3081: Copying disk images out of Acronis Security Zone

16 replies [Last post]
Richard Casale
Beginner

Just to set the stage, I am new to Acronis Tru Image Home 2009, but I'm a pretty technical guy. I have my system setup with a SecureZone on a separate drive for local backups, however I want to make a copy of the full images to a USB hard drive so that if my system totally looses it, I can at least access those files.

Is it possible to copy Image backups out of a SecureZone onto another drive that is not using a SecureZone.

Also, by chance, if I perform a file back up of the image file in the securezone to a regular partition, can I use that backup copy to restore my system?

dh27564
Forum Member

I'm relatively new to ATI also. It is my understanding that the secure zone is primarily for users who only have a single internal HD. The secure zone is set up on the same disk as your operating system. The problem with this is, if your HD crashes crashes, so does your secure zone. After reading several posts in the previous forum, it seemed many users were having problems with the secure zone so I chose not to create it.

I don't believe you need a secure zone if you're backing up to an external drive. Simply store the backup image on your external drive. You should be able to store a backup image on any external disk that ATI sees and is large enough. You should also create the rescue CD and practice using it to back up to your external HD. If your main drive crashes, you will have to boot from the CD and use it to restore. I am using the rescue CD to create all my backups, store them on an external HD, and to validate them. I have restored individual files using the rescue CD but have not yet completed a full restore.

Again, I'm new to this also and hopefully others may jump in and give you a better explanation.

MudCrab
MudCrab's picture
Acronis MVP Volunteer
MVP

What build of TI 2009 are you using?