21458: Error -- File 'restore_aw_assistant.exe' that is required for installation of device 'Acronis Restore Anywhere Assistant...

13 replies [Last post]
Mike Masland
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2011-05-19
Posts: 2

I am using Acronis Workstation 10 w/Universal Restore. I am attempting to recover a Windows 7 image to a Dell desktop with disimilar hardware, using a USB drive which contains the WIN7SP1.TIB file. The restoration completes successfully on similar hardware.

When I attemp to restore to disimilar hardware, I receive the following two errors about 66% into the recovery process:

File 'restore_aw_assistant.exe' that is required for installation of device 'Acronis Restore Anywhere Assistant (ID: Acronis)' in Windows 7, cannot be found.

Device driver 'DisableHWUI_ID' for 'Windows 7' cannot be found.
Please place the driver on a removable media or folder c:\*** and click Retry.

Can anyone please help with this error? I have downloaded and extracted all of the necessary drivers to folders on the USB drive as such:

E:\Drivers\R234749
E:\Drivers\R244542
E:\Drivers\R134813
E:\Drivers\R824345

So when prompted to select a folder for drivers, I select "E:\Drivers"

Any and all help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Anton
Anton's picture
Offline
Forum Star
Joined: 2009-04-01
Posts: 4897

Hello Mike,

Thank you for posting and welcome to the forum. I will do my best to assist you.

There is a known issue in our software where under specific conditions Acronis Universal Restore fails to work properly. Our Development team is working on this issue.

You can try ignoring this error 'restore_aw_assistant.exe' and see if your recovered machine boots properly.

As soon as I have any information about this issue I will post here.

Please let me know if you have additional questions.

Thank you.

__________________

Anton Deev

Acronis Customer Central | Acronis Backup Software

For more answers to your questions, try our Knowledge Base and Video Tutorials.

Check our Corporate and Consumer Handbooks and Online Documentation for help on managing your account, products and support.

Our mission is to create Customer success. Our management team welcomes your comments and suggestions on how we can improve the overall support we provide to you. Please send your comments, suggestions, or concerns to Managers or submit your feedback here.

Mike Masland
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2011-05-19
Posts: 2

I was able to ignore the error and complete the restore. When reviewing the completed restore, I noticed the network card was not installed properly (yellow exclamation point in Device Manager).

The backup was created on a Dell Dimension E520, and the restore was performed on a Optiplex 380. A drive path to e:\drivers, which contacts all NIC, Chipset, and Harddrive drivers was given during the restore.

Paperless Network...
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2011-04-25
Posts: 2

Anton wrote:

Hello Mike,

Thank you for posting and welcome to the forum. I will do my best to assist you.

There is a known issue in our software where under specific conditions Acronis Universal Restore fails to work properly. Our Development team is working on this issue.

You can try ignoring this error 'restore_aw_assistant.exe' and see if your recovered machine boots properly.

As soon as I have any information about this issue I will post here.

Please let me know if you have additional questions.

Thank you.


[quote=Anton]

Hello Mike,

There is a known issue in our software where under specific conditions Acronis Universal Restore fails to work properly.

You can try ignoring this error 'restore_aw_assistant.exe' and see if your recovered machine boots properly.

As soon as I have any information about this issue I will post here.

Please let me know if you have additional questions.

IF THERE IS A KNOWN ISSUE IN YOUR SOFTWARE, AND YOU RELEASE IT ANYWAY, YOU ARE CRIMINALLY LIABLE...!!!

WE HAVE ALL GIVEN YOU OUR MONEY, SO NOW YOU OWE US...!!!

THAT MAN JUST ASKED YOU A QUESTION, AND YOU BRUSHED HIM OFF...!!!

YOUR RESPONSES ARE VERIFIED TO COME UP TO 14 MONTHS LATER...!!!

THAT IS INADEQUATE...!!!

YOU MOTTO IS "COMPUTE WITH CONFIDENCE", YET YOUR COMPANY OFFERS ABSOLUTELY ZERO CONFIDENCE...!!!

EVERY SINGLE TIME A USER HAS TO RELY ON YOUR PRODUCTS, THERE IS ZERO RELIABILITY...!!!

