13826: Need to access SD card on laptop

8 replies [Last post]
Jonathan Steinberg
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 5

I need to recover a deleted partition on an SD card.

I plugged it into my Asus MV70 and booted off the newest Disk Director and TS told me it should rsee the drive (which is a FAT32?) and the partition.

DD doesn't see it when I boot off the CD. In fact occasionally it doesn't even see the SATA drive on this laptop but usually it does. I am fairly sure the Internal SD drive is enabled in the computer's BIOS

When I can get into windows, I can see the drive. I dont seem to be able to install DD on the computer from the downoaded newest version of the CD which I have only just burned

Is there anything I can do please?

MudCrab
MudCrab's picture
Offline
Forum Star
Joined: 2009-08-15
Posts: 4308

You should be able to install from the downloaded installer. You can't install from the CD created using DD or Media Builder. You also can't install from a CD created from the downloaded ISO.

__________________

MudCrab's Website

Drive Notify ~ Schedule your backups without being required to keep your backup drive connected.

Jonathan Steinberg
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 5

Hate to sound like an idiot but all I can see to download is that iso file which lets me build the CD??

Should I be able to double click on the ISO in Vista and install from that instead of creating a CD?

MudCrab
MudCrab's picture
Offline
Forum Star
Joined: 2009-08-15
Posts: 4308

Click on the "Download" link in the DD 11 section.

AttachmentSize
dd11_download_link.png 9.13 KB
__________________

MudCrab's Website

Drive Notify ~ Schedule your backups without being required to keep your backup drive connected.

Jonathan Steinberg
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 5

I have done that and installed DD on the computer itself and the results are the same as booting from the recovery CD

Acronis still cant see the SD card I need to recover the partition on

What is baffling is that I am in windows now and windows can see it!

Anything I can do please?

MudCrab
MudCrab's picture
Offline
Forum Star
Joined: 2009-08-15
Posts: 4308

There are sometimes problems with media readers and thier contents showing up correctly. Do you have another media reader you can try?

Do you also have DD 10? If so, you could try it. The Safe Mode version may be able to see it if nothing else can (DD 11 doesn't have a Safe Mode version).

__________________

MudCrab's Website

Drive Notify ~ Schedule your backups without being required to keep your backup drive connected.

Jonathan Steinberg
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 5

Actually it IS DD10 though I dont know how to get into safe mode

MudCrab
MudCrab's picture
Offline
Forum Star
Joined: 2009-08-15
Posts: 4308

Use Media Builder to create a new DD CD. Include the Safe Mode version. When you boot the CD, you can select it instead of the Full Mode version. The Safe Mode version uses the BIOS to access the drives. The Full Mode version uses Linux drivers.

__________________

MudCrab's Website

Drive Notify ~ Schedule your backups without being required to keep your backup drive connected.

Jonathan Steinberg
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 5

Oh I see, many thanks for your assistnace