Skip to main content

Many duplicated files with filenames that are appended with the user's name & date

Thread needs solution
Beginner
Posts: 2
Comments: 1

Hi,

Experiencing an issue with our Acronis Access Advance 7 where we have a user who has access to a number of shared folders which are sync'ed to her OS X client (Yosemite, running Acronis client version 7).

Her Acronis continually creates duplicates of files that are sync'ed to her. The duplicated file is then uploaded back to the shared folder and the filename is appended with her name and date. (see screenshots attached).

It's as if the user is saving a different version of the file, but they aren't. You'll also notice the date that the original file was uploaded is often the exact same time as the duplicate was uploaded as well. Bizarre.

Has anyone seen this before or have any troubleshooting ideas?

Any help or advice would be appreciated, thanks.

Attachment Size
compnow_acronis_access.png 92.85 KB
compnow_acronis_access.png 40.96 KB
0 Users found this helpful
Forum Member
Posts: 0
Comments: 51

Hi! We've introduced a new conflict resolution functionality to ensure that no data is lost when multiple users are making changes to the same files. Conflict resolution is in effect only when new content is added to the file - moving, copying and renaming a file will not trigger it.

Please take a look at the following article http://www.acronis.com/en-us/support/documentation/AcronisAccessAdvanced_7.0/#32678.html and let us know if you have any further questions.

Beginner
Posts: 2
Comments: 1

Hi Mikhail,

Thanks for your reply and details on the new conflict resolution feature.

However, I don't believe this feature is working correctly.

Even when the user has READ-ONLY access only, she still managed to create duplicate files that are appended with her name. Furthermore, if she is ever prompted for saving a file she always clicks DONT SAVE. And if she does click SAVE, OS X prompts her where to save the file (since she can't overwrite the existing file because she has read-only access).

Within her Acronis Access OS X client she also has several Warnings for several different files; "Could not process update: File belongs to a read-only share".

Why is the OS X client trying to process an update to a read-only share in the first place? Something doesn't add up.

Any further information or trouble shooting steps would be appreciated, thanks.

Forum Member
Posts: 0
Comments: 51

Very interesting! This doesn't seem to be a trivial problem and requires a more thorough investigation. Could you please open a support ticket at http://www.acronis.com/mobilitysupport, so we could try to reproduce it or pass it over to our developers if needed? It would be much appreciated.

Thanks!