129583: Acronis True Image 2015 broken after update to Windows Creators Update

6 replies [Last post]
Wernher Stoltz
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2017-04-21
Posts: 3

After updating my system to Windows Creators Update I noticed that I can't use Acronis True Image 2015 anymore. I uninstalled it  couple of times and reinstalled. I also noticed that there is a build 6613, which I then downloaded and installed.In the end nothing worked and Acronis is still broken. Problem is that it gives me no indication of what the problem is. In the backup list there are a number of very odd backups, that were never done by me. If I delete the backups the program bombs out and no matter what I do, it will not recover. It then gives me an opportunity to report it to Acronis, which I have done and it also automatically attaches the log files. I don't however know if I will get a response or if it is just a general error that gets sent to Acronis in the normal course of improving their products. I am very experienced using software and has been in IT for many years so it is not a matter that I am ignorant or are making silly mistakes. This is definitely an issue with something that stopped working in the software somewhere between Anniversary Update and/or Creators Update. As I haven't been very active on my computer since November last year, my last backup was made on the 17th of January 2017. Now after updating my system to Creators Update, I wanted to make a full image backup. This not working is therefore critical and I can't potpone it much longer.

I assume that this is a new issue that hasn't been raised before as I am not seeing any reference to it on any site. There are lots of reference to issues on Anniversary Update but I have a feeling that this is different and specifically related to Creators Update.

My Acronis True Image 2015 Build is 6613. I also tried the previous versions.

My Windows installation is Windows 10 Pro version 1703 64 Bit and I am running an Asus ROG GL 552 VX with 24 GB Ram, a 1 TB Solid State Drive and a 1 TB HDD. CPU is a Intel Core I7 6700HQ.

My only other option at this stage is to do a Macrium Full Image backup as I can't afford to have the content of this computer lost. 

 

Steve Smith
Steve Smith's picture
Offline
Acronis MVP Volunteer
MVP
Joined: 2010-04-03
Posts: 6937

Wernher, welcome to these user forums.

Please see post: https://forum.acronis.com/forum/129388#comment-409239 which may offer you a method of trying to get your ATIH 2015 to work with the Windows 10 Creators Update.  

Other than the above, then you could make a full backup by using the offline Acronis bootable Rescue Media.  You would need to test that this will work for you on your computer and whether you may need to disable Secure Boot if you have UEFI - this is mainly needed for the standard, Linux based, Rescue Media.

Currently Acronis have only produced new build updates for ATIH 2017, not for 2016 or any earlier version.  It is unlikely that they will provide any new build for your ATIH 2015 version as this is out of support.

Products: ATIH 9.0 - 11.0, 2009 - 2017
System: Windows XP, Vista, 7, 10; (Desktops & Laptops); Dell, Lenovo, Home build;
Wernher Stoltz
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2017-04-21
Posts: 3

Thank you Steve. 

This sorted the issue out. I just deleted my Godmode folder as I only use it very seldom and can always set it up again if I need it. This partly solved the issue as it then didn't start the backup even after I restarted the PC. I then stopped and started the Acronis Scheduler service and restarted the application. It is now back in operation and busy with the backup.

It is a pity that 2015 is not supported anymore as I am not ready to upgrade at this stage.

Anyway, thankfully it is working.

 

 

Steve Smith
Steve Smith's picture
Offline
Acronis MVP Volunteer
MVP
Joined: 2010-04-03
Posts: 6937

Wernher, thanks for the feedback / update, glad to hear that the referenced post helped with regards to the Godmode folder causing problems.

Products: ATIH 9.0 - 11.0, 2009 - 2017
System: Windows XP, Vista, 7, 10; (Desktops & Laptops); Dell, Lenovo, Home build;
Dietmar Kurtz
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2017-04-22
Posts: 1

My TIH2015 also fixed by moving God Mode shortcut into folder on desktop.

Steve Smith
Steve Smith's picture
Offline
Acronis MVP Volunteer
MVP
Joined: 2010-04-03
Posts: 6937

Thanks for your feedback Dietmar and welcome to these user forums.

Products: ATIH 9.0 - 11.0, 2009 - 2017
System: Windows XP, Vista, 7, 10; (Desktops & Laptops); Dell, Lenovo, Home build;
Wernher Stoltz
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2017-04-21
Posts: 3

Dietmar, I must say I am impressed that the guys made this connection, as it must be one of the most difficult issues to find. After going back to the Windows Forums, I picked up that it caused issues with other Windows programs as well.