46506: how to undo add new disk in acronis

5 replies [Last post]
jeric
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2013-11-08
Posts: 3

i have new 250gb hdd and i select add new disk and didn't create any partition i just click proceed and now i cannot clone into it and not even appearing on my computer...how to make my hdd back the way it was before? thanks!


GroverH
GroverH's picture
Offline
Legend
Joined: 2009-08-15
Posts: 11298

Look again.

The "add new disk" is not supposed to create new partitions as new partitions are not needed.
Using this feature is supposed to leave alll space as unallocated.

The new disk should appear when you need to select the new disk as the target disk.

Before cloning, suggest you make a disk mode complete backup so you have a restore option should your cloning process fail or you have cloning issues. Creating a backup and restoring the backup is a safer procedure than cloning and the results are the same.

__________________

Grovers status = Inactive    1. Grover's New Revised Guides    4.  2014 Cleanup    2015 Cleanup    5. Attachments/How   7. TI 2015 FAQ.
2. Create BKU Tasks >   2011_2012_2013    2A. Using 2014    6.  Help  2016  2015 2014  2013       8.  Stop Scan for Backups   8A.  ATIH Video's
3.  Create new disks-Guides.    9.  Register/Downloads     10.  Mustang's New Guides   11.  Les Seiler's Backup Video


jeric
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2013-11-08
Posts: 3

when cloning it appear as a target disk but when i proceed to the cloning, the process failed.
before i add it as a new disk,the cloning is succesful.


GroverH
GroverH's picture
Offline
Legend
Joined: 2009-08-15
Posts: 11298

Cloning overlays the existing data on the new machine anyway.

Try creating one small partition. format the partitons on the new disk and then retry your cloning.

the source disk could have disk errors. You may want to run chkdsk on the old disk.

__________________

Grovers status = Inactive    1. Grover's New Revised Guides    4.  2014 Cleanup    2015 Cleanup    5. Attachments/How   7. TI 2015 FAQ.
2. Create BKU Tasks >   2011_2012_2013    2A. Using 2014    6.  Help  2016  2015 2014  2013       8.  Stop Scan for Backups   8A.  ATIH Video's
3.  Create new disks-Guides.    9.  Register/Downloads     10.  Mustang's New Guides   11.  Les Seiler's Backup Video


jeric
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2013-11-08
Posts: 3

ty sir grover! i have another question, i clone my 160 gb hdd to new 250 gb hdd the whole disk are clone succesfully even the os then why my new 250 gb hdd is not booting up eventhough i select the recommended option and it says it will make the disk bootable


GroverH
GroverH's picture
Offline
Legend
Joined: 2009-08-15
Posts: 11298

which version and build of TrueImageHome?

Whiich version of Windows?

is this disk UEFI or MBR?

Have you tried doing a repair of the startup by using the Windows Recovery CD?

__________________

Grovers status = Inactive    1. Grover's New Revised Guides    4.  2014 Cleanup    2015 Cleanup    5. Attachments/How   7. TI 2015 FAQ.
2. Create BKU Tasks >   2011_2012_2013    2A. Using 2014    6.  Help  2016  2015 2014  2013       8.  Stop Scan for Backups   8A.  ATIH Video's
3.  Create new disks-Guides.    9.  Register/Downloads     10.  Mustang's New Guides   11.  Les Seiler's Backup Video