5555: How to uninstall True Image home 2010?

44 replies [Last post]
Andy
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2009-11-05
Posts: 13

Acronis UNINSTALLER ****. It seems as if ACRONIS doesn't want people to uninstall their products. When you install it and it's in your computer, you can't uninstall it. I installed True Image Home 2010 fine but i can't uninstall it because it's not working. All i see is "Please wait.........." message for 30 mins and i'm still waiting for this sucker to do something. If i can install TI HOME 2010 in my computer under 1 minute, why the hell do i have to wait FOREVER to uninstall it? How can i uninstall True Image home 2010 from my windows 7 computer? Thank you very much.

DwnNDrty
Offline
Forum Star
Joined: 2009-08-15
Posts: 1033

There were a couple of messages here of users having good luck with Revo Uninstaller.

Andy
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2009-11-05
Posts: 13

I hope to see Acronis Cleanup Utility for TI home 2010 and windows 7 soon.

Why can't acronis make thing work in the first place? They need to improve their UNINSTALER because it sucks.

Dave Emery
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2009-09-01
Posts: 21

I performed a clean install of Windows 7 and I've been set free.

Andy
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2009-11-05
Posts: 13

Dave Emery wrote:
I performed a clean install of Windows 7 and I've been set free.

I hope that you don't have to do it whenever you use True Image.

What you get out of their 50 US dollar software is a crappy uninstaller.

Tim Lara
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2009-11-06
Posts: 10

+1 on everything you reported Andy. My experience was almost exactly the same:

1) Installed TI 2010 build 5055, was basically running OK for a while except that it would occasionally freeze up and I'd have to open task manager and kill it.

2) Build 6029 came out and I thought "Oh, good. Maybe this will fix the freezing issues" so I downloaded and installed it as soon as I saw it.

3) The 6029 installer ran for about 30 secs, then my screen went black and the computer rebooted, apparently crashing hard.

4) When the machine came back up, TI 2010 was listed TWICE in the Windows "Programs and Settings" dialog, and neither copy would uninstall. I tried to run the OLD build 5055 installer to do a "repair" operation (since that build was basically working most of the time), and the installer reported success and asked to reboot the PC.

5) I thought all was well, but unfortunately, when the PC rebooted, it kicked me out to the Windows 7 startup repair console, and I am now stuck in an endless loop because the repair console cannot repair whatever TI did!

Luckily, I do have a backup from when build 5055 was working earlier, but at this point, I think I'm just going to do a clean install and give up on Acronis.

KaiS
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2009-09-20
Posts: 4

Tim Lara wrote:
I think I'm just going to do a clean install and give up on Acronis.

Best thing you can do. They did their best to screw the product up. A backup solution that is as unreliable as TI2010 is as useful as condoms for eunuchs...

Sam
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2009-08-18
Posts: 15

I had a similar problem last night when I tried to update from TrueImage2010.5055 to TrueImage2010.6029 (Windows 7 x64). It "updated" my 5055, but then when I clicked the 6029 link, it said acronis needed to be installed...same message for the "one-click backup" link.

So I tried a few times unsuccessfully, even after the auto-reboots. I even tried just to uninstall TrueImage2010.6029....no luck.

I turned off the PC and went to bed! Came back this morning and voila! It uninstalled and then I preceded to install TrueImage2010.6029 again. It installed properly on first try for some reason.

Seemed like the cold boot did the trick. Try powering down and restarting, instead of the standard rebooting.

But yes Acronis, please fix this...it was very messy and time consuming.

PS: (A small little personal pref) I preferred the 2009 desktop icon. can you guys add a few to the exe that we can choose from? or put them in a ico pack for download?

Andy
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2009-11-05
Posts: 13

The windows installer service could not be accessed. This can occur if thw windows installer is not correctly installed. Contact your support personnel for assistance.

I saw this error message when i tried to uninstall TIH 2010.

Jeffrey Hock
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2009-11-18
Posts: 1

Revo Uninstaller goes through two steps. The first step uses Acronis's own uninstaller, which as we all know does NOT work. The second step deletes all the registry keys that are associated with Acronis. So even Revo Uninstaller will not uninstall Acronis TI 2010.

I used to use Acronis Home 9 on my WinXP desktop. It was perfect, not complicated like the 2010 version! Acronis is trying to add lots of extra features but the basic feature (creating a disk image) is full of bugs!

