9266: How to Clone IDE HDD to SATA HDD

12 replies [Last post]
Sonie Ibibo
Beginner

Hello All,
I am new to Acronis products.
I have a HP Proliant ML110 server running windows server 2003 standard edition. This server has four SATA slots and one IDE slot on the motherboard.
Those who did the initial setup used a single IDE 40GB hard drive which is now getting full.
This server runs as a single Domain controller, file server and Application server.

I want to move all the contents of the 40GB IDE HDD to a 250GB SATA HDD, which of the Acronis Backup & Recovery programs should I buy?
1. Acronis Backup&Recovery Server for Windows,
2. Acronis Backup&Recovery Workstation or
3. Acronis Backup&Recovery Advanced Server

All contributions are welcomed

Thanks

Yana
Forum Star

Hello Sonie!

Welcome to Acronis Forum and thank you for opening the thread regarding this question! I will be glad to assist you.

Since you are using Server OS on the machine, you will need a server solution, so I would advise you to use Acronis Backup and Recovery Server for Windows. Unfortunately simple clone procedure will not suit the scenario you have specified as you are going to change HDD interface. That means that you need to add the SATA drivers during the process of migrating the system, and you can do it only be means of Acronis Universal Restore. First you need to create the backup of IDE HDD (you can find all the instructions in the User's Guide) and then restore the image to a new SATA HDD (the process is described here).

Acronis Universal Restore is a special add-on for corporate versions of Acronis Products that allows you to restore your images to dissimilar hardware. You can add it to your purchase:

In order to install Acronis Universal Restore just specify its license during the process of installation.

Please note that prior to restoring to new hardware you need also to find the SATA drivers. Please unpack them to be in *.inf and *.oem format.