71342: 2015 & 2016 versions --How to save a non-scheduled task.

18 replies [Last post]
GroverH
GroverH's picture
Offline
Legend
Joined: 2009-08-15
Posts: 11298

Part I: Create a 2015 Non-scheduled task.

There is no permanent shutoff switch in either 2014 or 2015 versions but the user does have controls to save each task as "non-scheduled."

If you want the task to be non-scheduled, you have to save each task using the "do not schedule" option.
It is also possible to edit a scheduled task and change it to non-scheduled, but it is much better to save the task as "non-scheduled" during the original creation.

Upon completion of the task creation, DO NOT click on the Save/"Backup Now" option. Instead, click on the adjacent arrow and choose the "Backup later" option.



Part II: To change an existing 2015 task from scheduled to non-scheduled via the edit option.-

1. From main Backups window, select/click the scheduled task needing changing to non-scheduled.

2. Click OPERATIONS BUTTON in lower left corner.

3. Click EDIT settings option.

4. Click OPTIONS button lower left.

5. Click the "DO NOT SCHEDULE" OPTION.

6. Click ADVANCED SETTING GEAR WHEEL.
...........Scroll down the listing just to determine whether any of the advanced settings needs changing.
...........Many prefer that the bottom most "if missed" option be unchecked.

7. To save the "do not schedule' changes, click the OK button (lower right).

8. To save the task changes, click the SAVE button (lower right).

===================================================
If you followed the preceding edit instructions above, the selected task has been changed from "scheduled" to a "non-scheduled" task
and need to be run manually in order for backups to occur.

HOWEVER, due to a bug in 2015, the change to "non-scheduled" will not appear on the screen.
The display screen will still show the task as "scheduled even though it is actually now a "non-scheduled" task.

To get the display screen to show the task as its correct "non-scheduled" status,
a system reboot is needed after the edit is completed.

__________________

Grovers status = Inactive    1. Grover's New Revised Guides    4.  2014 Cleanup    2015 Cleanup    5. Attachments/How   7. TI 2015 FAQ.
2. Create BKU Tasks >   2011_2012_2013    2A. Using 2014    6.  Help  2016  2015 2014  2013       8.  Stop Scan for Backups   8A.  ATIH Video's
3.  Create new disks-Guides.    9.  Register/Downloads     10.  Mustang's New Guides   11.  Les Seiler's Backup Video

paperandpen
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2013-11-24
Posts: 14

Thank you for the wealth of information you supplied. I am happy to say almost everything is clear now and I'm fairly confident I'm almost ready to do my
first back up.

I do have a few more questions regarding the info provided and just want more general info I couldn't find in enough detail to know if I need bother.

First, I followed the instructions on "how to save a non-scheduled task", but have one question near the end. After I click on "later", how do I go about starting the back up I set out to do?
Do I click "later" and then proceed to click "back up now"?
Did I miss a key point you mentioned or is that the correct path at the end? Did I misunderstand and I need to do part 1 and part 2 or is part 2 another option on how to accomplish this goal?

Second question just to be certain I've got this- as long as I'm choosing "Entire PC" there is nothing I need to configure in regards to what I want included in that. It is what it says it is- the entire pc.
If there is something I missed that I need to do , please elaborate if so.

My last question regards the bootable discs. I had made 2 copies of bootable media onto CD's follow the steps Acronis gave for that.
I heard mention on the u-tube video links that there is also an option to make a universal bootable media. Is that necessary for my situation or just an option for others who might need that ability?

For me, keeping it the most simple, but accomplishing everything I want to in this backup is essential.

I can't even begin to tell you how much I appreciate both your time and your patience!!

GroverH
GroverH's picture
Offline
Legend
Joined: 2009-08-15
Posts: 11298

If you have additional questions, post your them in the 2015 forum. This forum is used for references--not for question and answers.

Paperandpen,
I believe you got your answers in your other posting but I will coplete so this is not hanging. This is not a forum for questions & answers.

!. When a task is saved as a do backup "later", you simply click the "Back up now" option to create your backup manually whenever.

2. Selecting "Entire PC" is the best backup to have as it includes everything on the disk which is everything you need to create replacement disk.

3. If the basic TI Recovery sees both storage & target disks, it will suffice.
a. If you have difficulty seeing both disks, then the WinPE offers a few more choices.
b. If it is your intent to restore you backup to a totally different PC, then you need the additional "Restore to Dissimar Hardware with Acronis Universal Boot.

