41793: [RESOLVED] Scheduler Service Is Stopped

16 replies [Last post]
TOActor
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2010-01-12
Posts: 11

When Windows 8 boots up, in the lower right screen is a small dialog box reading: "True Image. Scheduler service is stopped. Resolve problem" and the last two words are a link. When I click on that link, the User Account Control dialog comes up and I click on "OK." In a few seconds, I see a flash of a small dialog that I can't read because it is too fast. When I check my running services, I see that "Acronis Scheduler 2 Service" is running and the status is "Automatic," which means that it starts at each boot-up. So why am I getting these warning dialogs each time, and what can I do to stop them?

Issue resolved here.

Pat L
Offline
Acronis MVP Volunteer
MVP
Joined: 2010-11-30
Posts: 7849

Hard to say. I would uninstall Acronis True Image (ATI), reboot and reinstall.

__________________

Win 8.1 Pro x64 SSD + Software RAID 0 - ATI 2014 6614

TOActor
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2010-01-12
Posts: 11

I did as Pat L suggested, but the problem continues as described before. I have learned that by going into Windows 8 Services list, I find Acronis Scheduler2 Service listed as "Automatic" under Startup Type, but under Status, it is not showing as running. When I click on "Start the service," the Status changes to "Running" and the pesky lower-right-screen dialog goes away. Something is causing the service not to start automatically as it should. I wouldn't mind doing this once a day, but I have to do it each time I wake the computer up from hibernation, which is several times a day. I'll appreciate any suggestions about what more I can do to ensure an automatic startup of the Acronis Scheduler2 Service in Windows 8.

GroverH
GroverH's picture
Offline
Forum Hero
Joined: 2009-08-15
Posts: 8387

An extract from this link by Acronis:

http://forum.acronis.com/forum/41222#comment-131503

"To get rid of this error, as a temporary solution, you can do the following:

Go to Services (Start -> type services.msc -> Hit Enter), make right-click on Acronis Scheduler2 Service -> Properties -> open Recovery tab -> Set the Restart the service value for the First, Second and Subsequent failures."

TOActor
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2010-01-12
Posts: 11

OK, I found the answer after plowing through the extensive Acronis Knowledge Base. The exact error I was getting is described at http://kb.acronis.com/content/41540 in a Knowledge Base article titled: "41540: True Image 2013 by Acronis Errors Out with 'Scheduler service is stopped' on 32-Bit Systems." I downloaded the "fix," installed it and rebooted. Acronis Scheduler2 Service came up "Running," and there was no error dialog in the lower right screen.

TOActor
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2010-01-12
Posts: 11

OK, I found the answer after plowing through the extensive Acronis Knowledge Base. The exact error I was getting is described at http://kb.acronis.com/content/41540 in a Knowledge Base article titled: "41540: True Image 2013 by Acronis Errors Out with 'Scheduler service is stopped' on 32-Bit Systems." I downloaded the "fix," installed it and rebooted. Acronis Scheduler2 Service came up "Running," and there was no error dialog in the lower right screen.

Peter Greenfield
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2013-05-16
Posts: 3

The suggested 'fix' in Knowledge base does not work for me. I have run it as directed several times but the scheduler still stops. I have also run it manually under administrator privileges and it still does not work. I am using 32 bit Win8. Any ideas?
Peter

Arthur Stewart
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2012-10-27
Posts: 2

I have the same problem as Peter Greenfield. Running the fix gets rib of the message box until a reboot when it is back,

TOActor
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2010-01-12
Posts: 11

Well, the "fix" didn't last long on my computer either. After about three days of not seeing the dialog box, it came up again one day after I awoke the computer from hibernation. I didn't see it again on booting into Windows 8 until about three or four days later, and suddenly there it was again. This time I clicked in the dialog box to correct the problem from there, which had never worked before, but this time it worked. Since then, every time I get the dialog box, which is inconsistent, I click in there and the service is started and the dialog box goes away. This shouldn't be happening and Acronis should fix it in the next update. I am using Windows 8 in 32-bit mode, which apparently is the only mode where this happens..

