28820: Deleting incremental backups

4 replies [Last post]
Steven Denenberg
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2011-05-28
Posts: 3

Hi,
I think a simple question here. If I have a full backup and incrementals in a directory, can I delete the *latest* incremental backup, and then the next time an incremental backup is run, I will still be completely protected, because Acronis will recognize what is different on my computer from the full and previous incrementals that still exist in the backup directory?

I hope I asked that clearly enough.

--Steve D.

Connell Giacomini
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2015-10-31
Posts: 1

How to perform an incremental backup in acronis true image cloud 2016?

 

Anna Trifonova [I...
Anna Trifonova [Inactive]'s picture
Offline
Forum Support Engineer
Joined: 2011-04-18
Posts: 2769

Hi Connell,

please find an instruction here: http://www.acronis.com/en-us/support/documentation/ATI2016/#16143.html

Thank you,

__________________

Anna Trifonova

Acronis Customer Central | Acronis Backup Software

For more answers to your questions, try our Knowledge Base and Video Tutorials.

Check our Corporate and Consumer Handbooks and Online Documentation for help on managing your account, products and support.

Our mission is to create Customer success. Our management team welcomes your comments and suggestions on how we can improve the overall support we provide to you. Please send your comments, suggestions, or concerns to Managers or submit your feedback here.

Art L
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2011-08-16
Posts: 5

I believe you misunderstood the question.  I have the same question:

I am doing incremental backups.  If currently there are 5 incrementals, and I use Windows Explorer to delete the 5th .tib file, will the next backup include all files updated since the 4th incremental?

If I have 5 chains and a few increments of a 6th chain, can I delete the entire 6th chain?  Will the next backup start fresh?

I have a disk with a bad sector.  So I need to eliminate all files associated with that sector.

Ekaterina Surkova
Ekaterina Surkova's picture
Offline
Forum Administrator
Joined: 2013-07-15
Posts: 1771

Hello Art L,

Thank you for your posting! If you delete the 5th incremental, the new incremental backup will include all the changes made to the system after the 4th backup. However be aware, that we do not recommend moving or deleting backups manually in Windows Explorer, because the products database is not updated after these changes, which may cause issues with the counters in the backup chain (the 6th backup created instead of 5th). You'll need to validate the archive to update the information in the database. 

If you removed some files from your system, that were captured in the old backup 5, these files won't be included in the new incremental backup.

Thank you,

__________________

Ekaterina Surkova | Acronis Customer Central | Acronis Backup Software | For more answers to your questions, try our Knowledge Base and Video Tutorials. | Check our Corporate and Consumer Handbooks and Online Documentation for help on managing your account, products and support. | Our mission is to create Customer success. Our management team welcomes your comments and suggestions on how we can improve the overall support we provide to you. Please send your comments, suggestions, or concerns to Managers or submit your feedback here.