Skip to main content

Incremental Backup to the cloud

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 1

It appears that Acronis does not do incremental backup to the cloud. When a backup is done to the cloud it overwrites the file. So if a file is corrupted or accidentally changed and then gets backed up to the cloud then the back up is corrupt or changed and so the file is lost. Is this right? If so then the files are not really being backed up.

I now have my local directory with my incremental backups, backed up to the cloud. This seems a but inelegant but appears to be the only way to do it.

Any comments?

Forum Moderator
Posts: 96
Comments: 3597

Hello Stephen,

Welcome to Acronis user forums! In fact all backups to the Cloud except the very first one contain only changes (incremental). This algorithm is explained by the different archive type created in the Cloud as compared to the local backups. So, regardless of the backup scheme, the first task run produces a full backup; subsequent task runs produce incremental backups.

Addressing your concern about corrupted files: the old backup versions are not overwritten, in other words when you create backup of the file, then it gets corrupted, you create another backup - in the end you will have two different backups containing two file versions and can revert to any of them. 

Thank you,

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 1

Thanks for the reply. I see that now. It does backup the file as I expected, and there are indeed multiple versions of a backed up file. I think Acronis needs to make this more evident, perhaps by having the selection for Backup Scheme available to view for cloud backups, so that we can see that incremental is already selected

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 1

Hello Ekaterina, can you please tell me where I can find this incremental back up. I have logged into my online account and can only see the one from last night. My local PC dashboard says it backs up the complete data (always about the same GB every night), not just the changes. So I only have one backup to see and download in case of recovery. 

My local settings are: Delete versions older than 6 months & Store no more than 15 recent file versions. But online I cannot see these 15 versions in my dashboard plus the original. I am using True Image 2017, does this make a difference?

Thanks
Sara

 

Forum Moderator
Posts: 96
Comments: 3597

Hello Sara,

welcome to Acronis forums! If you still have Acronis True Image 2017 installed on your PC, there might be synchronization issues with the dashboard. I'd recommend upgrading to Acronis True Image 2019 in any case, as this version is available for download in your account with an active Acronis True Image Subscription and there have been many fixes and enhancements since the version 2017. Follow https://kb.acronis.com/content/2900 to download an installation file of the latest product version, then run it to upgrade your current installation (it's recommended to disable the anti-virus software during installation, as it may block some components from correct updating). Once installation is complete, start the application, sign out from your account and sign in back. Check if recovery points are displayed correctly. Should the issue persist, please raise a support ticket at https://www.acronis.com/en-eu/support/contact-us/