Acronis True Image 2015: Creating Acronis Bootable Media

Acronis True Image 2015: Creating Acronis Bootable Media with a Backup File

Acronis True Image 2015: Creating WinPE Media with Acronis Plug-In

Acronis True Image 2015: Restoring to Dissimilar Hardware with Acronis Universal Boot

Acronis True Image 2015: Creating an Entire PC Backup

__________________

Grovers status = Inactive    1. Grover's New Revised Guides    4.  2014 Cleanup    2015 Cleanup    5. Attachments/How   7. TI 2015 FAQ.
2. Create BKU Tasks >   2011_2012_2013    2A. Using 2014    6.  Help  2016  2015 2014  2013       8.  Stop Scan for Backups   8A.  ATIH Video's
3.  Create new disks-Guides.    9.  Register/Downloads     10.  Mustang's New Guides   11.  Les Seiler's Backup Video

GroverH
GroverH's picture
Offline
Legend
Joined: 2009-08-15
Posts: 11298

2016 Version. Create Non-scheduled Task.


__________________

Grovers status = Inactive    1. Grover's New Revised Guides    4.  2014 Cleanup    2015 Cleanup    5. Attachments/How   7. TI 2015 FAQ.
2. Create BKU Tasks >   2011_2012_2013    2A. Using 2014    6.  Help  2016  2015 2014  2013       8.  Stop Scan for Backups   8A.  ATIH Video's
3.  Create new disks-Guides.    9.  Register/Downloads     10.  Mustang's New Guides   11.  Les Seiler's Backup Video

GroverH
GroverH's picture
Offline
Legend
Joined: 2009-08-15
Posts: 11298

Sample to save either scheduled or non-scheduled.  Delaying the start of a scheduled backup enables the user to create custom task names or add date/time macros so default task names are not forced upon the user. User can create their own names but still stuck with the ending suffix which has been added to the last several new releases.

https://forum.acronis.com/system/files/forum/2014/11/71342/save_new_task...

 

AttachmentSize
save_new_tasks.jpg 40.32 KB
__________________

Grovers status = Inactive    1. Grover's New Revised Guides    4.  2014 Cleanup    2015 Cleanup    5. Attachments/How   7. TI 2015 FAQ.
2. Create BKU Tasks >   2011_2012_2013    2A. Using 2014    6.  Help  2016  2015 2014  2013       8.  Stop Scan for Backups   8A.  ATIH Video's
3.  Create new disks-Guides.    9.  Register/Downloads     10.  Mustang's New Guides   11.  Les Seiler's Backup Video

GroverH
GroverH's picture
Offline
Legend
Joined: 2009-08-15
Posts: 11298

Work in progress.How to save a task without running a backup. Task can be renamed prior to running first backup


__________________

Grovers status = Inactive    1. Grover's New Revised Guides    4.  2014 Cleanup    2015 Cleanup    5. Attachments/How   7. TI 2015 FAQ.
2. Create BKU Tasks >   2011_2012_2013    2A. Using 2014    6.  Help  2016  2015 2014  2013       8.  Stop Scan for Backups   8A.  ATIH Video's
3.  Create new disks-Guides.    9.  Register/Downloads     10.  Mustang's New Guides   11.  Les Seiler's Backup Video

Jorge Cervantes
Offline
Forum Member
Joined: 2010-04-08
Posts: 67

GroverH,

I freshly installed 2016 build 6027.  I tried to set "non-scheduled task" as you posted.  I could not bring up  "Disk backup option" by clicking or right clicking on the right side destination box.   Please see the attachment.

 

 

AttachmentSize
ati_01.jpg 138.13 KB
Jorge Cervantes
Offline
Forum Member
Joined: 2010-04-08
Posts: 67

GroverH,

please ignore the above post.  I figured out how to set  "non-scheduled task". I did it.

Now my main question is how to change the name of  backup tib files.  As shown in the attachment ati_2. jpg, I clicked the downward arrow in the right side circle.  I see "rename" (along with Clone settings and Delete).     When I clikced the "Rename", folder name is highlighted (i.e., C-Drive (C)).   See attahcment ati_3.jpg.  The rename is for changing folder name.  How can I change the name of tib names?  Thanks.

AttachmentSize
ati_02.jpg 166.8 KB
ati_03.jpg 161.49 KB
GroverH
GroverH's picture
Offline
Legend
Joined: 2009-08-15
Posts: 11298

The function of the "Rename" option is change the name of the backup task,  and the task name is what is used as the name of tib backup file.

