Make sure you have created a bootable recovery medium with Acronis True Image (ATI). Once created, try to boot on it to make sure it works and that you can see your backup on your external disk.

Then remove the disk that contains the current Win7 from the computer and put the SSD at the same spot.

Boot the computer on the recovery CD. Launch ATI on the CD. Watch out: the drive letter are not the same as in Windows; look at labels.

In tools, click add new disk, select your SSD. Acknowledge all data on the SSD will be deleted.

First restore the system reserved partition only. The new destination is the SSD. Mark it primary, active. Do not change the drive letter. Without rebooting, restore the C:\system partition. Then restore the MBR+track0 with the disk signature.

Reboot. Once the computer has rebooted once on the SSD, you can put the old disk in and erase the Win7 partitions there.

Win 8.1 Pro x64 SSD + Software RAID 0 - ATI 2014 6614

revan89
Beginner

How do I find the system reserved partition?

Also how to restore the mbr+track0?