128104: wifi only

7 replies [Last post]
mike pringle
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2014-11-19
Posts: 7

Is it possible to suspend laptop cloud or Nas backups when away from home and tethering a mobile phone as internet connection?

Bobbo_3C0X1
Bobbo_3C0X1's picture
Offline
Acronis MVP Volunteer
MVP
Joined: 2013-02-27
Posts: 5426

Not directly in the app, no.

You could do a pre-backup command though that pings for your NAS and if no response, then the backup would not continue.  I can't find the other forum posts that someone asked this, but I believe it was MVP Steve Smith that had some additional documentation on how to set this up. You might want to send him a PM with the link to this thread.

 

Products: True Image, Snap Deploy
System: Motherboard: GA-Z170X-Gaming 3 / CPU: i5 6600K (OC 4.3Ghz) / Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 (OC 3000 Mhz) / SSDs: Samsung 950PRO NVME, OCZ Vertex 4, PNY XLR8 / HDs: WD Black / OS: Win 10 Pro x64 / NAS: WD MyCloud 4Tb
mike pringle
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2014-11-19
Posts: 7

Thanks Bobbo

 

Steve Smith
Steve Smith's picture
Online
Acronis MVP Volunteer
MVP
Joined: 2010-04-03
Posts: 5818

Mike, thanks for the PM on this question.

Please see the attached document that I created a little while back that should help you on this matter by using a Pre Command to test for the presence of NAS resource and only continue with a backup if this test is successful.

AttachmentSize
pre_command_test_network_drive.pdf 75.73 KB
Products: ATIH 9.0 - 11.0, 2009 - 2017
System: Windows XP, Vista, 7, 10; (Desktops & Laptops); Dell, Lenovo, Home build;
mike pringle
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2014-11-19
Posts: 7

Thanks Steve, I forgot about backups when I was away and it ate my phone data allowance rather quickly.

 

Steve Smith
Steve Smith's picture
Online
Acronis MVP Volunteer
MVP
Joined: 2010-04-03
Posts: 5818

Mike, you could test for any resouce that will only be found when you are on your home network, this could even include testing for a small file on a USB stick that you only plug in when at home.

Products: ATIH 9.0 - 11.0, 2009 - 2017
System: Windows XP, Vista, 7, 10; (Desktops & Laptops); Dell, Lenovo, Home build;
mike pringle
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2014-11-19
Posts: 7

That might be the best option. I use an Asus rt-ac68 router with a usb attached as the network drive so If i place the file there itwon't be picked up by cloud or nas backups. Sounds like a plan.

Steve Smith
Steve Smith's picture
Online
Acronis MVP Volunteer
MVP
Joined: 2010-04-03
Posts: 5818

Mike, with the example PDF document, all you need to do is test for the presence of a folder on the USB drive attached to your router.

Products: ATIH 9.0 - 11.0, 2009 - 2017
System: Windows XP, Vista, 7, 10; (Desktops & Laptops); Dell, Lenovo, Home build;