6758: Windows 7, "Repair your computer" F8 boot option not working (SOLVED)

909 replies [Last post]
Mark Wharton
Mark Wharton's picture
Offline
Acronis MVP Volunteer
MVP
Joined: 2009-08-15
Posts: 2122

Naren:

Yes, I see that you are missing an object in the BCD for starting the recovery environment. There is also an "Unknown" pointer in the element for resuming from hibernation.

I can't help you with this one. Your BCD is highly customized by the manufacturer and I'm not familiar with the syntax that they are using. I suggest that you look for help in a Dell forum or contact Dell directly. If Dell can provide you with a recovery DVD to restore your system to original factory state, that may be your best bet.

__________________

Acronis TI 9, TI 10, TI 2011, TI 2013, TI 2014, TI2015, TI 2016, DD 10, DD 11, DD12 user. Amateur Radio K0LO

Naren
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2016-06-22
Posts: 3

thanks u so much, I had forgotten that I have a dell recovery cd. Well my problem fixed. But there was a problem in Diagnostic screeshot and bcd list attached

I hope you can correct these problems  :)

thank u sir

AttachmentSize
20160510_230524.jpg 881.22 KB
bcd_recovered.txt 5 KB
System: Dell XPS15 L502X: i7-2670Q, 6GB RAM, 500GB HDD 5400 RPM, 2GB NVIDIA
Gab
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2016-10-26
Posts: 1

Hi, 

I've an HP Z440 workstation. When I bought it I asked a Win 7 downgrade (from 8.1) on an SSD instead of usual 1 TB Hard Disk.

Now I'd like to use the Recovery Partition (a dedicated partition, size 11,7 GB), but I cannot reach it. I only have 8.1 recovery disk, and none about Win7
The reseller told me that workstation came with the 1TB hard disk equipped with Win7, and he cloned it on the SSD. I think that's the point the recovery partition messed out, but I cannot fix it.

The disk is in GPT mode, so i cannot make the recovery partition active in order to boot at startup.

Reading previous post I cannot understand what to do, can anybody help me?

I attach the bcedit output (standard and verbose), thanks in advance if anybody can suggest something!!

Gab

AttachmentSize
output.txt 8.47 KB
outputverbose.txt 9.1 KB
System: HP Z440
Mark Wharton
Mark Wharton's picture
Offline
Acronis MVP Volunteer
MVP
Joined: 2009-08-15
Posts: 2122

Gab:

Your BCD looks to be configured correctly to boot into the Windows Recovery Environment. According to HP, you press the F11 key repeatedly as the system boots: http://smallbusiness.chron.com/boot-off-recovery-partition-hp-53080.html

If this doesn't work, are you able to access the UEFI boot options by pressing F10? http://h30434.www3.hp.com/t5/Business-PCs-Workstations-and-Point-of-Sale...

If so, I see a number of UEFI firmware boot options defined in the BCD; several of them say "System Diagnostics" and "HP Recovery". If your F10 key allows access to the UEFI boot options, try those.

__________________

Acronis TI 9, TI 10, TI 2011, TI 2013, TI 2014, TI2015, TI 2016, DD 10, DD 11, DD12 user. Amateur Radio K0LO

heroez1
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2017-04-21
Posts: 2

Hi Mark, 

My name is heru from Borneo.

My windows pro (x64) can't boot to windows.  I have tried repairing it with CD/DVD Windows 7, but there are message "This version of System Recovery Options is not compatible with the version of Windows youa arae trying repair". I just want to be able to boot sucessfully. Can You help me?


 
AttachmentSize
bcdoutput.txt 3.5 KB
Mark Wharton
Mark Wharton's picture
Offline
Acronis MVP Volunteer
MVP
Joined: 2009-08-15
Posts: 2122

Hello, Heru:

I have seen that error message before. Here is an article that describes various workarounds: http://techspeeder.com/2014/09/03/this-version-of-system-recovery-options-is-not-compatible-with-the-version-of-windows-you-are-trying-to-repair/

 

__________________

Acronis TI 9, TI 10, TI 2011, TI 2013, TI 2014, TI2015, TI 2016, DD 10, DD 11, DD12 user. Amateur Radio K0LO

Chris Yaz
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2017-04-28
Posts: 1

Mark Wharton wrote:

Here are the appropriate entries that need to be repaired:

=======================================================
Windows Boot Loader
-------------------
identifier {e6752484-d2da-11de-8cd2-cdc3b318e7d5}
this one is missing references to the device and osdevice partitions

Device options
--------------
identifier {e6752485-d2da-11de-8cd2-cdc3b318e7d5}
description Ramdisk Options
ramdisksdidevice unknown
ramdisksdipath \Recovery\e6752484-d2da-11de-8cd2-cdc3b318e7d5\boot.sdi
========================================================

What probably happened was that the partitions on the disk were probably 2048-sector offset if they were created by Vista or the Windows 7 installer. When you restored, TI changed the offset to 63-sectors, and thus the BCD pointers were incorrect. Here is how you can fix them.

