Skip to main content

Recovery does not see TIBX files

Thread needs solution
Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 2

I have just created a new backup and noticed that the file format of the backup has changed from TIB to TIBX. When I boot into the recovery environment, the TIB files from older backups show up but the TIBX file from my most recent backup does not show up.  If I need to recover my computer from a crash, I will not be able to access the most important backup.  Why doesn't the recovery environment see the TIBX file and how can I fix it?

0 Users found this helpful
Forum Hero
Posts: 207
Comments: 5062

With the *.tibx architecture incremental backups are stored in the same file as the full backup. Therefore, you need to select the most recent *.tibx file (although the process will be similar for any file), you then select the appropriate recovery point - doing so using the Windows app is easy, there is a drop-down list, however when using the recovery media it is not as obvious. A quick look at the user guide did not provide any help on how to do so. My recollection (and it is a few weeks since I last attempted this) is that once you have selected the file, you then need to select what you want to restore, and then after a while there will there will be a change towards the top of the screen, when then allows you to select the backup date from a calendar, you click in a day, and it will show backups made on that day -  there may be none.

Sorry about the confused description but as I said on am doing it from memory.

Ian

Legend
Posts: 110
Comments: 28788

I have just created a new backup and noticed that the file format of the backup has changed from TIB to TIBX. When I boot into the recovery environment, the TIB files from older backups show up but the TIBX file from my most recent backup does not show up.  If I need to recover my computer from a crash, I will not be able to access the most important backup.  Why doesn't the recovery environment see the TIBX file and how can I fix it?

You need to use rescue media created by the latest version of Acronis (ACPHO or ATI 2021) to ensure that all backup files are seen correctly.

Older versions of ATI before 2020 do not recognise and cannot work with .tibx files and will report them as being corrupt if accessed.

See the following KB documents published by Acronis with regards to .tibx files.

KB 63518: Acronis True Image 2020: do not delete first tibx file

KB 63227: Acronis True Image: Do not delete .TIB or .TIBX files outside of Acronis True Image

KB 63498: Acronis True Image 2020-2021: new tibx backup format FAQ

KB 63425: Acronis True Image: Limitations of tibx backups

KB 63516: Acronis True Image 2020: Incremental backups do not create separate files when using new backup format

KB 63445: Acronis True Image 2020: how to view and manage backup versions in new backup format

KB 63444: Acronis True Image 2020 and 2021: tibx backups in local destinations

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 2

I hope the developers get the following feedback.  After fiddling with the recovery software for a few hours (no exaggeration) I learned that the Recovery option will automatically find backups with the older TIB extension but till not automatically discover TIBX files.  I was able to use the Browse function to locate the TiBX files.

This is the part I hope the Acronis Developers become aware of.  I clicked on the TIBX file and was returned to the Recovery screen.  It was empty and said that no backups were available.  I could move my mouse around but I no longer could select any other functions.  It seemed as if the screen was frozen except for the fact that the mouse moved.  I waited a good 5 minutes and finally decided the software was frozen and rebooted the PC.  I tried this several times, always with the same results.  On the final try, my wife called me to help her with something and I left the room.  I was gone for over an hour but when I returned, the Recovery screen was showing all my backups and was waiting for me to select which date I wanted to recover from.

So I did an experiment.  I rebooted into recovery, navigated to the TIBX file and selected it.  I then timed how long it took before the software populated the screen with my backups.  It was a complete 15 minutes.  During this time the software gave no indication that anything was happening.  I could move the mouse but I could do nothing else....because the software was processing my request in the background.  Acronis Developers...no user in his right mind would sit and wait for 15 minutes if he received no indication something was happening.  Wouldn't it be a terrific idea for a screen to come up and say "This could take a while; be patient" or something like that?  I wasted several hours because of this stupid problem only to discover the solution by complete accident.

Do posts from this forum reach the developers?  If not, what is the best way to make a suggestion so that in a future release this is handled in a more user friendly manner.  Thanks to all who responded.

Legend
Posts: 110
Comments: 28788

Sorry but I have never seen any Acronis developers lurking in these user forums!  I doubt I would even recognise any if they did...

Submit Feedback via the tool provided in the Acronis GUI for comments on design etc.

I and the other MVP's fully agree that leaving users 'waiting' with no indication of what is happening, if anything, is poor design and should be addressed!

Forum Moderator
Posts: 242
Comments: 7050

angelogiambra wrote:

So I did an experiment.  I rebooted into recovery, navigated to the TIBX file and selected it.  I then timed how long it took before the software populated the screen with my backups.  It was a complete 15 minutes.  During this time the software gave no indication that anything was happening.  I could move the mouse but I could do nothing else....because the software was processing my request in the background.  Acronis Developers...no user in his right mind would sit and wait for 15 minutes if he received no indication something was happening.  Wouldn't it be a terrific idea for a screen to come up and say "This could take a while; be patient" or something like that?  I wasted several hours because of this stupid problem only to discover the solution by complete accident.

Hi angelogiambra,

I've passed your feedback to the product team, sorry for the negative experience!   

Forum Member
Posts: 5
Comments: 43

So I just upgraded my machines from 2020 and 2021 to the cyber home protect as they finally put in options to remove the useless protection items.  So, I load it and run a full backup. Works fine and creates the tibx. OK, let's test the recovery. I download the .iso and use Rufus to burn it to a flash drive. I boot from the flash drive and go looking for any tibx files on my USB drive but there are none.  Tried it twice. Nada. I boot from a TI2021 flash drive (made the same way) and previous 2021 and newer CHP .tibx's show up and restore. I always download the .iso files, use Rufus, and create my uefi and cms bootables. Something is wrong when the cyber .iso will not see the tibx's. Ugh!

Legend
Posts: 110
Comments: 28788

Anthony, just a couple of comments to make.

If you have ACPHO then you can open a Support ticket and raise this issue direct with Acronis.

All ISO images are created using a small limited Linux kernel OS (BusyBox) and are there purely as a legacy from the older versions where this was the default before Windows PE became much easier to use.

Acronis has been moving away from Linux based media since ATI 2018 and the recommended recovery media has been the 'Simple' option that creates WinPE media using the files & drivers from your Windows Recovery Environment WinRE.  That media can be created directly on to USB media without the use of Rufus or other similar tools, plus you can create ISO or WIM files etc.

KB 59877: Acronis True Image: how to distinguish between UEFI and Legacy BIOS boot modes of Acronis Bootable Media

KB 69472: Acronis Cyber Protect Home Office: how to create bootable media

KB 58006: Acronis software: NVMe drives in RAID mode are not detected by Linux-based bootable media and Acronis startup recovery manager

KB 46250: Acronis Linux-based Bootable Media: Troubleshooting USB HID Devices Detection Issues

KB 45330: Acronis Bootable Media Does Not Detect HDD, RAID or NIC

KB 45331: Acronis Bootable Media(Linux-based): Troubleshooting NIC Detection

KB 59947: Acronis True Image Linux-based bootable media boots into black screen after selecting any option in the option menu

Forum Member
Posts: 5
Comments: 43

Yeah but Linux always works.  I use the bootable flash drives from the downloaded .iso to backup all my Linux boxes as well. Just keep them ext4. The downloaded 40173 iso made into a bootable flash drive will not recognize tibx's.  The TI 2021-39216 will. That's a problem. It also doesn't handle restoring tibx's with fragmented partitions from Windows 11 to larger drives. I did find a workaround but fortunately I don't have to do it too often. Trying cloning had the same problems. At least I documented it and how to fix it.

Attachment Size
612971-360668.pdf 465.59 KB