Refer this link in total.

https://forum.acronis.com/forum/104212

__________________

Grovers status = Inactive    1. Grover's New Revised Guides    4.  2014 Cleanup    2015 Cleanup    5. Attachments/How   7. TI 2015 FAQ.
2. Create BKU Tasks >   2011_2012_2013    2A. Using 2014    6.  Help  2016  2015 2014  2013       8.  Stop Scan for Backups   8A.  ATIH Video's
3.  Create new disks-Guides.    9.  Register/Downloads     10.  Mustang's New Guides   11.  Les Seiler's Backup Video

Theresa Orosz
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2012-10-14
Posts: 9

Hi  Grover

 

thank  you  so  much  for  your  assistance   and  the  detailed  tutorial.   I  have   had  success.   Really  appreciate  your  help  I  was  going  around  in  circles  for  over  a  week  trying  to  get  this  to  work.   I  had  been  successful   previously  but  then  all of  a  sudden   It  would  not  work.

 

Theresa  Orosz

Theresa Orosz
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2012-10-14
Posts: 9

Hello  again

 

I   get  all  the  way  to  the   end  (almost)   and   choose  later then nothing  happens,   if  I  click  backup  now    it  goes  into  queue  mode.   I  have  tried  this  many  times  always  same  result.    I  have  version 2015

 

I   set  it  up  as  a   DO NOT  SCHEDULE.   and  choose  settings.    should  i  save  this  or  is  it  automatically  saved   before   I  go  to  the  next  step.

 

Thanks   for   any  help 

 

Theresa  Orosz

Bobbo_3C0X1
Bobbo_3C0X1's picture
Offline
Acronis MVP Volunteer
MVP
Joined: 2013-02-27
Posts: 5728

Theresa,

Can you post a couple of screenshots?  Backup jobs should only get que'd if another one is actively running.  If there are no backup jobs in progress and you manually kick off a new backup, it should start to run at that time.  Granted, there may be a little delay if the system is low on resources or the system is scanning to check for file changes that need to be backed up, but it's usually not very long before it starts.  

Products: True Image, Snap Deploy
System: Motherboard: GA-Z170X-Gaming 3 / CPU: i5 6600K (OC 4.3Ghz) / Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 (OC 3000 Mhz) / NVMEs: Samsung 950PRO, MyDigital BPX / SSDs: OCZ Vertex 4, PNY XLR8 / HDs: WD Black / OS: Win 10 Pro x64 / NAS: WD MyCloud 4Tb
Theresa Orosz
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2012-10-14
Posts: 9

I   have  followed  the instructions   but   it  comes  up  the   same  and now  I am getting atask not  executed.

AttachmentSize
task_not_executed.jpg 420.89 KB
Theresa Orosz
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2012-10-14
Posts: 9

Another screen shot

AttachmentSize
backup_now.jpg 408.8 KB
GroverH
GroverH's picture
Offline
Legend
Joined: 2009-08-15
Posts: 11298

It appears that you could have several issues going. The topic you have posted in is about how to create a task as a non-scheduled task, as opposed to creating a task which immmediately runs a backup. Some users want to run their backup at their convenience rather than on a schedule which is the purpose of my reference only posting.

The illustration is designed  so that you create a new task. Make all the settings and then click the "Later" option.  If the scheduling option is set to "Do no schedule" and you click the "LATER" option, clicking the late option is what saves the task.  Once task is saved, then you click the "Back up Now" whenever to run that specific  backup task to create a backup of the specific data you selected to be backed up. They should not go into Queque unless your already have a backup running.  On any task whick is a "scheduled" task, edit that task and look at the scheduler setttings to make sure the option "run only when idle" is NOT checked.  This option should be unchecked.

Reviewing your attachment seems to indicate you have more than usual number of tasks.  Each task is intended to be rerun multiple times as long as the target data being saved is the same.  A new task is not needed each time you run a backup.  The only time a new task is needed is when you wish backup something different than covered in the other task.

It appears you "may" have many tasks with the same name.  It is best that each task name differ slightly and that the each task have its own target folder so each task name is unique and there is no intermixing of tib files. All the tib files from a single specific task is best kept in its own unque folder   Individual folders is not a requirement but it saves a lot of confusion when each task is kept in separate storage folders.

Here is a couple links which could be helpful.

http://forum.acronis.com/forum/100416

http://forum.acronis.com/forum/64640

You may have additional questions and need additional help.  As  you have posted in a non-question and answer forum,
why not create a new posting in the 2015 forum and explain the problems you are having.  It would help if you would take one task which is not working and post pictures of the backup scheme as well as pictures of the target storage folder so we can get an idea of how the backups are being initiated. My examples (inside the links above) of GH11, GH12 and GH13 provide ideas on how to configure backup tasks  where you want repetitive backups of the same data.

2015 forum to post additional questions.
https://forum.acronis.com/forums/acronis-true-image-home-discussions/acr...

