Skip to main content

"Run Now" incremental by default - really Acronis?

Thread needs solution
Regular Poster
Posts: 34
Comments: 126

Hey there,

yes I know it´s a documented feature but why ??

If there is a plan with only full backups the expected behaviour (and I think not only for me) with pressing this button is "run the plan".....

It´s disappointing and rather annoying that a tool für several thousand bucks is not capable of doing the things it should do: run this job.
I would expect if I press this button and the plan contains full and/or differential and/or incrementals in its schedule that I get a selection which method I want and not only "just do an incremental even if the plan has no incrementals configured"

Sorry but that´s weird for me.
S.

0 Users found this helpful
Forum Member
Posts: 5
Comments: 69

#1

Hi Sven!

You can choose what backup to do (see attachment), but I know what you mean. I also did several backups with a plan containing only full backups before I realised the default "run now" is actually incremental. In my case though  it's actually better this way. Still I agree the UI indication should be clearer, instead of showing run now it should say exactly what backup will be performed by clicking on it, as well as taking into account what backup is actually in the plan and perform that by default.

As for why it hasn't been implemented this way I'm thinking it wasn't a big annoyance for most users or simply there were other more pressing issues to do.

-- Peter

Attachment Size
517589-173860.png 7.08 KB
Regular Poster
Posts: 34
Comments: 126

#2

Hey Peter,
at many points in ABA12.5 I ask myself if a professional user was ever asked before they implemented it.

The fancy frisky GUI that was ported from the consumer product seems to be more in the foreground than features needed by professionals.

It starts with such things as "run now" does not do the expected things.

Other examples? Here we go:

features for daily backup
- no WOL possible any more (it was available in 11.7)
- command after backup cannot be used to shutdown a machine as the machine does things after this point in time (e.g. replication, retention rules and validation)

database/dashboard/activities
- I cannot cleanup activities manually...all entries remain in the database
- dashboard shows wrong values (e.g. each backup is counted although retention rules keep only less)
- no migration possible between machines...if I migrate or reinstall I cannot take the "old" database with me
- activity view "most recent" does not show all activities but only the last week

scheduling and task planning
- no staging of plans possible (e.g. start an off-host task after another task has finished)
- off-host tasks cannot be cloned
- off-host tasks cannot be scheduled to the first of a month

I think a professional tool should be capable of doing this

S.

 

 

 

Support specialist
Posts: 0
Comments: 839

#3

Hello Sven,

thank you for posting on Acronis forums.

It starts with such things as "run now" does not do the expected things.

Incremental backups are run much often and take less time in comparison to other types. That is why they are selected as a default value for a "Run now" button.

- no WOL possible any more (it was available in 11.7)

It is available here in Backup plan Schedule:

- command after backup cannot be used to shutdown a machine as the machine does things after this point in time (e.g. replication, retention rules and validation)

These could be added as feature requests in future versions

- I cannot cleanup activities manually...all entries remain in the database

What is the purpose of deleting entries of activities?

- dashboard shows wrong values (e.g. each backup is counted although retention rules keep only less)

Please approve it with screenshots.

- no migration possible between machines...if I migrate or reinstall I cannot take the "old" database with me

What kind of migration do you need? Do you mean AMS database?

- activity view "most recent" does not show all activities but only the last week

It is normal to see only last week's activities when you select most recent.

- no staging of plans possible (e.g. start an off-host task after another task has finished)

What do you mean by staging here? All plans could be run consistently one after another, it is impossible to run them in parallel.

- off-host tasks cannot be cloned

A good idea for another feature request. However, an off-host plan could be exported/imported and edited.

- off-host tasks cannot be scheduled to the first of a month

It is now possible the following way:

 

 

 

 

Regular Poster
Posts: 34
Comments: 126

#4

Hello Maria

That is why they are selected as a default value for a "Run now" button.

That makes no sense for me for a plan that is configured to have ONLY full backups.
This messes up tha backup chain and generates unexpected behaviour.

It is available here in Backup plan Schedule:

Sorry, but that´s wrong.
Documentation states:

Wake up from the sleep or hibernate mode to start a scheduled backup (disabled by default)
This option is effective only for machines running Windows. This option is not effective when the machine is powered off, i.e. the option does not employ the Wake-on-LAN functionality.

These could be added as feature requests in future versions

Sorry, but I was informed in december 2016 (!!!) that there is already ABR-111317 but this is postponed each time I ask.
Very disappointing......

What is the purpose of deleting entries of activities?

The purpose is cleanup as mentioned.
Each time I apply a plan or logon to the machine an entry is generated.
Each time a plan goes wrong an entry is generated.
And if me as the admin decides "yes this was an entry that I do not need anymore" I want to be able to delete it.
Even Windows allows me in the Eventlog to delete entries....
In the other way round: the database is growing and growing with information no one needs any more.

Why does anyone like to keep activity logs from 2 years ago for backups that have been removed by retention rules....

Please approve it with screenshots.

I can create screenshots this evening.
In the meantime you can look at my thread Dashboard....2 issues.....
There is shown that even a deleted backup is still shown....

What kind of migration do you need? Do you mean AMS database?

For example if I have to reinstall the AMS there is actually no method to keep the database.
I can only do a new installation and all database entries are lost.

