128387: Cannot change Mobile Backup Location

10 replies [Last post]
Geoffrey Bates
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2016-08-22
Posts: 5

I want to change the location from C:\ProgramData\Acronis Mobile Backup Data to a mdirectory on my internal D: drive.

I hit the change button, navigate to where I want them, click OK button and nothing changes  I don't see and OK or Apply button on the main Settings screen.

Slava
Slava's picture
Offline
Support Analyst
Joined: 2010-05-21
Posts: 532

Hello Geoffrey,

We do not have this issue in our records yet. If you submit a support ticket, we could investigate it and help you.

Alternatively, you can try re-installing and re-configuring the software from scratch.

Regards,

Slava

doug dempsey
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2017-02-21
Posts: 5

I have the same issue. I am trying to backup an iPhone to an external and it will not let me.

 

Steve Smith
Steve Smith's picture
Offline
Acronis MVP Volunteer
MVP
Joined: 2010-04-03
Posts: 7333

Doug, I would recommend as per Slava's update and open a support case for this issue with reference to this forum topic.  Posting some screen shots of the panels where you are trying to change the Mobile Backup location and how this shows on your system may also be helpful in understanding the issue you are seeing.

When you say "to an external" - what exactly does this mean?  An external USB drive, a Network drive?

Products: ATIH 9.0 - 11.0, 2009 - 2017
System: Windows XP, Vista, 7, 10; (Desktops & Laptops); Dell, Lenovo, Home build;
doug dempsey
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2017-02-21
Posts: 5

This is disappointing. I am forced to use Cloud. It will not allow moving to a external even after following directions. Acronis used to be awesome.

 

doug dempsey
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2017-02-21
Posts: 5

Yes to both an attached external and network drive both. It says not enough storage soace. It has over 3 TB.

 

Steve Smith
Steve Smith's picture
Offline
Acronis MVP Volunteer
MVP
Joined: 2010-04-03
Posts: 7333

Doug, I have just tested this for myself and was able to move the Mobile Backup location to an external USB drive with no issue.  I first did this with ATIH 2017 build 5554 but today did it again with build 6116 (New Generation) and no issues on both occasions.

It sounds as if your ATIH 2017 installation may have a problem but suggest working with Acronis via a Support Case before taking any actions to reinstall etc.

Products: ATIH 9.0 - 11.0, 2009 - 2017
System: Windows XP, Vista, 7, 10; (Desktops & Laptops); Dell, Lenovo, Home build;
Steve Smith
Steve Smith's picture
Offline
Acronis MVP Volunteer
MVP
Joined: 2010-04-03
Posts: 7333

Doug, Geoffrey, if you are still seeing this problem then please make sure that you have both of the Acronis Mobile Backup services enabled and running, as this was the cause of the same issue for another user reported in the 2017 forum, where the location could not be changed if the Mobile Backup services were not running.

Products: ATIH 9.0 - 11.0, 2009 - 2017
System: Windows XP, Vista, 7, 10; (Desktops & Laptops); Dell, Lenovo, Home build;
PreviouslyHappyUs...
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2017-05-05
Posts: 2

ATIH2017 Build 8053 installed as an upgrade tonight.  I want my mobile backups files to be on my NAS.  Either direct UPN.path or Net USe mapping is fine:

> net use
Status       Local     Remote                    Network
OK           U:        \\kiwin-ultra2\backup     Microsoft Windows Network

ATIH Mobile Backup Location shows both but does not allow them to be selected. (there also is an extra volume (I:) with the same name as my C: drive and also a "Acronis Drive" network location has shown up.)

 

I started with ATI 10 and ADD 9.0 over a decade ago... and steadily upgraded... what happened in ATI2017?

Steve Smith
Steve Smith's picture
Offline
Acronis MVP Volunteer
MVP
Joined: 2010-04-03
Posts: 7333

Please see KB 59584: Acronis True Image 2017: how to change Acronis Drive letter and if this does not help, then submit a Support Case directly with Acronis Support for this issue.

The Acronis Drive is new with ATIH 2017 and seems to have caused its fair share of problems, so passing this back to the developers is the only way to let them know of these issues and of user requirements in this area.

Products: ATIH 9.0 - 11.0, 2009 - 2017
System: Windows XP, Vista, 7, 10; (Desktops & Laptops); Dell, Lenovo, Home build;
Ken Ward
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2017-05-26
Posts: 1

On the mobile app, at least for iOS, to change from local driver to/from cloud, or to change what gets backed up, uninstall the mobile app and start over.  Ugly, but works.