Skip to main content

Acronis Hardware Compatibility Tool for Tape Devices - Finished with errors. IBM ULTRIUM-HH4 G9N1

Thread needs solution
Beginner
Posts: 5
Comments: 13

Hello, I did the LTO 4 drive test and ended up with errors. Generally, on Acronis 11.7 I didn't have problems with LTO 4, now on 12.5, unfortunately, I do not stop errors. I can't delete the tape, scanning ends with errors. Deleting the tape after 60 minutes - no progress.

Testing applications using IBM ITDT Graphical Edition - everything is correct.

Microsoft Windows [Wersja 6.1.7601]
C:\Windows\system32>F:\Downloads\acronis_tape_hcl_Windows_x64.exe
Welcome to Acronis Hardware Compatibility Tool for Tape Devices.
Next devices available for testing:
1. IBM ULTRIUM-HH4 G9N1 (9068800663):

Specify device numbers for testing separated by a comma or press Enter to check all devices: 1

Configuring tests for 'IBM ULTRIUM-HH4 G9N1 (9068800663)'
Check erasing? [y/N/c]:N
Incorrect answer.
Check erasing? [y/N/c]:n
Check tape attributes? [Y/n/c]:y
Enter size for read/write test. You can use suffixes k,M,G,T(5G): 1g
Check ejecting from drive? [Y/n/c]:y

All tests are configured. Perform testing?[Y/n/c]:y

[ TEST ] Inquiry
[ INFO ] Vendor: IBM
[ INFO ] Product: ULTRIUM-HH4
[ INFO ] Version : G9N1
[ INFO ] Serial number: 9068800663
[ PASSED ]

[ TEST ] Tape (MAM) attributes.
[ INFO ] Manufacturer: IMATION
[ INFO ] Serial number: 0E19837200
[ INFO ] Tape length: 820
[ INFO ] Tape width: 127
[ INFO ] Manufacture date: 20121110
[ INFO ] Media type: 1
[ INFO ] Media type information: 0
[ INFO ] Last write time:
[ INFO ] Cartridge information:
[ INFO ] Type: LTO
[ INFO ] Format: LTO4
[ INFO ] Capacity: 762939
[ INFO ] Write-protected: 0
[ INFO ] Application vendor:
[ INFO ] Application name:
[ INFO ] Application version:
[ INFO ] Text label:
[ INFO ] Barcode:
[ INFO ] Host name:
[ INFO ] Media pool:
[ PASSED ]

[ TEST ] Basic operations with tape.
[ INFO ] Rewinding tape.
[ ERROR ] Error 0x40005: Error occurred while searching in the file.
| line: 0xc41defba28f4d094
| file: h:\arsm2\core\backup\tape_device.cpp:215
| function: OSTapeDrive::SetPartition
| $module: acronis_tape_hcl_static_vsa64_s_9106
|
| error 0xfff0: Magistrala We/Wy została zresetowana
| line: 0xbd28fdbd64edb8f1
| file: h:\arsm2\core\common\error.cpp:307
| function: Common::Error::AddWindowsError
| code: 0x80070457
| $module: acronis_tape_hcl_static_vsa64_s_9106
[ FAILED ]

[ TEST ] Reading/writing.
[ INFO ] Rewinding tape.
[ INFO ] Trying to perform fast erase of tape.
[ INFO ] Rewinding tape.
[ INFO ] Writing data with block size 16k
[ INFO ] Bytes written: 1G
[ INFO ] Average speed: 73.1429M/sec
[ INFO ] Rewinding tape.
[ INFO ] Reading data.
[ INFO ] Read speed: 39.3846M/sec
[ INFO ] Rewinding tape.
[ INFO ] Trying to perform fast erase of tape.
[ INFO ] Rewinding tape.
[ INFO ] Writing data with block size 64k
[ INFO ] Bytes written: 1G
[ INFO ] Average speed: 73.1429M/sec
[ INFO ] Rewinding tape.
[ INFO ] Reading data.
[ INFO ] Read speed: 40.96M/sec
[ INFO ] Rewinding tape.
[ INFO ] Trying to perform fast erase of tape.
[ INFO ] Rewinding tape.
[ INFO ] Writing data with block size 1M
[ INFO ] Bytes written: 1G
[ INFO ] Average speed: 73.1429M/sec
[ INFO ] Rewinding tape.
[ INFO ] Reading data.
[ INFO ] Read speed: 40.96M/sec
[ PASSED ]

[ TEST ] Ejecting tape from drive.
[ INFO ] Ejecting tape from drive.
[ INFO ] Injecting tape into drive.
[ PASSED ]

All tests are finished.

Summary:
IBM ULTRIUM-HH4 G9N1 (9068800663): Finished with errors.

0 Users found this helpful
Support specialist
Posts: 0
Comments: 1451

#1

Hello Przemysław,

thank you for posting on Acronis forums!

The IBM ULTRIUM-HH4 G9N1 (9068800663) tape is supported and widely used by Acronis Cyber Backup 12.5 customers.

Such specific issues should be investigated and analyzed by Acronis Support engineers.

