21689: Rescue disk can't find my backup drive. Desparately need to restore C drive

4 replies [Last post]
Ed Troy
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2011-05-30
Posts: 3

I've been using True Image Echo for a while, and I've been able to restore directories under Windows XP X64 Professional from my archival backup drive when needed. However, now I am in big trouble. I backed up my whole computer in anticipation of upgrading the bios and installing a new video card. I use SATA drives, and I have an external SATA drive for storing backup files. I shut down after the backup and installed the new bios. Upon rebooting, I got a BSOD with a stop 7b error. I decided that the new bios must not work, so I went back to the old bios. (This is on an AMD 8230 series motherboard that has 2 12 core processors)
I played with the bios settings for a while, but could not get the computer to boot. So, I went back to the old bios (v1.01). (I had tried to load 2.01 beta. After it failed, I also tried v2.0, but it failed, too.)
But, even after reloading the old bios, I was never able to get the computer to boot again. I've wasted 2 days on this so far, and am at my wits end, since I need my computer working. I've tried every combination of bios settings, and I've also tried repairing Windows XP X64 professional, using chkdsk /p, fixboot, fixmbr, bootcfg /rebuild, etc. Nothing works. The best I can get is a Stop 7b BSOD. So, obviously, some driver or registry setting got changed, somehow. So, I need to restore my C drive. (I also have a 2nd SATA drive, which contains G, H, and I partitions, but I only backup G, and I should not have to restore that. My backup drive is an external 2 TB SATA drive. The problem is that when I try to boot from the rescue disk, the computer hangs in the full mode. If I go to the safe restore, things seem to work, but the only drive shown is the C drive. That is the drive I need to restore. TI does not show the G, H, I, partitions on the second drive, or the Z drive, which is the backup external SATA drive that holds the backup file.

What can I do to fix this? I bought Acronis 10, and I paid for Universal restore, but I'm not sure if it actually was received, since there was only 1 900+ MB file. I tried installing that on another computer and created a rescue disk. When I boot the dead computer with that rescue disk, I can access my network, and if I put the 2 TB esata drive on the computer where I installed the software, I can see the files on that computer from the dead computer, but I can't see (or restore) the needed backup file.

What is the solution? At this point, I am thinking of reinstalling Windows xp x64 on the dead computer, then reinstalling Acronis TI echo, and hoping that I can then restore the file to replace the new windows install, but this sounds like a lot of work, and I'm not sure it would work.

dev-anon
dev-anon's picture
Offline
Forum Star
Joined: 2009-10-08
Posts: 1967

Looks like after bios upgrade your SATA controller was switched to (AHCI or Legacy IDE) mode - not that one that was before upgrade and for which your XP installation has drivers.

Quote:
bought Acronis 10, and I paid for Universal restore, but I'm not sure if it actually was received, since there was only 1 900+ MB file.

Then you can ask it in the forum above.

Quote:
and if I put the 2 TB esata drive on the computer where I installed the software, I can see the files on that computer from the dead computer, but I can't see (or restore) the needed backup file.

This is strange. So you boot from Backup&Recovery 10 CD on the dead computer, click 'recover' , browse to select the archive to the network folders to 'second' computer, but .tib files don't appear?
You might need to switch to 'show tib files', the button that is above the right pane (the folder tree in the left). Then .tib files in the directory will be shown (now they don't because it's an Echo backup)

Ed Troy
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2011-05-30
Posts: 3

Problem solved. What you suggested above would probably have worked. But, I found another solution. My external drives (Caviar) are both ESATA and USB. Of course, I usually use them as ESATA, since that is much faster, especially since I have a number of USB things on the USB. But, when I disconnected the ESATA drive, and reconnected it as a USB drive, it was found. Then, I was able to find the .tib files that I had created with Acronis TI Echo, and i was able to restore. I am pretty sure I tried this with the old TI Echo rescue disc, and, if I recall correctly, it did not see the USB backup drive. But, in any case, the problem is solved. And, yes, even after the restore, I could not boot up until I tried changing the bios to AHCI. Then, all was well. (I had tried AHCI several times before the restore, and it never booted without the STOP 7B error. So, in the attempted bios upgrade, something happened to the actual software on the C drive that prevented a reboot. But, once I restored the C drive, and switched to AHCI, the system booted up and appears to be working as it was before the attempted bios upgrade.
Thanks!

Ed Troy
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2011-05-30
Posts: 3

Problem solved. What you suggested above would probably have worked. But, I found another solution. My external drives (Caviar) are both ESATA and USB. Of course, I usually use them as ESATA, since that is much faster, especially since I have a number of USB things on the USB. But, when I disconnected the ESATA drive, and reconnected it as a USB drive, it was found. Then, I was able to find the .tib files that I had created with Acronis TI Echo, and i was able to restore. I am pretty sure I tried this with the old TI Echo rescue disc, and, if I recall correctly, it did not see the USB backup drive. But, in any case, the problem is solved. And, yes, even after the restore, I could not boot up until I tried changing the bios to AHCI. Then, all was well. (I had tried AHCI several times before the restore, and it never booted without the STOP 7B error. So, in the attempted bios upgrade, something happened to the actual software on the C drive that prevented a reboot. But, once I restored the C drive, and switched to AHCI, the system booted up and appears to be working as it was before the attempted bios upgrade.
Thanks!

ALEXIUS SALDANHA
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2014-11-18
Posts: 1

I am trying to create a universal boot media on dvd. When I load the drivers I get an error "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository|qhsmdm.inf_amd64e3fef1a12b65c8a7\i386\qhsmdm.sys
" and cannot proceed further.
What should I do?