Skip to main content

What would cause an 'Invalid usage' error

Beginner
Posts: 8
Comments: 10

Invalid usage.

MODULE

309

MESSAGE

Backup failed

Additional info:

------------------------
Error code: 61
Module: 309
LineInfo: 0x4A8728DC8A1C95A1
Fields: {"$module":"mms_vsa64_7641"}
Message: Command has failed. Command=Backup plan 'SQL Servers'; 
------------------------
Error code: 22
Module: 309
LineInfo: 0x8D165E86FB81959B
Fields: {"$module":"mms_vsa64_7641","CommandID":"D332948D-A7A9-4E07-B76C-253DCF6E17FB"}
Message: TOL: Failed to execute the command. Backup plan 'SQL Servers'
------------------------
Error code: 22
Module: 309
LineInfo: 0x8D165E86FB81959B
Fields: {"$module":"agent_protection_addon_vsa64_7641","CommandID":"D332948D-A7A9-4E07-B76C-253DCF6E17FB"}
Message: TOL: Failed to execute the command. Backup plan 'SQL Servers'
------------------------
Error code: 41
Module: 307
LineInfo: 0xE6792A5EE190DE2C
Fields: {"$module":"agent_protection_addon_vsa64_7641"}
Message: Failed to execute the command.
------------------------
Error code: 22
Module: 309
LineInfo: 0x8D165E86FB81959B
Fields: {"$module":"mms_vsa64_7641","CommandID":"F30407D6-601F-11E0-9C67-FF46DFD72085"}
Message: TOL: Failed to execute the command. Backup workflow
------------------------
Error code: 22
Module: 309
LineInfo: 0x8D165E86FB81959B
Fields: {"$module":"gtob_backup_command_addon_vsa64_7641","CommandID":"F30407D6-601F-11E0-9C67-FF46DFD72085"}
Message: TOL: Failed to execute the command. Backup workflow
------------------------
Error code: 2
Module: 329
LineInfo: 0x8EDC81EA38FABA77
Fields: {"TraceLevel":"1","$module":"gtob_backup_command_addon_vsa64_7641","StepType":"6"}
Message: Step 'Post-backup replication/cleanup' has failed.
------------------------
Error code: 22
Module: 309
LineInfo: 0x8D165E86FB81959B
Fields: {"$module":"mms_vsa64_7641","CommandID":"FFBC7082-9C55-47D1-A6D2-1744EC8D7481"}
Message: TOL: Failed to execute the command. Replication
------------------------
Error code: 22
Module: 309
LineInfo: 0x8D165E86FB81959B
Fields: {"$module":"staging_command_vsa64_7641","CommandID":"FFBC7082-9C55-47D1-A6D2-1744EC8D7481"}
Message: TOL: Failed to execute the command. Replication
------------------------
Error code: 22
Module: 309
LineInfo: 0x8D165E86FB81959B
Fields: {"$module":"mms_vsa64_7641","CommandID":"08BE2B76-A95F-4FD4-AC32-AF26210E3A33"}
Message: TOL: Failed to execute the command. Applying retention rules
------------------------
Error code: 22
Module: 309
LineInfo: 0x8D165E86FB81959B
Fields: {"$module":"staging_command_vsa64_7641","CommandID":"08BE2B76-A95F-4FD4-AC32-AF26210E3A33"}
Message: TOL: Failed to execute the command. Applying retention rules
------------------------
Error code: 22
Module: 309
LineInfo: 0x8D165E86FB81959B
Fields: {"$module":"mms_vsa64_7641","CommandID":"4504F8D4-2727-42AB-BB4F-A42EDBB790A0"}
Message: TOL: Failed to execute the command. Tol::IsolateCommand
------------------------
Error code: 22
Module: 309
LineInfo: 0x8D165E86FB81959B
Fields: {"$module":"service_process_vsa64_7641","CommandID":"45D64182-5DF4-4AE0-9D42-55E1C3DB942B"}
Message: TOL: Failed to execute the command. Applying retention rules
------------------------
Error code: 22
Module: 309
LineInfo: 0x8D165E86FB81959B
Fields: {"$module":"staging_command_vsa64_7641","CommandID":"45D64182-5DF4-4AE0-9D42-55E1C3DB942B"}
Message: TOL: Failed to execute the command. Applying retention rules
------------------------
Error code: 217
Module: 161
LineInfo: 0x0B320396ADFE3D3E
Fields: {"IsReturnCode":"1","$module":"disk_bundle_vsa64_7641"}
Message: Failed to delete the backups.
------------------------
Error code: 3
Module: 4
LineInfo: 0x7F118BD874BD9F25
Fields: {"Archive3Code":"5099","$module":"archive3_adapter_vsa64_7641","Name":"OxleySQL02-00EA03D3-2600-4D15-A08E-40E31962E61E-50079DFD-EBDE-5EDA-8E97-0EFBE39D8B7EA"}
Message: Error occurred while writing to the file.
------------------------
Error code: 31
Module: 4
LineInfo: 0xC8D8731CE106F9D6
Fields: {"$module":"archive3_adapter_vsa64_7641"}
Message: Invalid usage.