One great disk-imaging tool is DriveClone Pro 7 from Farstone. It does a great job and is not overloaded with extra features.

Harvey Arkawy
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2009-11-14
Posts: 15

I've used Revo to uninstall TI 2010 a few times on my WinXP-SP3 machine. I needed to do it because I didn't know which program; TI2010 or Disk Director Suite 10 was killing the other.

Ilya
Ilya's picture
Offline
Acronis Moderator
Joined: 2009-03-30
Posts: 1360

Hello all,

Please accept our profound apologies for the delay for the response and for the inconvenience you've experienced.

Let me assist you with this issue.

I'd like to inform you that we've released a Clean-Up tool for Acronis True Image Home 2010 and Windows 7. Please follow the below instructions:

Acronis Clean-Up Utility uses two additional components. Please makes sure that the following components are downloaded and installed in the system:

  • DevCon - command-line utility that is an alternative to the Windows Device Manager. This utility is required to remove Acronis traces from Device Manager. DevCon is included in Windows Vista by default. Read more in Microsoft Knowledge Base Article 311272.

    If there is no DevCon in the system, you can download it from Microsoft Knowledge Base Article 311272, and place it in Windows\system32. Or you can just run Acronis Clean Up Utility, and it will offer to remove Acronis True Image Backup Archive Explorer manually using the steps described in the article Removing Acronis Backup Archive Explorer .

  • Msizap.exe - command-line utility that performs cleanup operations on the Windows Installer configuration management information. Msizap.exe is a part of Windows Installer CleanUp Utility. This utility is used to remove Acronis True Image Home 2010 configuration information from the system.

    If there is no Msizap.exe, then Acronis Clean Up Utility will offer to download Windows Installer CleanUp Utility from the Microsoft website.

  1. After the required components are installed, please download Acronis Clean Up Utility, unpack and run it;
  2. Please choose to delete all Acronis products from the system;
  3. You will be asked to close Windows Explorer instances since this is necessary to remove the tishell.dll and timounter.dll Acronis files, which interact with explorer.exe;
  4. You will be also asked to reboot the system to complete the uninstallation. You can reboot the system later.

Please let me know if you need any further assistance.

Thank you.

__________________

Ilya Rasovsky

Acronis Customer Central | Acronis Backup Software

For more answers to your questions, try our Knowledge Base

Our mission is to create Customer success. Our management team welcomes your comments and suggestions on how we can improve the overall support we provide to you. Please send your comments, suggestions, or concerns to Managers or submit your feedback here.

jeffrey frampton
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2010-03-27
Posts: 1

I tried uninstalling on my own but my system will not boot so i used system restore now I'll use these tools and see whats up

Mike Harris
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2010-01-21
Posts: 17

These Acronis guys are great .... THREE MONTHS between the asking of a question (Nov 18, 2009) and a response (Feb 16, 2010). Top notch support.

Why bother having a support forum if you (Acronis) don't "support" it. 90% of the message here either go totally unanswered or take 2-4 MONTHS for a reponse.

Notabeginner
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2010-05-03
Posts: 3

I'm on vista 64 pro. I downloaded the trial version. Tried to uninstall via the method above. Not working. Anyone know of a manual way to uninstall this? These utilities are not working on vista 64.

Yana
Offline
Forum Star
Joined: 2009-04-07
Posts: 3296

Hello all!

Thank you for your comments and feedback! We beleive that every Customer that complaints is giving us an opportunity to make things right. And since we incorporate this feedback into our approach, we will be better able to meet clients needs and thereby be more successful in our venture.

I sincerely regret that you had a bad experience and share your concern regarding response time on Forum, but still I'd like to ask you to pay attention to Forum Terms of Use. And should you need immediate ongoing assistance I would advise you to contact support directly - they will be definitely glad to help you.

Notabegginer, I completely understand how upsetting this situation can be, and would like to ask you to check this KB article for instructions of manual installation, you may find it useful.

Should the issue persists, feel free to contact support directly with the following details of the problem:

  1. Exact sequence of steps performed
  2. Screenshot of the issue is possible
  3. Exact error message if any

Should you need anything else or have any further questions - feel free to contact us at your earliest convenience, we will be happy to help you!

Thank you!