<sarcastic comment>God bless Microsoft for using GUIDs in the BCD and for the name of the recovery folder</sarcastic comment>; you have to be really careful to type every character correctly or it won't work. It will help to copy and paste the GUIDs instead of typing them. You could try copying and pasting from the text below if the forum software hasn't added any stray spaces or characters and if I haven't made any mistakes:

===============================================================
Steps to add the Windows Recovery Environment (WinRE) to the Windows 7 BCD store.
12/12/2009  MJW

The general syntax of the commands needed to add the three missing entries is:
bcdedit /set {GUID1} device ramdisk=[C:]\Recovery\GUID1\Winre.wim,{GUID2}
bcdedit /set {GUID1} osdevice ramdisk=[C:]\Recovery\GUID1\Winre.wim,{GUID2}
bcdedit /set {GUID2} ramdisksdidevice partition=C:

Where the GUIDs for your case are:
GUID of boot manager entry: {GUID1} = {e6752484-d2da-11de-8cd2-cdc3b318e7d5}
GUID of device options entry: {GUID2} = {e6752485-d2da-11de-8cd2-cdc3b318e7d5}

So the commands would be as follows. Each command is all on one line:
bcdedit /set {e6752484-d2da-11de-8cd2-cdc3b318e7d5} device ramdisk=[C:]\Recovery\e6752484-d2da-11de-8cd2-cdc3b318e7d5\Winre.wim,{e6752485-d2da-11de-8cd2-cdc3b318e7d5}

bcdedit /set {e6752484-d2da-11de-8cd2-cdc3b318e7d5} osdevice ramdisk=[C:]\Recovery\e6752484-d2da-11de-8cd2-cdc3b318e7d5\Winre.wim,{e6752485-d2da-11de-8cd2-cdc3b318e7d5}

bcdedit /set {e6752485-d2da-11de-8cd2-cdc3b318e7d5} ramdisksdidevice partition=C:

After entering these three commands, check them again with bcdedit /enum all. You should see these two corrected entries:
================================================================================
Windows Boot Loader
-------------------
identifier              {e6752484-d2da-11de-8cd2-cdc3b318e7d5}
device                  ramdisk=[C:]\Recovery\e6752484-d2da-11de-8cd2-cdc3b318e7d5\Winre.wim,{e6752485-d2da-11de-8cd2-cdc3b318e7d5}
path                    \windows\system32\winload.exe
description             Windows Recovery Environment
inherit                 {bootloadersettings}
osdevice                ramdisk=[C:]\Recovery\e6752484-d2da-11de-8cd2-cdc3b318e7d5\Winre.wim,{e6752485-d2da-11de-8cd2-cdc3b318e7d5}
systemroot              \windows
nx                      OptIn
winpe                   Yes

Device options
--------------
identifier              {e6752485-d2da-11de-8cd2-cdc3b318e7d5}
description             Ramdisk Options
ramdisksdidevice        partition=C:
ramdisksdipath          \Recovery\e6752484-d2da-11de-8cd2-cdc3b318e7d5\boot.sdi
================================================================================
.

.

.

 

Thank you SOOOO much! This post just helpd me a ton! I had acidentally destroyed my recovery partition and went through the process of manually fixing it. I had to recreate the 100MB partition. I used another working machine with Win7 on it to copy over the contents of the partition followed by the 4 bootrec commands to fix my BCD. This got my Win7 install booting however my PE environment would no longer work when I used F8 to "Repair your computer".

I then ran the first 3 commands though when I looked at my BCD again I noticed the ramdisksdipath was still incorrect. I then ran the last command to re-point that and all was fine.

bcdedit /set {28f0d4c7-2054-11e5-bf1f-e540a2a71f53} device ramdisk=[C:]\Recovery\7d6ec772-2a1f-11e2-b7b2-f241181ac250\Winre.wim,{28f0d4c8-2054-11e5-bf1f-e540a2a71f53}

bcdedit /set {28f0d4c7-2054-11e5-bf1f-e540a2a71f53} osdevice ramdisk=[C:]\Recovery\7d6ec772-2a1f-11e2-b7b2-f241181ac250\Winre.wim,{28f0d4c8-2054-11e5-bf1f-e540a2a71f53}

bcdedit /set {28f0d4c8-2054-11e5-bf1f-e540a2a71f53} ramdisksdidevice partition=C:

bcdedit /set {28f0d4c8-2054-11e5-bf1f-e540a2a71f53} ramdisksdipath \Recovery\7d6ec772-2a1f-11e2-b7b2-f241181ac250\boot.sdi

My difference was that I actually had 3 GUID's. The recovery directory on my C drive was under a different, probably from some old botched install. Anyway repointing worked.

Mark Wharton
Mark Wharton's picture
Offline
Acronis MVP Volunteer
MVP
Joined: 2009-08-15
Posts: 2122

Chris:

You're welcome. Glad you got your Win PE working again.

__________________

Acronis TI 9, TI 10, TI 2011, TI 2013, TI 2014, TI2015, TI 2016, DD 10, DD 11, DD12 user. Amateur Radio K0LO

heroez1
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2017-04-21
Posts: 2
Mark, you right
I have solved my problem using the same cd repair, the problem is in BIOS using EFI. However many thanks