Beginner
Posts: 5
Comments: 13

#2

Welcome back. If the problem with making a copy was solved - more than 2 months after reporting the trial. I have sent logs several times - the same each time. For what? It was only a remote connection and the problem was almost solved. Almost because while recording to tape as a second location succeeds, then the replication plan itself - not.

Another thing - there is no access to copies made in Acronis 11.7 on tapes. Recently, another service technician was connecting to me remotely and well - "there is no copy, so no". A great statement - that's what I know.

After this connection, I installed Acronis 11.7 specifically - of course there are copies on Tape C, I was able to export them and read the contents of one of the files.

I installed Acronis 12.5 again, inventory, scanning:
- Tape management> Tape pools> Acronis = empty tape
- Tape devices> IBM ULTRIUM-HH4 G9N1 (9068800663) = empty tape
- Backup> Acronis Locations: The backup is still there!

Nice surprise!

Trying to export a copy - the same as AC 11.7 - doesn't go! The "Replication" action failed. The storage node cannot access backups created in an unmanaged location.

Generally, I have to say - if it wasn't for the fact that I insisted on copies on the LTO tape, I wouldn't buy this program again. You can do the same with free Cobian Backup or Windows Backup. Well, but I have an LTO drive so I'll use it. The program costs a lot - there is no technical support in Polish. Do you have so few customers from PL? Is it so hard to hire a few people who speak Polish? My English is poor, so get along with technical support from India - it's hard. At some point we switched to google translator.

I have uploaded several logs to FTP - time goes by, days go by, another person takes up the problem - and finally I hear that "copies are damaged, not on tape and that's it. Can I help you with something more?". Fortunately, I still have copies enabled in Cobian Backup and with the help of simple 7Zip scripts - if not for that, in the event of a failure I would have been without a copy.

Discharges from AC 11.7 and AC 12.5 attached - the same tape. The old program reads the copies. The new one sees them - but not in the tape corner! - but the copy cannot be exported.

Application number: [04295054] Problems witch LTO 4 [ref: _00D30Zcb._5001T1K0V12: ref]

Attachment Size
532353-180431.png 162.42 KB
532353-180432.png 90.27 KB
532353-180435.png 136.83 KB
532353-180438.png 79.63 KB
532353-180441.png 108.76 KB
532353-180442.png 127.25 KB
532353-180456.jpg 390.1 KB
532353-180459.jpg 502.39 KB
532353-180462.jpg 641.38 KB
532353-180465.jpg 768.25 KB
532353-180468.png 44.98 KB
532353-180471.png 49.93 KB
532353-180474.png 49.42 KB
532353-180477.zip 2.07 KB
Support specialist
Posts: 0
Comments: 1451

#3

Hello Przemysław.

We regret to know that you've encountered these issues with Acronis software and services.

There have been mixed several tape issues in one support case that you pointed. Thank you for bringing this case to our attention. We have escalated it to a higher level.

Beginner
Posts: 5
Comments: 13

#4

Half a year of struggle to make copies for LTO tape. All tests done with tapes.exe and IBM Tape Diagnostic Tool - tests completed successfully.

Technical support connects and all in all, it collects again the same logs that as I have already sent more than once. Suggestion - the tape is damaged. Only that the next tape and all tests are correct! I want to do replication on tape - all the time errors.

I specially spent almost EUR 1,500 on Acronis to have copies on LTO4. And as for 11.7 I didn't have any problem, so on 12.5 some mistakes all the time
- does not see old copies from 11.7 - confirmed by Acronis that in 12.5 you cannot directly recover copies made in 11.7.
- It again doesn't see the tape in the drive and needs to restart Acronis Scheduler2 Service and then the tape is visible again. And so none of this because when scanning the media some errors .....

Soon it will be 6 months from purchase, and as I still can't use the product for which I paid. In half a year I will have to spend another hundred euros on extending the service care .... And for the moment it is the functionality of the program for 1500 euros I can have for free by making copies of Windows Backup + cobian backup. All in all, it's good that I'm still making copies this way because the copy schedule has not been working for several days and I have to run them manually. Serwinas probably deleted the state schedules using the command line and despite the fact that they are visible in the program and seem to work, they do not start anyway.

"The backup did not start as scheduled. Either it was skipped automatically because the previous backup was still running or there was another unknown issue with the backup scheduler."

case number 04295054

New tape - D (fourth tape tested)

Inventory (empty log!)
09:18:55 - 09:19:07
Full inventorying (SERVER-CA.ugolesnica.local)
Status:
succeeded
Started by:
UGOLESNICA \ Administrator
Start time:
Jun 05, 2020, 09:18:55
Finish time:
Jun 05, 2020, 09:19:07
duration:
12 sec

Tape scan (empty log):
Succeeded with warnings

Part of the "Server-ca" archive is on some storage media that has not yet been rescanned.

module
67
message
Warning

Additional info:
------------------------
Error code: 57
Module: 67
LineInfo: 0x6D5C4E4040E82757
Fields: {"$ module": "storage_server_archive_manager_vsa64_14330"}
Message: Part of the archive "" Server-ca "'" is on some media that has not yet been rescanned.