Notabeginner
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2010-05-03
Posts: 3

Yana, thank you for your prompt response to this thread.

I have taken all the above steps prior to posting.

The problem, I believe, is with the Microsoft DevCon command line utility. Please see their forum page here.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/311272

While they say the Ia64\DevCon.exe 64-bit DevCon tool binary is included in their download, it is not. I've searched their site for the file to no avail.

I went ahead and used the 32-bit version, but I still have files on my computer.

I also contacted support about this and am awaiting a reply.

Notabeginner
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2010-05-03
Posts: 3

Update. I gave it another try today. Downloaded the Clean up utility again, and this time it worked. I hope I will learn to research programs more thoroughly from this point forward. I also hope that Acronis will be a socially responsible company and build their programs with an uninstaller included.

lyle schaller
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2009-12-23
Posts: 3

HAD ACRO0NIS TRUE IMAGE HOME 2011 BETA...WAS UNABLE TO UNINSTALL WHEN UPGRADING TO NEWER VERSION...HAVE SPENT HOURS WITH EMAILS...AND OVER AN HOUR ON THE PHONE YESTERDAY...TODAY I FINALLY FIGURED OUT HOW TO DO IT###IT WORKED###YOU NEED TO DISABLLE THE AUTOMATIC BACKUP...RESTART AND THEN USE THE UNINSTALL OPTION ON THE ACRONIS ON YOUR VERSION GIVING PROBLEMS. IT WORKED.

MSB
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2010-09-30
Posts: 3

I am trying to uninstall Acronis True Image Home 2010 from my Windows 7 computer. However, I've discovered that the method set forth above on 3.30.2009 doesn't solve the problem. Specifically, the link to the Msizap.exe file no longer has a download link available. As a result, I was unable to run the Acronis Cleanup Utility using MSizap.exe. When I run the utility without that file, my system won't boot and I'm required to do a Windows Repair sequence, which restores the computer back to the point before I began uninstalling Acronis True Image Home. Could you please give me a link to download MSizap.exe, so I can complete the uninstall?

Thanks.

JRosenfeld
Offline
Forum Member
Joined: 2009-08-15
Posts: 28

Mark Booher wrote:

I am trying to uninstall Acronis True Image Home 2010 from my Windows 7 computer. However, I've discovered that the method set forth above on 3.30.2009 doesn't solve the problem. Specifically, the link to the Msizap.exe file no longer has a download link available. As a result, I was unable to run the Acronis Cleanup Utility using MSizap.exe. When I run the utility without that file, my system won't boot and I'm required to do a Windows Repair sequence, which restores the computer back to the point before I began uninstalling Acronis True Image Home. Could you please give me a link to download MSizap.exe, so I can complete the uninstall?

Thanks.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa370523(VS.85).aspx

http://forums.techarena.in/windows-software/1213261.htm

Others if you do an internet search

MSB
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2010-09-30
Posts: 3

JRosenfeld: thanks for your prompt reply. However, I had already found the links referenced in your post, and those links are dead. In fact every link I found was dead. I did find some Microsoft articles about why they were pulling that files from public download as well.

Ronald Siddall
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2009-12-07
Posts: 5

Msizap.exe is part of the Windows Installer Cleanup Utility which has now been "retired" and is no longer supported by Microsoft. Acronis should therefore supply an updated cleanup utility that does not rely on msizap.exe.

It's not clear to me why Acronis cannot ship fully functional uninstall routines with their products. I discovered that Acronis TI Home 2011 is also a nightmare requiring a conventional uninstall and a bespoke cleanup routine which leaves Win7 Backup inoperative. This in turn requires a registry hack (in which an undocumented permissions problem must be circumnavigated) to return Win7 backup to its operational state.

Win7 Backup is much improved ;-)
===

http://clubhouse.microsoft.com/Public/Post/3d3db81c-a4a7-4d34-869e-a5a95...

Windows Installer Cleanup Utility Retired

6/29/2010 7:36:00 AM
Since its original release, the Windows Installer Cleanup utility has been recommended countless times to resolve installation problems. The utility removed the installation files, not the program, providing the ability to start the process over.

Unfortunately, it was found that the Windows Installer Cleanup utility was could damage some other components of the Windows operating system. As a result, Microsoft removed the Windows Installer Cleanup utility from the Download Center.