Andy Harris
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2013-04-09
Posts: 2

The problem seems to be happening to me not on a fresh restart, but every time the computer wakes from sleep or hibernation. The problem NEVER happened before the last True Image 2013 update. Now it happens EVERY time the computer wakes. The TI build number is 6514, and the OS is Windows 8 Pro, 32 bit. I, too, tried the batch file mentioned above, but it didn't fix the problem. I looked in services.msc and the service (scheduler2) is actually reported as "running" even when the error message is present on the screen and all other properties of the service are set properly as they were after TI was installed. I've also tried to uninstall and reinstall. The only thing I have left is to roll back to the prior build of True Image (it never had this problem). I'll be trying that next and I'll post my results.

This is a big nuisance. If anyone finds a fix or receives any helpful information from Acronis, please post it here.

Thanks

James F
James F's picture
Offline
Acronis MVP Volunteer
MVP
Joined: 2010-09-01
Posts: 2805

I'm not sure if this will help in your case, but there is an updated scheduler available here: http://kb.acronis.com/content/1518

__________________

What I tell my friends:
It's not a problem with your computer, it's a short circuit between the chair and the keyboard!
What I tell my Customers:
Whatever the problem is, we can fix it.

Arthur Stewart
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2012-10-27
Posts: 2

Installed the updated scheduler. Now have exactly the same results as reported by TOACTOR on 24 May. Go figure!

TOActor
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2010-01-12
Posts: 11

I've become so used to this dialog popping up in the notification area that I just routinely click on the link there and usually, but not always, up pops a mid-screen dialog with a link: "Enable scheduler service." When I click on that, it starts the scheduler service, but later when waking the computer from sleep or hibernation, there is the notification area dialog again. There is a check box at the bottom of the mid-screen dialog: "Show notification about this problem in the system tray." Mine is checked by default. If I uncheck it, presumably I'll not see the notification again, but I'll also not know whether the scheduler is running or not. Come on, Acronis -- let's fix this problem!

AttachmentSize
acronis_scheduler.jpg 36.33 KB
Peter Greenfield
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2013-05-16
Posts: 3

When is this going to be solved!! I am now having to restart it manually every time it wakes up from sleep, 5 or 6 times a day. I don't care if it's Microsoft's fault, provide a workaround that starts the service when it stops. The published one does NOT work.

ak ibi
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2012-12-30
Posts: 11

I am having exactly same problem posted here.

It's been long time this problem came to light on this forum but sadly no solution in sight.

See my pics what Scheduler service is doing to my PC reliability and Performance History.

Please help!!!

Atleast steps for any solution !!!!

AttachmentSize
acronis_scheduler_2.png 70.69 KB
acronis_scheduler_2_1.png 59.23 KB
Andy Harris
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2013-04-09
Posts: 2

The only real solution that I've found is to roll back to True Image, Build 5551.

A couple weeks ago I was having the same headache and I just decided to roll back to the prior build.  This solved the problem that is the topic of this thread.  However, of course, you lose any needed fixes in the latest build which is a bummer.  But hey, it gets rid of that pesky system tray toast that just won't stop popping up.

I removed all things acronis usingm the control panel and then just downloaded and installed build 5551.  It seems to work fine, but you may want to restart all your backup chains from a full backup.

About the Reliability Report

Remember the Reliability and Problem History is not a badge of honor that somehow reflects the skill or intelligence of the computer's owner/administrator.  It's simply a tool to let you know about failures.  Don't waste time and limit your computer activities looking for that perfect 10 rating.  It's just not worth it.

Anna.Trifonova
Anna.Trifonova's picture
Offline
Forum Support Professional
Joined: 2011-04-18
Posts: 905

Hello Everyone,

thank you for your postings.

I'm glad to let you know that reported problem was resolved.

Please refer to this post for the solution.

Thank you.

__________________

Anna Trifonova

Acronis Customer Central | Acronis Backup Software

For more answers to your questions, try our Knowledge Base and Video Tutorials.

Check our Corporate and Consumer Handbooks and Online Documentation for help on managing your account, products and support.

Our mission is to create Customer success. Our management team welcomes your comments and suggestions on how we can improve the overall support we provide to you. Please send your comments, suggestions, or concerns to Managers or submit your feedback here.