7558: True Image makes a HUGE temp file on my C drive that fills it during the backup process

15 replies [Last post]
Stephen Pomerantz
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2009-12-15
Posts: 17

I never seemed to have this prob before but now, when I back up my C drive, it makes a huge file (likely the size of the backup file) that fills the rest of the c drive. This ends up crashing the drive because my C drive is more than half full. Before that, it didn't crash it but it copied the temp file to the backup file! I went into the options and made it skip temp files (I was loathe to do that...maybe I'll need the temp files in a restore) and that at least make the backup file smaller... But this doesn't make sense. I can see why it might want to make a temp of the backup it is making.. but there just isn't room. Is there something I am missing?

thanks.

Juergen Weiss
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2010-01-14
Posts: 4

Hello Stephan, we face the same problem. The temp file is about 107 GB big and was created during the backup process. It seems to be backed up as well, i don't know why. The whole system is 17 GB to save, so acronis seems to have a problem in its current version.

Happens to us with Acronis Backup&Recovery Server for Windows #11345 on Windows Server 2008 R2.

With best Regards,
Juergen

Juergen Weiss
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2010-01-14
Posts: 4

Just some more informations:
The temp file is located at: C:\Users\Administrator\AppData\Local\Temp
and named: acr????.tmp
"????" is some random value, like "B70F".
When stopping the backup process, the temp file is getting deleted...

I tried to exclude acr*.tmp in backup process, lets see how that works.

Juergen Weiss
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2010-01-14
Posts: 4

Looks like, acronis do not care about that big problem... :(

Stephen Pomerantz
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2009-12-15
Posts: 17

I successfully excluded the temp file so it doesn't back it up...but it still stalls my system by creating it in the first place.

DwnNDrty
Offline
Forum Star
Joined: 2009-08-15
Posts: 1033

Stephen, what version and build of True Image are you using?
Try using CCleaner to clean your system, then use the bootable True Image CD to perform a Backup.

Stephen Pomerantz
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2009-12-15
Posts: 17

True Image Home 2009. I am using Windows 7.

Yana
Offline
Forum Star
Joined: 2009-04-07
Posts: 3296

Hello all!

Thank you for finding time to report about the issue, and please accept our apologies for the delay with the response. We will do our best to handle your request without any procrastination in the future.

I completely understand the problem and will be glad to provide you with the solution.

The file created in the Temp folder is actually a container that has the snapshot image and receives all write operations from the system pending after the snapshot is created and before the backup creation completes. This ensures that the created backup has the latest image of the system and that absolutely no piece of information is lost. After the backup this file is deleted from the Temp folder. The size of this temporary file by default is exactly 50% of the free space of the partition where the temporary folder is.

It may be highly inconvenient, but we have a solution for it: you need to either change the destination folder for storing the temporary files (if you are using Acronis True Image) or change the default relative size of the file (if you are using Backup and Recovery).

In order to change the Variables for Temp folder please do the following: 

  1. Start -> Right click on My Computer
  2. Select properties
  3. Select Advanced
  4. Select Environment Variables
  5. Edit TEMP and TMP settings to point to the disk with space.

You can find more detailed description here.

For changing the relative size of the file and for more details regarding the issue please take a look at  this article - it contains the detailed description and step-by-step instructions with the screenshots. 

Should you need anything else or have any further questions - feel free to contact us at your earliest convenience, we will be happy to help you!

Thank you!

Stephen Pomerantz
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2009-12-15
Posts: 17

50 percent would be fine. It is taking up 100 percent of the partition (my c drive is partitioned into 2 halves using True image.)

Pavla Luckham
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2010-06-25
Posts: 19

We have the same problem with ABR 10 on Server 2003. The temp file fills up the C: drive and all backups stop running (never mind the other issues that a full C: drive is causing). I have to restart the Acronis Agent service to remove the file. This seems to happen randomly.

I followed the article suggested above and changed the temp file location by editing the registry. My question is - do I really have to delet and re-create all backup jobs on that server for the setting to take effect? We take volume backups and have lots of exclusions that take time to recreate. Could we just change some setting the backup job for it to be considered "newly created job?