YOU GOT OUR MONEY, YOU GIVE US OUR ANSWERS...!!!

NOW...!!! RIGHT NOW...!!! NOT IN 5 MONTHS...!!!

YOU ARE NOT ALLOWED TO DO ABSOLUTELY ANYTHING ELSE, UNTIL EVERY SINGLE USER'S QUESTIONS ARE ANSWERED, AND THE QUEUE IS EMPTY...!!!

ALL I HAVE TO DO IS POST YOUR NAME ON THE PIRATE BAY, AND I'VE GOT 20,000+ USERS AT THE READY WHO REFUSE TO GIVE YOU ONE MORE PENNY, TO FILE A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT AGAINST YOU...!!!

NOW...!!! YOU ANSWER THAT MAN'S QUESTION RIGHT NOW, OR YOU PAY HIM HIS SALARY PER HOUR, FOR EVERY HOUR YOU FORCE HIM TO WAIT...!!!

[quote=Anton]

Hello Mike,

There is a known issue in our software where under specific conditions Acronis Universal Restore fails to work properly.

Anton
Anton's picture
Offline
Forum Star
Joined: 2009-04-01
Posts: 4897

Hello Paperless Network Solutions,

Thank you for posting. I will definitely help you with this issue.

In case you have an existing support call with us I would really appreciate if you could get back to me with its number in case you need additional assistance, because I could not find any cases or products registered to your Acronis web-account.

Please note that according to Acronis licensing policy it is illegal to share our software.

Thank you very much for your feedback and I will add it to our Customer Listening System tracker. If you would like to contact our Management team please send an e-mail to managers@acronis.com or get in touch with me so that I can arrange it.

If you need immediate help you can always contact our Support team directly.

Please let me know if you have additional questions.

Thank you.

__________________

Anton Deev

Acronis Customer Central | Acronis Backup Software

For more answers to your questions, try our Knowledge Base and Video Tutorials.

Check our Corporate and Consumer Handbooks and Online Documentation for help on managing your account, products and support.

Our mission is to create Customer success. Our management team welcomes your comments and suggestions on how we can improve the overall support we provide to you. Please send your comments, suggestions, or concerns to Managers or submit your feedback here.

Nick Masciotra
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2011-09-26
Posts: 3

Where is this file 'restore_aw_assistant.exe'
Why don't you provide it?

Nick Masciotra
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2011-09-26
Posts: 3

The message is addressed to Anton of course

Anna.Trifonova
Anna.Trifonova's picture
Offline
Forum Support Professional
Joined: 2011-04-18
Posts: 908

Hello Nick,

welcome to Acronis Forum and thank you for your question!

Error message ""File 'restore_aw_assistant.exe', that is required for installation of device ..." has been fixed in ABR10 Update 5 - and should not appear in the latest versions.

I do not see registered Acronis Backup and Recovery 10 under your account. Do you receive this error message using the newest version of software? Could you please give more details and describe your steps? Do you receive any other error messages during restore?

Thank you,

__________________

Anna Trifonova

Acronis Customer Central | Acronis Backup Software

For more answers to your questions, try our Knowledge Base and Video Tutorials.

Check our Corporate and Consumer Handbooks and Online Documentation for help on managing your account, products and support.

Our mission is to create Customer success. Our management team welcomes your comments and suggestions on how we can improve the overall support we provide to you. Please send your comments, suggestions, or concerns to Managers or submit your feedback here.

Nick Masciotra
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2011-09-26
Posts: 3

Hi,
yes I receive this error and I am using True Image 2013.

This message is also in my True Image backup log.

Do you need a copy of the log?

Thanks

Anna.Trifonova
Anna.Trifonova's picture
Offline
Forum Support Professional
Joined: 2011-04-18
Posts: 908

Nick,

the thread starter experienced the issue with Acronis Backup and Recovery 10 during restoration process. If you are using True Image 2013 by Acronis and have this message in backup log, we need a separate investigation.

Please provide me with following information, so that we can start:

1) number of the build you are currently using

2) your steps to reproduce the issue

3) log file.