Delete tape (log empty!)
10:07:42 - 12:07:11
Wiping tape (SERVER-CA.ugolesnica.local)
Status:
succeeded
Started by:
UGOLESNICA \ Administrator
Start time:
Jun 05, 2020, 10:07:42
Finish time:
Jun 05, 2020, 12:07:11
duration:
1 hrs, 59 min
Tapes:
D tape ()

Re-inventory (log empty!)

14:07:47 - 14:08:01
Full inventorying (SERVER-CA.ugolesnica.local)
Status:
succeeded
Started by:
UGOLESNICA \ Administrator
Start time:
Jun 05, 2020, 14:07:47
Finish time:
Jun 05, 2020, 14:08:01
duration:
14 sec

Re-scan tape (empty log!)

Succeeded with warnings
Windows error: (0x80070450) There is no further data on the tape
module
67
message
Re-scanning of tape media is not necessary because it is not Acronis media.

Additional info:
------------------------
Error code: 136
Module: 67
LineInfo: 0x1406F3D3BFC675B6
Fields: {"$ module": "storage_server_archive_manager_vsa64_14330"}
Message: Rescanning the tape media is not necessary because it is not Acronis media.
------------------------
Error code: 17
Module: 4
LineInfo: 0x2C28140FEE5BA62F
Fields: {"$ module": "storage_server_archive_manager_vsa64_14330"}
Message: The specified file does not exist.
------------------------
Error code: 65520
Module: 0
LineInfo: 0xBD28FDBD64EDB8F8
Fields: {"code": "2147943504", "$ module": "storage_server_archive_manager_vsa64_14330"}
Message: No further data on the tape

Running the replication plan:
2020-06-05T14: 15: 28: 707 + 02: 00 2636 I0135003A: User is running command. Command = Replication of backups; User = UGOLESNICA \ administrator; clientProfileID = AD208EDE-6829-21F0-219A-E979758CA2D5; clientSessionID = A5EE8AB6-7957-4DC8-BAF4-6D012D6D8BDF
2020-06-05T14: 15: 30: 270 + 02: 00 2052 I0135003A: User is running command. Command = replication; User = UGOLESNICA \ administrator; clientProfileID = AD208EDE-6829-21F0-219A-E979758CA2D5; clientSessionID = A5EE8AB6-7957-4DC8-BAF4-6D012D6D8BDF
2020-06-05T14: 15: 36: 684 + 02: 00 2052 I0135003B: Command has completed successfully. Command = replication;
2020-06-05T14: 15: 40: 861 + 02: 00 1108 I0135003A: User is running command. Command = Delete backups; User = UGOLESNICA \ administrator; clientProfileID = AD208EDE-6829-21F0-219A-E979758CA2D5; clientSessionID = A5EE8AB6-7957-4DC8-BAF4-6D012D6D8BDF
2020-06-05T14: 15: 58: 913 + 02: 00 1108 I0135003B: Command has completed successfully. Command = Delete backups;
2020-06-05T14: 16: 01: 092 + 02: 00 2636 I0135003B: Command has completed successfully. Command = Replication of backups;

I look in the copy - no copy, no D tape visible.

Support specialist
Posts: 0
Comments: 1451

#5

Hello Przemysław.

We are sorry to know that you still suffer from issues with tape drives. 

Issues with tapes need to be investigated by support engineers. So we thank you for your cooperation with Acronis Support Team.

We escalated your currently open case 04410096 to a higher level.

Beginner
Posts: 5
Comments: 13

#6

Since the last remote connection with your support, the backup schedule has not been working at all.

The backup operation is not decomposing
platnik_ug
 
The backup operation does not have to be on schedule. Either it was skipped automatically because the previous backup operation was still ongoing or another unknown problem occurred with the backup schedule.

I reinstalled Acronis - I did "repairs" and I still can't use LTO and my schedules don't work.

If I uninstall and install Acronis again, when creating a new copy plan, how do I guess the program will not include old copies and will count the copies again? So will it have 30 old copies and 30 new ones counted again?

Support specialist
Posts: 0
Comments: 1451

#7

Hello Przemysław.

If I uninstall and install Acronis again, when creating a new copy plan, how do I guess the program will not include old copies and will count the copies again? So will it have 30 old copies and 30 new ones counted again?

If you uninstall Acronis Management Server and clean select clean uninstall with a registry clean-up, then all your backup plans will be deleted but archives will remain. If you install back Acronis Cyber Backup components, you will need to create new backup plans which will create new backup archives.

Beginner
Posts: 5
Comments: 13

#8

Hello. After exporting tasks and importing, the harmonorgam works.

As for LTO - it works too. After various attempts and combinations, it turned out that the new tape must be manually transferred to the pool of free tapes. I do not know why these treatments were several times with sending logs, remote connections if it was such a trivia.

Support specialist
Posts: 0
Comments: 1451

#9

Hello Przemysław.

Glad to know that you've found a solution! Thanks for sharing it with other forum users.