Beginner
Posts: 8
Comments: 10

Top

Seems to be related to retention

Error

Command has failed. Command=Applying retention rules;

Invalid usage.

 

Retention is set at the default:

"Monthly: 6 months
Weekly: 4 weeks
Daily: 7 days"

Forum Star
Posts: 22
Comments: 2534

Top

Hi,

The issue is related to backup format v12 processing which has its specifics depending on type of backup location. Can you please clarify where you save the backups to? Is it network share/cloud/location managed by Storage Node or something else? One possible workaround is to switch to Backup format v11 - you'll need to create a new backup plan and set Backup Options->Backup format to version 11. If this doesn't help then please contact our support team for assistance.

Thank you.

Beginner
Posts: 8
Comments: 10

Top

Hi

Thanks for the reply.

The backup location is a QNAP NAS located on the same LAN, same subnet, no VLANs.

This is happening on five of my twelves backup plans, all backing up to the same location.

Thanks

Forum Star
Posts: 22
Comments: 2534

Top

Hi,

Thank you for the details. Please also check your private messages on forum - I've sent you some more instructions which should help us figure out the issue quicker.

Thank you.

Beginner
Posts: 8
Comments: 10

Top

Thanks I sent the requested information - hopefully I have collected the correct logs.

Forum Star
Posts: 22
Comments: 2534

Top

Hi,

I've sent you updated instructions in the private message, please check and reply once you have a chance. From now on let's continue working in private messages thread and I'll post the final outcome here in public, only when we find the root cause.

Thank you.

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 2

Top

Hi.

 

Is there a update on that issue? I am having the same problem, also with a QNAP NAS, and all my 10 backupplans are failing when retention has to be used. I am currently working around by manually moving the old backups when a full backup is due.

 

Kind regards

In reply to by Klaus Hofmann

Beginner
Posts: 8
Comments: 10

Top

Hi,

My 'invalid usage' errors disappeared when I reconfigured my setup.

I have ABR12.5 Virtual and had a poor deployment: one virtual appliance directly deployed to one of my ESXi hosts and one installed on my Windows vCenter installation.

When I removed the vCenter agent and deployed the virtual appliance to both of my ESXi servers individually, the issue disappeared.

Regards,

Christian

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 2

Top

Hi Christian.

Thnx for the info, even if its not what i was hoping to hear :(

In my scenario i have 10 physical workstations and all jobs will fail when the new chain is starting and the old backupchain has to be deleted due to my retentionsettings. Guess i have to look further into it.

 

Regards

 

Klaus

Forum Star
Posts: 22
Comments: 2534

Top

Hi Klaus,

Currently the only known workaround is to switch to Backup format to version 11 as recommended in my comment above. In either case please submit a support ticket to be informed when the proper resolution is available.

Thank you.