Thank you in advance!

__________________

Anna Trifonova

Acronis Customer Central | Acronis Backup Software

For more answers to your questions, try our Knowledge Base and Video Tutorials.

Check our Corporate and Consumer Handbooks and Online Documentation for help on managing your account, products and support.

Our mission is to create Customer success. Our management team welcomes your comments and suggestions on how we can improve the overall support we provide to you. Please send your comments, suggestions, or concerns to Managers or submit your feedback here.

georgef
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2013-09-20
Posts: 5

Hi Anna,

I'm also experiencing this issue and on TI 2013 (latest build from your website). I don't see another thread for this that's why I am posting here.

Steps to reproduce:
1. make disk backup
2. restore to dissimilar hardware

Note:
1. I don't know where to find the log as I booted from the cd?

Regards
George

Anna.Trifonova
Anna.Trifonova's picture
Offline
Forum Support Professional
Joined: 2011-04-18
Posts: 908

Hi georgef,

to save the log please

1) Perform the operation once again to reproduce the issue (Restore with Acronis Universal Restore)

2) After the operation is done, go to View Log -> Save all to file and save logs to an external/flash drive or to a network share.

Could you please also tell me how did you create a disk backup? If it is possible create a new one when the system is booted in Windows and than start recovery with Universal Restore again.

Thank you!

__________________

Anna Trifonova

Acronis Customer Central | Acronis Backup Software

For more answers to your questions, try our Knowledge Base and Video Tutorials.

Check our Corporate and Consumer Handbooks and Online Documentation for help on managing your account, products and support.

Our mission is to create Customer success. Our management team welcomes your comments and suggestions on how we can improve the overall support we provide to you. Please send your comments, suggestions, or concerns to Managers or submit your feedback here.

Murray Davies
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2014-01-02
Posts: 1

Hi,
I am also having problems since updating to Acronis Home Premium 2014 from having allversions of Home Plus from 2011
I was recently advise to upgrade to Backup & Recovery Workstation 11.5 - to use images for use with virtual machines.
Since I have had no end of trouble with this same silly error of File 'restore_aw_assistant.exe' missing for Acronis Restore Anywhere Assistant
(ID:Acronis) in Windows 7, cannot be found !!!

I am trying to upgrade Image from PATA HP Compaq (500GB) to SATA HP Compaq (2TB)
Having same problem using any version of Home Plus or Premuim images and Restore - Booting of CD Image.

I have tried repeatedly to ignore error - but always get Windows restart repair failure.

I have tried copying complete disc or partitions only to same effect.

PS th upgrade to Backup & Recovery Workstation - recommend on phone by your support staff is completely useless as it does not support .tib
A class action should be highly investigated - especially as you only offer 1month support for your product - this is in contradiction to most Consumer Laws - Especially here in Australia !!!

So How about Fix this stupid Error!

Thanks

Anna.Trifonova
Anna.Trifonova's picture
Offline
Forum Support Professional
Joined: 2011-04-18
Posts: 908

Hello Murray,

thank you for your posting.

Acronis Backup and Recovery 11.5 can be a better choice for working with virtual machines since it has special features for virtual machines related scenarios. E.g. it offers different ways for migrating a physical machine to a virtual machine.

Acronis Backup and Recovery 11.5 supports .tib files (it is a native Acronis backup format) but we don't guarantee that Acronis Backup and Recovery supports backups created by Acronis True Image 2014. Here you can read more about backup archive compatibility across different product versions.

Basically, if you have an archive created with Acronis True Image 2014, you need to start your virtual machine from Acronis Bootable media with Universal restore and then simply to follow this guide.

If the issue persists please describe your actions step-by-step.

Thank you.

__________________

Anna Trifonova

Acronis Customer Central | Acronis Backup Software

For more answers to your questions, try our Knowledge Base and Video Tutorials.

Check our Corporate and Consumer Handbooks and Online Documentation for help on managing your account, products and support.

Our mission is to create Customer success. Our management team welcomes your comments and suggestions on how we can improve the overall support we provide to you. Please send your comments, suggestions, or concerns to Managers or submit your feedback here.