9449: An attempt at a tutorial for creation of WinPE bootable media using Acronis WinPE ISO Builder from Plus Pack

59 replies [Last post]
Gary Darsey
Regular Poster

This is an attempt at a tutorial at creating WinPE bootable media.  I have tried to paste images into this editor without success, so I will try to attached JPEGs - sorry if this is not convenient, but I am new at this activity.

This tutorial assumes that the Plus Pack has been installed.  It also assumes that the Microsoft Windows AIK has been installed.  With only a minor (but important, I feel) exception, nothing is altered from a fresh installation.

Acronis very thoughtfully includes a version of the A43 File Management Utility with BartPE plug-in (which is also used for the WinPE build).  THIS IS A GREAT UTILITY, and can be updated to the latest release very easily.  If you don't think having the lastest A43 is important, just ignore this part of the tutorial.

Download the latest A43 from it's home on the web http://alterion.us/a43/ and install it.

Replace the A43-related files that appear in C:\Program Files\Acronis\TrueImageHome\BartPE\Files with the ones from the A43 installation. 

The A43 File Management Utility is very useful in the WinPE environment, which is command line based, and Windows Explorer won't run.  Again, you don't need to update these files - this can be done later when you start to enjoy customizing your WinPE build.

This initial tutorial is aimed at "Creating the PE 2 or PE 3 ISO with the plug-in from scratch" as mentioned on page 132 of the manual, section 15.3.2.  These procedures were completed on my "vintage" XP Pro SP3 machine using PE 2.

The first matter to take care of is creating the Windows PE Build Environment.  This is done via command line interface.  As this build will not include any customization, creating the build environment will be the ONLY command line activity required (in case you have an aversion to CLI).