In place of the Windows Installer Cleanup utility, Microsoft now provides a Fix it Solution to fully remove Office 2003, 2007 and 2010 suites without damaging other Windows components. The Fix it for Office 2003, 2007 and 2010 is available at http://support.microsoft.com/kb/290301.

Although Major Geeks is still hosting the Windows Installer Cleanup utility, the use is at your own risk since Microsoft no longer supports the utility.

Giorgio Troni
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2010-12-13
Posts: 2

Hello i have a problem, windows 7 backup not work, i have unistalled Acronis True Image Home 2011 and windows 7 backup not work plus.

I attend the solution.

Thanks

Ronald Siddall
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2009-12-07
Posts: 5

Giorgio: "Hello i have a problem, windows 7 backup not work...

Help Videos: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows7/help/videos

Blogs
http://blogs.technet.com/b/filecab/archive/2009/10/23/protect-your-files...
http://blogs.technet.com/b/filecab/archive/2009/10/31/learn-more-about-s...
http://blogs.technet.com/b/filecab/archive/2009/11/12/recovering-your-fi...
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows7/Restore-your-computer-from-a...

Note that Win7 maintains image backups as a Virtual Hard Disks. Although it is not necessary in the average recovery situation these are mountable and may be browsed to extract content in much the same way as in a TI image backup (see the 3rd blog above).

The internals of image backup are different in Win7 backup. After creating the original system image, subsequent image backups simply update the existing system image with changed blocks and replaced blocks are moved into Volume Shadow Storage. Win7 keeps track of the blocks replaced by each image backup and is thus able to restore from any of the image backups.

But what if something goes wrong with the original image backup? Later image backup versions are entirely dependent on the integrity of the original backup. File backups maintained by Win7 would still be available but you could not restore from a corrupt system image. It's a bit like True Image differential backups - if something goes wrong with the original on which the differential backups are based you can't recover. Unlike TI, Win7 does not offer the option to start again and create a fresh image backup. Workarounds are available. Images are stored in a folder on the backup drive called WindowsImageBackup. This can be renamed. Win7 will then create a new WindowsImageBackup folder and create a new disk image backup within that. Or the backup disk could be partitioned and backups pointed at each partition in turn.

Microsoft says Win7 automatically checks the integrity of backups.

Giorgio Troni
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2010-12-13
Posts: 2

The problem is windows backup not work,

MSB
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2010-09-30
Posts: 3

Giorgia and Ronald,

What I had to do was go into Task Manager and close each process related to Acronis. I then used configsys to prevent the Acronis items from loading, and manually deleted the Acronis folder, and the Acronis "device" in device manager. I rebooted and then ran CCcleaner which cleaned up the registry. Make sure you do a full backup and a new set point prior to doing this. This is the only way I could completely remove Acronis from my system, and allow the Windows 7 tools to work as they were intended. IMO, with Windows 7, there is no need to use Acronis at all.

Ronald Siddall
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2009-12-07
Posts: 5

Apologies Giorgo - I now understand your problem is not a lack of Microsoft expertise, you are *still* struggling to remove the Acronis remnants that stop Microsoft Backup from working. MSB's solution looks worth a try.

Acronis's poor support and its failure to react to problems in a timely and competant manner is very worrying. Acronis does not even list uninstallation problems as a "Hot Issue" despite the havoc they leave in their wake. If stopping native Windows 7 Backup working is not a Hot Issue I don't know what is.

I have used True Image for a long time but I too now rely on Microsoft's backup under Win7 and agree that there is no need to use Acronis any more.

Andrew
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2010-07-24
Posts: 8

I've had this crapware on my system a while and thought I would start the new year by trying to get rid of it again. I trialed it and it failed horribly, then when I sought help from their support they were amateurish, and I still have this thing taking up space. Why oh why don't they have manual uninstall instructions? Why oh why do they bother selling software?

Went with norton ghost in the end and haven't been sorry.

Pat L
Offline
Acronis MVP Volunteer
MVP
Joined: 2010-11-30
Posts: 7849

Andrew,
Did you try removing ATI 2010 with the cleanup utility (see stickys in this forum)? Did you try using Revo? People report good success with either of these methods.

__________________

Win 8.1 Pro x64 SSD + Software RAID 0 - ATI 2014 6614

Andrew
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2010-07-24
Posts: 8

Thanks Pat, I will stay away from anything made by Acronis just from fear. But I saw the revo comments farther up the thread and there seem to be both hits and misses. Will give have to give it a try.

