Skip to main content

Re-registering agent after wipe and reload machine.

Thread solved
Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 0

Hello all. I haven't been able to find a thread to answer my question. If you know of a post where this is addressed, please let me know.

 

How do I register a machine that previously had Acronis Cloud installed, so when it is registered, it does NOT come up as a new agent in the console, but comes up again as the agent it was before?

I had to wipe and reload a machine that had Acronis cloud. I re installed the agent and in the console, it comes up as a new agent, leaving the previous agent as offline. This is important because I am trying to recover remotely (away from client site), from a local backup (external USB drive), but the console does not allow me to recover and is shows:

"No access to backups

The backups are in a local folder of machine 'computer-name', which is offline. To recover the data, bring the machine online or use bootable media. "

I want to do this remotely, so to not use the bootable media.

I hope this is understandable, so if you have any input, I'll really appreciate it.

Let me know if you have any question to provide more information.

Regards.

0 Users found this helpful
Forum Support specialist
Posts: 0
Comments: 2016

Hello Sergio,

Welcome to Acronis forums!

I had to wipe and reload a machine that had Acronis cloud. I re installed the agent and in the console, it comes up as a new agent, leaving the previous agent as offline.

You've wiped this machine but have not deleted it in AMS. Thus, its ID is still present in AMS database and shown as offline. Then you've installed a new Agent which has been assigned another ID. There are now two IDs of Agents that was/is installed on that PC in AMS.

You can delete the old Agent in AMS.

The backups are in a local folder of machine 'computer-name', which is offline.

Please check the respective backup location. If it contains an old machine name, please change it to a new name.