37945: Cannot boot Recovery CD on UEFI machine

13 replies [Last post]
John Becker
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2010-04-20
Posts: 3

Created Recovery CD using TrueImage 2013 with Plus Pack.
Cannot boot machine with this disk, the machine is UEFI.

What to do?


Pat L
Offline
Acronis MVP Volunteer
MVP
Joined: 2010-11-30
Posts: 9163

Boot the computer, press F2 immediately and repeatedly (or whetever key for your machine) to enter BIOS. FInd the way to disable secure boot and to enable legacy boot.
Set up the legacy boot to boot on the DVD. Boot on the recovery CD. DO you operation.
After the operation, reboot, press F2, enable UEFI and secure boot.

__________________

Win 10 Pro x64 SSD - ATI 2016 Latest build


John Becker
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2010-04-20
Posts: 3

I have not gotten this or any other fixes to work. It is an HP/Compaq 8200 Elite workstation machine.
I disabled BIOS UEFI features, ATI 2013 will not boot. It seems so close, it says "Acronis UEFI loader.... " then hangs.

Any other ideas?


Colin B
Colin B's picture
Offline
Acronis MVP Volunteer
MVP
Joined: 2009-08-15
Posts: 9229

John,

Other than buying the Plus Pack anf attempting to make a WinPe based recovery CD, I would suggest contacting Acronsi Support and see if they can make a recovery ISO tailored to your PC. You will need to send them an Acronis system report so that they can see if there are any Linux drivers for your PC.

__________________

Windows 10 Pro 14361.rs1 Preview + Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit SP1 + Server 2008 R2, SBS2011. Testing Environment VirtualBox VM. TI2016:5518 Acronis Backup Advanced:43994, DD12:3223, vmProtect 7.0:5173, SnapDeploy 4 On a clear disk you can seek forever


John Becker
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2010-04-20
Posts: 3

Colin,
Thanks, but i am using PlusPack, and it is a complete disaster. Nothing (including the WinPE) seems to work, no matter what I try.
Good thing it is purely a test, and not a live system I am recovering. Otherwise it would really be an ugly situation.

Forget Acronis support, I have never had any success with them. If it does not work out of the box, nothing tech support can do.

Word to the wise: BEWARE UEFI!


Colin B
Colin B's picture
Offline
Acronis MVP Volunteer
MVP
Joined: 2009-08-15
Posts: 9229

Sounds definitely an HP specific driver and setup is the cause here.

I think from an Acronis point of view they will need to have a second level support or developer look into this and only rasising a support ticket can start that process. I believe Acronis are aware of the general UEFI problems so might pick up on this more specific one as well.

__________________

Windows 10 Pro 14361.rs1 Preview + Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit SP1 + Server 2008 R2, SBS2011. Testing Environment VirtualBox VM. TI2016:5518 Acronis Backup Advanced:43994, DD12:3223, vmProtect 7.0:5173, SnapDeploy 4 On a clear disk you can seek forever


Mark Fiorentino
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2013-01-11
Posts: 2

I have the exact same problem as above. We unfortunately purchased a large number of HP 8200 elites and UEFI does not work on any of them. If you guys ever discover a fix for this let me know.


Pat L
Offline
Acronis MVP Volunteer
MVP
Joined: 2010-11-30
Posts: 9163

You have 2 different things to consider:
a) going past secure boot/UEFI. The only way is to disable secure boot and give priority to legacy boot (eg LEnovo laptop), or disable UEFI and enable legacy boot (eg dell laptop). Then, at least the CD boots

b) making the CD boots all the way to the ATI app. If this doesn't happen, then it is because of a hardware support problem. You have to create a WINPE-based disk using the Plus Pack so that the recovery software supports your hardware.

__________________

Win 10 Pro x64 SSD - ATI 2016 Latest build


Mark Fiorentino
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2013-01-11
Posts: 2

Thanks Pat,
I actually found another way as well. This is what I wound up doing. I installed the acronis on the PC to be restored. I then ran the program and told it to restore the new image onto the PC. I was able to pick the image up from the USB drive and the system restarted in the workstation mode without having to use the bootable disk. I then was able to restore the new image. These HP PCs have been a real problem there always making things more difficult for us. Thanks again for your help.


Pat L
Offline
Acronis MVP Volunteer
MVP
Joined: 2010-11-30
Posts: 9163

That's great. Many users end up with issues when then kick off the restore process from Windows. Good for you that is working on your system!

__________________

Win 10 Pro x64 SSD - ATI 2016 Latest build


James Nugent
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2009-11-23
Posts: 17

I have yet to install ATIH 2013 (quaking in my boots at the prospect...) to replace 2011. However, I did download the latest bootable Media ISO to play with and at least see if IT would work.

It worked on my Windows 7 machine (no surprise, but nice to have that risk retired).

This week we bought a new UEFI breathing Dell laptop loaded with Windows 8. My ADD 11 and ATIH 11 CD's would not boot, but the ATIH 13 downloaded ISO did! So I concluded they made 13 compatible with the UEFI Secure boot nonsense (I had not done anything the the "UEFI Firmware" settings).

Then I booted back into Windows 8 without problems (I didn't learn till later that this could even be a concern...).

So just a piece of data; I've never used the media builder but the downloaded ISO (burned to a CD obviously) will boot on a secure AFAIK UEFI Win 8 platform and I can look at partitions and such.

--
Jim
PS Don't you hate "It works for me!" posts? :)


Ben Eggenberger
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2014-09-17
Posts: 2

James, where do you go to download this ISO, please? I was not aware of this option!
Thanks,
Ben


GroverH
GroverH's picture
Offline
Legend
Joined: 2009-08-15
Posts: 11298

Ben,
2013 does not support Windows 8.

Your Acronis personal webpage accounts lists all the Acronis software that you have registered. Any downloads you are eligible for is listed in your account.
The 2013 (as well as other versions) lists the Bootable media ISO file as a separate download. My signature link 9 shows the where and how. Picture 7 insdie that lnk is the iso file.

__________________

Grovers status = Inactive    1. Grover's New Revised Guides    4.  2014 Cleanup    2015 Cleanup    5. Attachments/How   7. TI 2015 FAQ.
2. Create BKU Tasks >   2011_2012_2013    2A. Using 2014    6.  Help  2016  2015 2014  2013       8.  Stop Scan for Backups   8A.  ATIH Video's
3.  Create new disks-Guides.    9.  Register/Downloads     10.  Mustang's New Guides   11.  Les Seiler's Backup Video


Ben Eggenberger
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2014-09-17
Posts: 2

That's extremely helpful Grover - thank you! I am on 2014 BTW -- assume that has support for 8? I'm currently downloading my ISO - I'll give it a shot regardless. Thanks again!