Really annoyed though. When I trialed this 6 months ago I actually thought it uninstalled initially. It was still there. What a POS.

Eugene Khoruzhenko
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2011-01-02
Posts: 6

I successfully used TI Home 2009 with one problem: 2009 does not store the list of files/folder to exclude. You can create the list in Backup Options, but due to some bug it is not populated when you actually run a backup. I upgraded to TI Home 2010, because the issue is fixed there, however the product does not work anymore - when I do a backup, the system freezes so I have to use a Reset button.
I've read an article about unsupported USB devices, but I do not have any, I use the the 1.5 TB external drive over eSATA. Is eSATA also not supported anymore? Does anybody test this product, why is it so broken?

JustPlainFred
JustPlainFred's picture
Offline
Regular Poster
Joined: 2009-08-24
Posts: 111

Andy wrote:

Acronis UNINSTALLER ****. It seems as if ACRONIS doesn't want people to uninstall their products. When you install it and it's in your computer, you can't uninstall it. I installed True Image Home 2010 fine but i can't uninstall it because it's not working. All i see is "Please wait.........." message for 30 mins and i'm still waiting for this sucker to do something. If i can install TI HOME 2010 in my computer under 1 minute, why the hell do i have to wait FOREVER to uninstall it? How can i uninstall True Image home 2010 from my windows 7 computer? Thank you very much.


Andy,
Hello... Short answer... you can't... I use TI 2010 7046 and had a problem with "uninstalling" here's what happened .. I moved my partitions and OS's around and when i had things the way i wanted ( windows 7 \ 64 ) as my "default" Disk 0 \1st partition all was well, except for the fact that TI Try& Decide would no longer work .. tried to repair ...remove and reload, ...manual uninstall searching registry etc , Revo. total uninstall, TI uninstaller, then doing a clean install of TI....nothing worked T&D was still the same.. Apparently TI leaves behind some "hidden " stuff that prevents the "clean install of TI".. What worked was to clean install my OS (before i had TI installed) then i could install TI and all worked again.. I have posted this before and all i ever got was "oh well"....or maybe it's the "Romulins in synchronous orbit with a cloaking device beaming down power surges" Don't hold much hope other than doing a "clean install "of you OS .... Regards Fred

Ronald Siddall
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2009-12-07
Posts: 5

Eugene Khoruzhenko: "Does anybody test this product, why is it so broken?"

Answer: (a) Acronis apparently uses a bunch of amateurs to whom the idea of a thorough well thought out test plan prior to release is an alien concept. (b) See (a). It's sad because Acronis clearly has the talent to get it right.

William Zigrang
Offline
Forum Member
Joined: 2009-11-01
Posts: 36

>> It's sad because Acronis clearly has the talent to get it right.<<

Has or did have?? I got ATIH after reading years of glowing reviews - not gonna get one from me. I wonder if the present iteration of Acronis is even the same people as in previous incarnations - companies like this get bought & sold/restructured all the time. ??  Maybe only the name has been retained from the old company. Can Grover or MudCrab or Colin B shed any light on this ??  ??Any comment from Acronis?? (not holding my breath)

Maybe its just a case of, "let's put all our resources into the corporate-software market (where the big money is), and let the consumer market have the leftovers (at $10 per incident).

Eugene Khoruzhenko
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2011-01-02
Posts: 6

After some more experimentation I was able to use the TI 2010 under Windows 7. First, I restored my system to the older save and removed the TI 2009 with a regular Windows uninstall from "Programs and Features". The backup I used was also taken before I installed several audio editing programs. I do not know if 2010 going on top of 2009 caused a problem, nor do I know if there were any leftovers after the standard uninstall of TI 2009. So when I just installed TI 2010 I was able to do saves/restores a few times - no problem; I noticed that Acronis restore with 2010 goes much faster - they removed or optimized that goofy network restore screen that took an extra minute with TI 2009. Then I installed my music authoring programs back I wanted to make another backup, but the TrueImage started occasionally hanging in the middle of the backup process. The hang is random and sometimes it does not happen at all, probably because I had the small incremental saves. My feeling is that TI conflicts with some of my audio software, or maybe the failures are intermittent and it just seems this way.
As for Windows "Backup and Restore", unfortunately I need something better. I do not know who uses all the TI fancy stuff, such as "Try & Decide" - I tried, but it was not useful. All I really need is incremental backups and excludig certain files/folders. If there was a lite version of TI that just did this, but more solid - that would probably satisfy many users.

