36873: How to Recover Free Space after Deleting Acronis Secure Zone in True Image 2011

3 replies [Last post]
Alan Rubinstein
Joined: 2011-09-08
Posts: 8

I have Acronis True Image 2011 Update 3, Build 6942.
I had my Acronis Secure Zone (ASZ) on my main C drive using 300GB and then purchased a 1TB External HD.
I want to move my ASZ to the new Ext. HD.
Went to first Remove the ASZ from my C Drive. It did a reboot and worked OK except for one important thing ... it did not add the 300GB back to my Free Space on my C Drive. When I view it under Manage My Computer/storage/Disk Management, it just shows the 300GB as Unallocated space.

I did not see any option under Acronis True Image that asked me if I wanted to add the freed up space back to my main C Drive Partition. Did I miss it? Is there something special I have to do when deleting the ASZ to say add the freed up space back to my main C Drive Partition?

I am using Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit version.
Is there anyway to use some Windows function to make the 300GB old ASZ (which is now unallocated) to be part of my main C Drive partition again?

For now, I just re-created the ASZ again and re-used the 300GB of unallocated space on my C Drive. BUT, I will try to remove the ASZ again so I can create a new one on my new External HD. I would like to get this 300GB back to use for other things on my main C Drive.

Can anybody help me?


James F
James F's picture
Acronis MVP Volunteer
Joined: 2010-09-01
Posts: 2806

If the ASZ is located on your main drive at the end of the drive (after all other partitions), you can use Windows 7 Disk Management to extend the partition that exists before the removed ASZ partition to fill the disk.

If this doesn't work for you, you can use GParted http://gparted.sourceforge.net/ to resize your partitions.
Be sure to have FULL disk backup before doing any partition changes.


What I tell my friends:
It's not a problem with your computer, it's a short circuit between the chair and the keyboard!
What I tell my customers:
Whatever the problem is, we can fix it.

Robert Binkow
Joined: 2012-10-31
Posts: 1

I'm trying to install Windows 8 and am instructed to manually uninstall Acronis True Image. Unfortunatly I can't locate the program to uninstall. Can you tell me how to do that when the program does not show as being installed.

tuttle's picture
Acronis MVP Volunteer
Joined: 2011-11-05
Posts: 3583

It's listed under "T" for True Image.


I am not staff and am not paid. I provide help on a volunteer basis on my own time.