By the way thank you so much for the explanation. I tried to find a solution before and couldn't get anywhere. This forum is the best support resource Acronis has.

Pavla

Yana
Offline
Forum Star
Joined: 2009-04-07
Posts: 3296

Hello Pavla!

Thank you for your comment, I really appreciate it!

Actially it's just recommended to recreate the tasks, but it's not an obligatory, so you may try backing as it is right now. There's nothing needed to be changed in the backup plan, consider this step to be a preventive measure.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding Forum assistance, it's very nice to hear it. I'm really sorry for the inconvenience you've faced with support, and be sure I'll forward your comment to the Management team. They will find your support cases and make sure that this will not happen again. Please accept our profound apologies for the situation.

I would appreciate if you could let me know whether there's anything else I can help you with - I'll be glad to!

Thank you!

Trevor Hardy
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2010-10-11
Posts: 1

What I'd like to know is, why can't Acronis double-check to ensure the acr???.tmp file has been deleted once the job's complete, and maybe even checks again the next time it runs to ensure the previous file(s) have been removed?

I just found the server we administrate that's running AB&R had 80% of its drive taken up by numerous acr???.tmp files and it was down to it's last 2GB. As the primary HDD is a RAID set of SSDs it's extremely concerning to find this occurring. Fortunately the drives will recover their performance through garbage collection over the next hour or two, but if this had been a typical HDD the performance would have been degraded to the point of near inoperability.

I realise part of the fault lies with Microsoft for having such poor cleanup processes in place for default OS operation, but as the designer of the product that exacerbates this problem greater than any other software that I've ever seen, I believe the onus is on Acronis to ensure this problem doesn't continue to adversely affect the performance of Customers' systems.

Richard Fink
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2010-04-05
Posts: 1

Has this temp file issue been remedied in the 2011 version ? I like the Time Machine of a nonstop backup concept but this implementation is not workable. Time Machine on the Mac does not have this issue.

Anton
Anton's picture
Offline
Forum Star
Joined: 2009-04-01
Posts: 4897

Hello all,

Thank you for your messages. I will definitely assist you.

Trevor, by default our software deletes the .tmp file after the backup is complete. The issue could occur because of specifics of your software environment and it needs to be investigated. Please submit a support request with this report so that we can troubleshoot and resolve this problem.

Richard, I am not certain if you are referring to the problem of the snapshot file getting excessively large or not getting deleted, but we do not have any known issues for either of them. Please contact our Support team with the same report so that we can investigate and resolve them.

As a workaround I can recommend the following KB article that you can use to change the location for the storage of .tmp files.

Please let me know if you have additional questions.

Thank you.

__________________

Anton Deev

Acronis Customer Central | Acronis Backup Software

For more answers to your questions, try our Knowledge Base and Video Tutorials.

Check our Corporate and Consumer Handbooks and Online Documentation for help on managing your account, products and support.

Our mission is to create Customer success. Our management team welcomes your comments and suggestions on how we can improve the overall support we provide to you. Please send your comments, suggestions, or concerns to Managers or submit your feedback here.

Nigel Mackay
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2011-04-29
Posts: 1

I have come to this bit of the forum very late.I don't expect anyone will read it. But after working okay for a year doing my monthly backup, Acronis true image 2009, has made an incredible mess of my files, cost me hours of work and generally done the very opposite of what it claims to do, namely, enable one to "compute with confidence"as its slogan goes. This has been like buying a fire extinguisher and finding it sprays petrol.

The visible desktop is somehow a subfolder (called "desktop") of the Temp file, and any file or folder created on it is somehow inserted into the temp folders: the previously working e-mail program seem to point to files also lost in Temp subfolders. addresses and old e-mails are buried somewhere in temp folders. Cleaning things out using the advice on these forums seems not to touch these immensely annoying problems.

I will never use Acronis again. I will never again recommend it to anybody else.

Masood Bahrampouri
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2010-02-20
Posts: 16

Hi yana,
i have a true image build 8206 which has same issue and creates many temporarily files. i don't want to change direction on windows temp to other partition and like to know if there is any registry key (like abr10 & 11) that could move only acronis temp files to another partition or not.
please let me know
thanks