Andrew
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2010-07-24
Posts: 8

Eugene.

Why would you trust your ability to restore to something this flaky? Congrats! But that was part if the reason I gave ip with this software. And sell it won't uninstall.

Look at this forum, the button to post reads SAVE. How wrong is that?

Edit: typo and final 2 Sentences.

Eugene Khoruzhenko
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2011-01-02
Posts: 6

Andrew, I agree with your frustration and am in no way saying that I found a good way to use this software :). After a few hangs and force resets I had to run Check Disk, which found a bunch of lost fragments, etc. - this is absolutely unacceptable!
But what can you suggest? Is there an alternative? Any other software that does incremental backups with an ability to choose what to include/exclude?

I aslo wanted to share the experiments I went through in case it may help someone.

John Ruelle
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2009-10-21
Posts: 1

I have been using Acronis products for a couple of years and have had no major issues. However, in response to your question "any other software..." give backup4all pro a try. It also includes Volume Shadow Copy Service.

john

charles brawner
Offline
Forum Member
Joined: 2009-11-17
Posts: 38

Makes me a little sad when I see what Acronis has become. Their chase for $$$ has driven them to come up with more and more complex and poorly created buggy products. Thanks to Revo I have been able to get out of TI 2010 and TI 2011 and I won't be back. I am however happy with winxp and TI 2009 for as long as the need lasts. Support, which never was that great has all but disappeared...evidence their help (or lack of it) offered in this forum. I hope the win7 built in will serve my needs which aren't really that great.

Thorrun
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2012-07-30
Posts: 1

I made the mistake of using Acronis 2010 trial version to clone a drive and have been stuck with 37Gb of unusable disc since as I could not read or do anything with it some time later. Have just used 2012 trial in an attempt to recover data which resulted in read only or copy. Decided to abandon the data, delete it and uninstall all of many Clingons that came with the trial version to no avail. Reading here that Revo worked for some I tried Revo Pro but Acronis did not even show up amongst the installed programs. Windows 7's own program removal told me I did not have the authority to remove it despite being an administrator. Tried Revo again using Forced Uninstall which hung halfway through telling me to close Acronis first which showed no sign of being open. A search through Task Manager showed three Clingons running, after closing them the uninstall completed successfully and finally allowed me to delete the dead data. Acronis - never again.

Thomas Moore
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2009-10-18
Posts: 11

ok, i need to either upgrade or switch to something else. In either case, I need to uninstall Acronis True Image Home 2010.
I'm on Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit. If I run the uninstaller, it just runs for a little while and then closes having done nothing that I can tell.
I've disabled the acronis services "Acronis Nonstop Backup Service" and "Acronis Scheduler2 Service".
I then went into msconfig and removed the acronis items from the startup tab.
Ran the uninstall again and same result, nothing.

Ok, how do I uninstall Acronis True Image Home 2010. Also all of the links above are now dead, and some of them pointed to Server 2003 components.

James F
James F's picture
Offline
Acronis MVP Volunteer
MVP
Joined: 2010-09-01
Posts: 2805

Thomas Moore
Look in Device Manager and remove any Acronis items you see. Then download and run the ATIH 2011 cleanup utlilty.(It works with 2010 too). http://kb.acronis.com/content/14871

__________________

What I tell my friends:
It's not a problem with your computer, it's a short circuit between the chair and the keyboard!
What I tell my Customers:
Whatever the problem is, we can fix it.

Daniel Broadhead
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2013-07-08
Posts: 1

I finally had time to try using True Image Home 2010 but made the mistake of checking for an updated product. Now cannot get it to uninstall to return to my original biuld. So I tried the http://kb.acronis.com/content/14871 listed above. I was denied access.

Now what?
Suicide is not an option!

GroverH
GroverH's picture
Offline
Forum Hero
Joined: 2009-08-15
Posts: 8387

Hipefully you have a TrueImag backup created somewhat recently. Use one of your backups, boot from the 2011 TI Recovery CD and restore the backup of C to a prior time.