129136: Failure to start

11 replies [Last post]
Stephen Repetto
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2012-03-08
Posts: 12

Reason given "Could not find or load the Qt platform pligin "windows" in ""."  Also couod not install ATI 2017.

Steve Smith
Steve Smith's picture
Offline
Acronis MVP Volunteer
MVP
Joined: 2010-04-03
Posts: 7336

Stephen, is this your first time of installing the Acronis True Image software, or have you had it installed previously?

Probably the best advice I can offer would be to do a clean install of the software by using the Acronis Cleanup Tool (link below) - do a normal uninstall first via the Windows Control Panel, then run the cleanup tool as administrator followed by doing a restart of the computer.

Now try installing ATIH 2017 again using the full installer from your Acronis account.

Products: ATIH 9.0 - 11.0, 2009 - 2017
System: Windows XP, Vista, 7, 10; (Desktops & Laptops); Dell, Lenovo, Home build;
Stephen Repetto
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2012-03-08
Posts: 12

No, I have been using it for years. If I uninstall 2016, will my 2017 upgrade disc succeed anyway? 

IanL-S
Offline
Acronis MVP Volunteer
MVP
Joined: 2013-07-18
Posts: 1182

You do not need to have the prior version on the system; you right to use ATI 2017 is determined by checking with your account (you will need to log into your account once you open ATI 2017). This is predicated on your having registered the ATI 2017 licence in your account.

Ian

__________________

Gigabyte GA-F2A88XM-HD3P+ motherboard; AMD A6-7400K APU; 8gig ram; Patriot BLAS 120gig SSD; Synology DS414 NAS

Stephen Repetto
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2012-03-08
Posts: 12

Following your advice led me to go to my ATI 2017 on the Acronis web for a free download of the correct build.  ATI 2017 installed successfully, but now Acronis wants more money, even though it said "Free upgrade"

Steve Smith
Steve Smith's picture
Offline
Acronis MVP Volunteer
MVP
Joined: 2010-04-03
Posts: 7336

Stephen, what license(s) show in your Acronis Account?  Do you have a license for ATIH 2017 or is your license only for an earlier version?  Where do you see the 'Free upgrade' offer?

Products: ATIH 9.0 - 11.0, 2009 - 2017
System: Windows XP, Vista, 7, 10; (Desktops & Laptops); Dell, Lenovo, Home build;
Stephen Repetto
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2012-03-08
Posts: 12

From the kb:  

Applies to:

 

We recommend keeping your Acronis True Image up to date. Having a full or an upgrade license of Acronis True Image 2017 you are eligible to download and install any new build (an update) of Acronis True Image 2017 for free. You are eligible to download and install any new build of Acronis True Image Subscription as long as your subscription is valid.

 

Key

Edition

  [REMOVED] 3 Computer perpetual 0 GB Cloud Upgrade

 

Steve Smith
Steve Smith's picture
Offline
Acronis MVP Volunteer
MVP
Joined: 2010-04-03
Posts: 7336

Stephen, please edit your last post and remove your serial key - this is a public forum and your key is visible to anyone who would care to use it!

Please also open a Support Case directly with Acronis for this issue as they are the only ones who can definitively confirm exactly what your perpetual license is entitled to in terms of upgrades.  Note: your license is only valid for the Standard version of the product, not for the Premium New Generation which is a subscription only product.

Products: ATIH 9.0 - 11.0, 2009 - 2017
System: Windows XP, Vista, 7, 10; (Desktops & Laptops); Dell, Lenovo, Home build;
Ekaterina Surkova
Ekaterina Surkova's picture
Offline
Forum Administrator
Joined: 2013-07-15
Posts: 1940

Hello Stephen,

I've checked your license key - it's from Acronis True Image 2017 Perpetual edition. This license type can be used to activate a Standard build of Acronis True Image. To install Acronis True Image 2017 Premium an Acronis True Image 2017 Premium Subscription is needed. Here you'll find a comparison table for all editions.

Thank you, 

__________________

Ekaterina Surkova | Acronis Customer Central | Acronis Backup Software | For more answers to your questions, try our Knowledge Base and Video Tutorials. | Check our Corporate and Consumer Handbooks and Online Documentation for help on managing your account, products and support. | Our mission is to create Customer success. Our management team welcomes your comments and suggestions on how we can improve the overall support we provide to you. Please send your comments, suggestions, or concerns to Managers or submit your feedback here.

Stephen Repetto
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2012-03-08
Posts: 12

What should I have done when ATI wouldn't install?

Bobbo_3C0X1
Bobbo_3C0X1's picture
Offline
Acronis MVP Volunteer
MVP
Joined: 2013-02-27
Posts: 6008

Log into your online account and check for download options and the license type you purchased.  The most current version of your application is available from there.  Screenshots attached.  

Technical support is also available for license, registration, installation and general trouble shooting of appliction issues via chat.

 

AttachmentSize
capture.jpg 79.64 KB
capture2.jpg 97.88 KB
capture3.jpg 118.74 KB
Products: True Image, Snap Deploy
System: Motherboard: GA-Z170X-Gaming 3 / CPU: i5 6600K (OC 4.3Ghz) / Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 (OC 3000 Mhz) / NVMEs: Samsung 950PRO, MyDigital BPX / SSDs: OCZ Vertex 4, PNY XLR8 / HDs: WD Black / OS: Win 10 Pro x64 / NAS: WD MyCloud 4Tb
Slava
Slava's picture
Offline
Support Analyst
Joined: 2010-05-21
Posts: 532

Stephen, if you expericene any issue with installation, license activation or have any other difficulty with using the product, please do not hesitate to open a support ticket here. We would be happy to help you!

Regards,

Slava