It is normal to see only last week's activities when you select most recent.

Up to now I understood this as sorting and not as filtering/scope limitation, but okay, I will remember this.

What do you mean by staging here? All plans could be run consistently one after another, it is impossible to run them in parallel.

As written I have 2 plans: one backup plan that runs on agent A and a second plan (off-host, validation) that runs on agent B.
How can I control that the off-host plan on agent B starts after the backup plan on agent A has finished.

Is it guaranteed that on one machine only one plan is executed at the same time?
I.e. if I have a backup plan and a separate validation plan that run on one agent are they executed one after the other?
At least plans that backup VMs on a host run in parallel.....

A good idea for another feature request. However, an off-host plan could be exported/imported and edited.

I will give this a try. Thanks.
 

It is now possible the following way:

Okay sorry I overlooked this feature.
 

What would be an awesome feature was to schedule validation of all backups and only the last backup in one plan.
E.g. Validation of all backups each saturday and other days only the last backup....

 

Regards.

S.

Regular Poster
Posts: 34
Comments: 126

#5

Maria,
I did some tests on my production system (most recent build).

I must apologize...It seems as if the dashboard now counts the correct number ob recovery points.
Sorry for that - an older build had this issue.

 

But whats a bit weird:
- If I export an off.host validation plan and import it, it creates a new plan with a name that is the same as the old one and has an addition "copy".

- If I export a backup plan and import it....it overwrites the existing...

S.

 

 

 

Support specialist
Posts: 0
Comments: 839

#6

Hello Sven.

Thanks to my colleague Ekaterina, I could provide you with a list planned implementations which are already registered for Acronis Cyber Backup 12.5 in accordance with your feature requests :

  • RM-356  Wake-On-Lan
  • ABR-111317 Post command that runs after all operations in the backup plan (for first agent)
  • ABR-111722  Cleanup activities manually  
  • RM-366  Integration of AMS migration tool from one system to another

However, I should admit that none of them is planned to be implemented soon.

 

Regular Poster
Posts: 34
Comments: 126

#7

Maria,
thanks for this information but I think it is unbderstandable that my trust in the implementation is quite low.

ABR-111317 is an issue open since 2016 and so honestly spoken I do not believe, that these features will be implemented before 2021.....

And you can judge yourself how my level of satisfaction is....We pay a lot of bucks for maintenance, but features that were dropped from 11.7 to 12.5 are not planned to come back soon? Sounds odd for me.

Maybe proferssional users are no longer in the scope of Acronis?

S.
 

Support specialist
Posts: 0
Comments: 839

#8

Hello Sven.

What concerns ABR-111317, I should note that there are still too little request for this feature - that is why it is not one of the highest priority.

I have added your voice and quoted your note to this feature request.

Regular Poster
Posts: 34
Comments: 126

#9

What concerns ABR-111317, I should note that there are still too little request for this feature - that is why it is not one of the highest priority.

Really ?
Then please to a search (btw. ths search in the forum works also somewhat crappy...only one page wirh results and other stuff....) in the forum beginning with 11.5 and there are a lot of thereadas regarding the suprise that "after backup" ist not after job and that a workaround is needed to shutdown a machine after the plan has finished.

I can make a thread with an election ;)

 

The main issue regarding these open issues is:
No one can see it but Acronis.

So how can a customer vote for a feature if the customer does not know which features requests are open ?!?!?
So by this method it is always very simple to say "too little request" as we do not know what we can request....

 

you find alot

Support specialist
Posts: 0
Comments: 839

#10

Hello Sven.

We register every request made here on Acronis forums or via Acronis Support cases from a real customer with respective licenses in his/her account. We add such requests to a feature that is already registered as votes.

Moreover, you are welcome to submit your ideas and suggestions at Acronis web site -> Support -> Submit Feedback

I would appreciate your help if you could find any request on this feature submitted here on forums which has not been registered yet.

The main issue regarding these open issues is:
No one can see it but Acronis.

This is information is for internal use. 

I have addressed your questions on ABR-111317 directly to the Product Manager and will get back to you as soon as receive a response.

Regular Poster
Posts: 34
Comments: 126

#11

Maria,

any news from Product Management ?

Regards
Sven

Support specialist
Posts: 0
Comments: 839

#12

Hello Sven!

The ABR-111317 feature is planned to be added in future versions. However, the exact timeframes are still unknown. We should continue gathering votes for this request.

Regular Poster
Posts: 34
Comments: 126

#13

Maria,
sorry to be that hard now, but this feature is planned since 2016 (!!).
It´s postponed all the time and so - for me - this is a dead feature request.

I do not believe that this will ever be realized.

If for the Acronis PMs this feature is not relevant, well.....other tools support this.

Acronis has NO solution to run a script, batch or anything else at the end of a task....
So for me....a big drawback.

 

S.

 

 

Support specialist
Posts: 0
Comments: 839

#14

Hello Sven.

This feature is in the product roadmap which means that it will be implemented in the future.

Regular Poster
Posts: 34
Comments: 126

#15

Maria,
Sorry, but this feature is in the roadmap since 2016.

I know it´s not up to you when a feature will be implemented so please do not take it personally, but as I get the answer since 2016 that this feature will be implemented in the future....well I feel a bit being fooled.

 

S.