Skip to main content

Acronis Disk Director 12.5 Home has been released!

Forum Moderator
Posts: 239
Comments: 6973

Dear Acronis Community,

We are happy to announce that Acronis Disk Director 12.5 Home has just been released.

Build number:163

Acronis Disk Director 12.5 Home is enhanced with:

  • Support for 4K native disks
  • Updated Linux kernel in bootable media
  • Support for latest Windows ADK versions for WinPE media: ADK 1703, 1803, 1809
  • Acronis True Image 2019 compatibility

Upgrade to Acronis Disk Director 12.5 Home available from:

  • Acronis Disk Director 12 Home
  • Acronis Disk Director 11 Home

More information on Acronis Disk Director 12.5 is available at our Knowledge Base https://kb.acronis.com/acronis-disk-director-12-5 .

Thank you!

0 Users found this helpful
Regular Poster
Posts: 50
Comments: 143

Hi;

Unfortunately, the version 12.5 with Windows 10 / 64b. (latest version) not compatible: Disk Director 12.5 will not find any NTFS drives.
 
 
Legend
Posts: 110
Comments: 28596

Very disappointed to find that Disk Director 12.5 still does not support EXT4 partitions despite this being offered by nearly all competitive disk management products, especially given that DD 12.5 suggests that such EXT4 partitions are not formatted!



Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 1

Hi.

I would like to purchase Acronis Disc Director Home 12.5. But Acronis products for conusumers for some reason are not supplied by distributors in Russia. Is it a temporary situation?

If I try to purchase the program on a foreign Acroins website, is it possible to replace the program’s license with the Russian version after that?

Beginner
Posts: 2
Comments: 5

 

if I change a partition on a usb stick or an external disk, DD 12.1 / 2 wants to reboot.

Why is there necessary or what should that be?

That can even better the disk management of Windows.

have a nice Day.

Rolf

Forum Moderator
Posts: 239
Comments: 6973

Georgy Khristich wrote:

Hi.

I would like to purchase Acronis Disc Director Home 12.5. But Acronis products for conusumers for some reason are not supplied by distributors in Russia. Is it a temporary situation?

If I try to purchase the program on a foreign Acroins website, is it possible to replace the program’s license with the Russian version after that?

Hi!  Since the end of April 2019, all sales and support in Russia are carried by Акронис Инфозащита. Please visit https://www.acronis-infoprotect.ru/ to find more information on the available products. 

Forum Moderator
Posts: 239
Comments: 6973

Rolf Zokolowski wrote:

if I change a partition on a usb stick or an external disk, DD 12.1 / 2 wants to reboot.

Why is there necessary or what should that be? 

Acronis Disk Director might require you to reboot your computer if the partition involved in the operation cannot be locked (for instance, contains open files). In this case, Acronis Disk Director prompts you to reboot the computer after you commit the operation. