31230: [Resolved] Laptop, keyboard and mouse of any type do not work in bootloader

4 replies [Last post]
iarp
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2012-04-18
Posts: 3

The onboard keyboard and mouse, USB keyboard and nice don't work either. There is no PS/2 option.

I've tried leaving everything alone and booting onto the disk then attempting to select the top option, but it doesn't notice any mice or keyboard so it auto boots into Windows.

There is no USB Legacy option in BIOS, there really isn't anything of any use in BIOS. Compaq V6305ca. BIOS up to date, all drivers were up to date.

Can't boot into Windows at all, Windows disk can't repair it and this bootable disk isn't working. I don't have the equipment handy to take the hard drive out and reimage it with my own machine.

I've seen posts on here about this same sort of issue, but they always just PM the required ISO.

shadowsports
shadowsports's picture
Offline
Acronis MVP Volunteer
MVP
Joined: 2012-03-22
Posts: 726

Greetings,
The onboard keyboard should function, but of course there are going to be circumstances where it won't. The lack of support at the BIOS level could be a implementation choice made by the manufacturer. Legacy USB or enable/disable of USB support prior to the OS loading/Pre BOOT environment.

You may have already tried this, but ensure there are no USB devices connected during BOOT, except for the drive your recovery image is on. See if keyboard input is possible. Normally, boot media does not detect a device that was not present from the get go.

It is also possible to set one of the programs on the bootable media you created to start automatically. There is a checkbox and ability to select the number of seconds before the app starts. Unfortunately, I know you don't have the ability to build a fresh copy yourself.

Unless someone can provide the ISO you mentioned, you may have to remove the drive so it can be re-imaged in a machine that suports keyboard input in the boot media environment. Wish I had more for you at this point.

__________________

Sys1: P8Z68 Deluxe/Gen3 (BIOS 3603), i7-2600k@3.5, 16GB Corsair Vengeance @1600+, Corsair TX850w PSU, EVGA GTX 660 FTW Signature2, 2x Corsair Force III 120's RAID0 (boot), 1 x Seagate 1T 6GB (data), Win7x64 Ult. Case: HAF 922, ATI 2012 Plus Build #7133. Win8.1 Pro x64 2013 Plus Build #6514, QNAP TS-219P-II NAS - Sys2: P8Z77-V-LE PLUS, i5 3570k, 16GB Corsair Vengeance, TX750w PSU, GTX 560Ti DS SC, Intel 520 120GB SSD, 1TB WD Black - Sys3: Surface Pro 2 - Win 8.1 128GB

iarp
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2012-04-18
Posts: 3

Nothing is connected at any point in time. Both onboard and usb keyboards works just fine in BIOS and selecting safe mode...etc.

When i created the loader, i did not see any option to auto-select the loader instead of Windows.

shadowsports
shadowsports's picture
Offline
Acronis MVP Volunteer
MVP
Joined: 2012-03-22
Posts: 726

Greetings,

The opyion is available when creating boot media.

"It is also possible to set one of the programs on the bootable media you created to start automatically. There is a checkbox and ability to select the number of seconds before the app starts. Unfortunately, I know you don't have the ability to build a fresh copy yourself"

See It Here

Not sure it will help, but worth a try

__________________

Sys1: P8Z68 Deluxe/Gen3 (BIOS 3603), i7-2600k@3.5, 16GB Corsair Vengeance @1600+, Corsair TX850w PSU, EVGA GTX 660 FTW Signature2, 2x Corsair Force III 120's RAID0 (boot), 1 x Seagate 1T 6GB (data), Win7x64 Ult. Case: HAF 922, ATI 2012 Plus Build #7133. Win8.1 Pro x64 2013 Plus Build #6514, QNAP TS-219P-II NAS - Sys2: P8Z77-V-LE PLUS, i5 3570k, 16GB Corsair Vengeance, TX750w PSU, GTX 560Ti DS SC, Intel 520 120GB SSD, 1TB WD Black - Sys3: Surface Pro 2 - Win 8.1 128GB

iarp
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2012-04-18
Posts: 3

Ah ha, thank-you. That did indeed work, and the keyboard and mouse all work once it was up and running. I just installed acronis on an old machine and recreated the boot disc with that setting checked.

Thanks for the tip.