128036: Can't boot into Acronis usb

14 replies [Last post]
AhhKroNys
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2016-11-21
Posts: 12

I created a mac boot usb of Acronis True Image 2017 build 5573 (rescue media)

USB: Kingston DataTraveler G4 8GB
OS: 10.12.2

I rebooted the mac w/ usb, went into the macOS Utilities, selected Acronis, pressed Continue. But nothing happens, nothing loads.

Not sure why.

The USB is brand new, originally FAT32. It took 3 hours for Acronis to create the boot usb, but it passed.

Help? :)

Bobbo_3C0X1
Bobbo_3C0X1's picture
Online
Acronis MVP Volunteer
MVP
Joined: 2013-02-27
Posts: 5412

I fear that your drive may not be working correctly or properly creaed.  It should not take 3 hours to create a USB drive - even if using USB 2.0 (but hopefully you have USB 3.0 ports and a USB 3.0 flash drive).  It shouldn't take more than 10 minutes.

I would suggest you fully format the flash drive using the OS X Disk Utilities and make sure to format it as OS X journaled and then try building the rescue media again.  You may even want to try another flash drive as there could be an issue with that one and can rule that out if it goes faster and works better with a different one. 

Products: True Image, Snap Deploy
System: Motherboard: GA-Z170X-Gaming 3 / CPU: i5 6600K (OC 4.3Ghz) / Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 (OC 3000 Mhz) / SSDs: Samsung 950PRO NVME, OCZ Vertex 4, PNY XLR8 / HDs: WD Black / OS: Win 10 Pro x64 / NAS: WD MyCloud 4Tb
AhhKroNys
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2016-11-21
Posts: 12

USB is bad. I reformatted it to OS X journaled and still has a problem... too long to create rescue media.

So I tried another USB stick... Lexar 128gb.... I can create the rescue media quickly.... but when I boot with Lexar > go to macOS Utilities > select Recover from Acronis True Image Backup > press Continue > nothing happens.

2 different usb, brand new, same result in the end :(

Should I try an older version of ATI?
I may need to contact Acronis support...

AhhKroNys
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2016-11-21
Posts: 12

Almost forgot... its Macbook Pro 2015

AhhKroNys
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2016-11-21
Posts: 12

Saw these:
https://forum.acronis.com/forum/101643
https://forum.acronis.com/forum/102255

"You should boot the Mac only while holding down the Option button during the booting procedure and then choosing the recovery media. Then the recovery media can boot the Mac."

This is what I'm doing.

Bobbo_3C0X1
Bobbo_3C0X1's picture
Online
Acronis MVP Volunteer
MVP
Joined: 2013-02-27
Posts: 5412

Agreed with powering off and holding option key right after the Apple gong to bring up different boot options. In the Windows forum sticky, it says to use 32Gb or smaller drives for 3rd party bootliaders.  I wonder if this applies to OSX as well?

Products: True Image, Snap Deploy
System: Motherboard: GA-Z170X-Gaming 3 / CPU: i5 6600K (OC 4.3Ghz) / Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 (OC 3000 Mhz) / SSDs: Samsung 950PRO NVME, OCZ Vertex 4, PNY XLR8 / HDs: WD Black / OS: Win 10 Pro x64 / NAS: WD MyCloud 4Tb
AhhKroNys
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2016-11-21
Posts: 12

I saw it with 8gb too (Kingston drive). Both are USB 3.0.

Don't have another <32gb drive to try at the moment.

I contacted Acronis support earlier this week and currently waiting for their help.

I'm tempted to reinstall an older OS (10.12?) and try it there since the 5573 release notes support that...

Bobbo_3C0X1
Bobbo_3C0X1's picture
Online
Acronis MVP Volunteer
MVP
Joined: 2013-02-27
Posts: 5412

Let's see what Acronis says in your support case - if you emailed them, you should contat them via chat and reference yoru case #.  Chat is instant, email can take a few days to get a response.  

http://www.acronis.com/en-us/support/contact-us.html

If there is an OS compabitility issue, that is good to identify, but I probably wouldn't roll back the entire OS to get it working.  I would use the default Time Machine Backup for the interim.  Actually, I would Time Machine and Acronis to supplement each other - having different recovery options gives you a better chance of recovery in different situations and diversifying the backup type, backup location(s), backup software, backup scheme and backup schedule(s) are really advantagous to protecting your data.

Products: True Image, Snap Deploy
System: Motherboard: GA-Z170X-Gaming 3 / CPU: i5 6600K (OC 4.3Ghz) / Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 (OC 3000 Mhz) / SSDs: Samsung 950PRO NVME, OCZ Vertex 4, PNY XLR8 / HDs: WD Black / OS: Win 10 Pro x64 / NAS: WD MyCloud 4Tb
Chris Sparkes
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2017-01-08
Posts: 3

I'm also having the same problem where two seperate USB keys were used to create recovery media but each time pressing on Acronis backup in recovery mode did nothing.

Following advice from technical support, I've removed the app using the clean up utility, reinstalled and recreated the media. Still no good. I have uploaded a system report and waiting for feedback from support.

Without this being resolved the software is useless so have moved back to Time Machine and CCC until we get a solution.

I'm running macOS Sierra (10.12.2) on a Macbook pro (Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2015).

Chris Sparkes
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2017-01-08
Posts: 3

Ive been told by support that this is a known issue with the product and will be fixed in the next updated version.

AhhKroNys
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2016-11-21
Posts: 12

The January update is out but it's for Premium users only.

I have a Standard license. Need to pay to upgrade to 6065.

 

Edit: clarification, I have the Standard 1-time purchase option

Chris Sparkes
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2017-01-08
Posts: 3

So does that mean we are all doomed if we have a standard licence or will they release a fix later?

Bobbo_3C0X1
Bobbo_3C0X1's picture
Online
Acronis MVP Volunteer
MVP
Joined: 2013-02-27
Posts: 5412

I'd check with tech support and see what they say - perhaps they have a release date or can offer some inside information.  I just received some emails "with a a free upgrade" notification, but that may be because my current license(s) are within the last 30 days.  

In the Windows threads, support Engineer has said that NG and 2017 are all supported and will be receiving updates.  Not sure what any time tables are though. If support has no answer and you currently cannot use 2017 because of the lack of a recovery media, I would send Ekaternia a PM and see if she can respond to you directly as well.

PM Ekaterina - Acronis Support Engineer

Products: True Image, Snap Deploy
System: Motherboard: GA-Z170X-Gaming 3 / CPU: i5 6600K (OC 4.3Ghz) / Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 (OC 3000 Mhz) / SSDs: Samsung 950PRO NVME, OCZ Vertex 4, PNY XLR8 / HDs: WD Black / OS: Win 10 Pro x64 / NAS: WD MyCloud 4Tb
Ekaterina Surkova
Ekaterina Surkova's picture
Offline
Forum Administrator
Joined: 2013-07-15
Posts: 1771

Hello Everyone,

A separate update will be also released for Acronis True Image 2017 "Perpetual" and "Standard subscription" editions. I'll post a separate anounce once the update is available. 

Thank you, 

__________________

Ekaterina Surkova | Acronis Customer Central | Acronis Backup Software | For more answers to your questions, try our Knowledge Base and Video Tutorials. | Check our Corporate and Consumer Handbooks and Online Documentation for help on managing your account, products and support. | Our mission is to create Customer success. Our management team welcomes your comments and suggestions on how we can improve the overall support we provide to you. Please send your comments, suggestions, or concerns to Managers or submit your feedback here.

AhhKroNys
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2016-11-21
Posts: 12

Thanks! :)