If your 2015 installation is an upgrade from a prior version, you may best be served by doing an uninstall using the TI Cleanup utiliity (my signature link #4) and start over with all new tasks designed the way YOU want them.

__________________

Grovers status = Inactive    1. Grover's New Revised Guides    4.  2014 Cleanup    2015 Cleanup    5. Attachments/How   7. TI 2015 FAQ.
2. Create BKU Tasks >   2011_2012_2013    2A. Using 2014    6.  Help  2016  2015 2014  2013       8.  Stop Scan for Backups   8A.  ATIH Video's
3.  Create new disks-Guides.    9.  Register/Downloads     10.  Mustang's New Guides   11.  Les Seiler's Backup Video

Theresa Orosz
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2012-10-14
Posts: 9

Hello  Grover

 

Thank  you  again  for  your  response   Where  do  I  find  your  signature  Link # 4.    I  Just  purchased  the  upgrade  special  offer  package for  2016    But   would  like  to  try  the  uninstall  and  clean  up  before    upgrading  to  2016.   You  have  given  me  a  lot  of   really  good  information  and  thank  you.     I have  had  success  with   the  backup  prior   to  the   last   few  months  and   I  want  to  get  back  to  having  success  again.    I  do  like  and  trust  Acronis   and   with  people  like  you  that  give  us  help   really  makes   a  difference  that  you   go  that  extra  mile  to  help  us.

 

Thanks  Grover.

 

Theresa  Orosz

Bobbo_3C0X1
Bobbo_3C0X1's picture
Offline
Acronis MVP Volunteer
MVP
Joined: 2013-02-27
Posts: 5728

Check the bottom of Grovers last post ... #4 :).  It's also #3 in my signature (bottom of this post).

Products: True Image, Snap Deploy
System: Motherboard: GA-Z170X-Gaming 3 / CPU: i5 6600K (OC 4.3Ghz) / Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 (OC 3000 Mhz) / NVMEs: Samsung 950PRO, MyDigital BPX / SSDs: OCZ Vertex 4, PNY XLR8 / HDs: WD Black / OS: Win 10 Pro x64 / NAS: WD MyCloud 4Tb
Theresa Orosz
Offline
Beginner
Joined: 2012-10-14
Posts: 9

Hi Grover

 

I  still  get  the  message  backup  queued   and  it  appears   like  it  is  working but  it  never  seems  to  complete   tried  again  last  night  and  left  computer  on   with  message  to  shut  down  when  job  completed.   about  16  hours  later  when  I  checked,   computer  still on  and   still  in  queued  mode.  So  got  email  about  a   sale  to  update  to  2016   plus  one  extra  copy   so  I  purchased  it.

To  get  rid  of  all  the  notices   of  backup on  left  side  of  menu  should  I  uninstall  2015  and  then  install  the  update  2016   and   will  this  cure  this  issue  I  am  having  with  the  queued  mode.

I  went  a  step  further  and   went  into  the  registry  to  do  a  search   because  when  I  shut  down  I   get  this  message 

Acronis  Total  Image   is   terminating the  current  operations, please wait.  The  computer will be  turned of  automatically in  about  two  minutes.

I  also  found  this  in  the  registry   and  could  this  be  the  source  of  the  problem

 

I  change  the  ?  mark  to  :   in  each  case.

 

Thanks

 

Theresa  Orosz

AttachmentSize
acronis_registry_entry.jpg 71.78 KB
GroverH
GroverH's picture
Offline
Legend
Joined: 2009-08-15
Posts: 11298

Teresa,

Your wrote "Acronis  Total  Image   is   terminating the  current  operations, please wait.  The  computer will be  turned of  automatically in  about  two  minutes. "  Note this is a routine message.  You will also get this in 2016 version.

If you want to delete one of the listings along the left margin of main menu. Right click on the selected one and choose the Delete option and you will be offered the option to delete all (task & backup) or delete just the settings.

In view of your problems, I would again suggest you run the 2015 TI Cleanup utilitiy, as per my signature link #4 below.

This cleanup tool will both delete the install and do some cleanup if other Acronis stuff exists.  This will get rid of all the tasks (but not backups) so you will need to recreate all your tasks again after the new install.

 

__________________

Grovers status = Inactive    1. Grover's New Revised Guides    4.  2014 Cleanup    2015 Cleanup    5. Attachments/How   7. TI 2015 FAQ.
2. Create BKU Tasks >   2011_2012_2013    2A. Using 2014    6.  Help  2016  2015 2014  2013       8.  Stop Scan for Backups   8A.  ATIH Video's
3.  Create new disks-Guides.    9.  Register/Downloads     10.  Mustang's New Guides   11.  Les Seiler's Backup Video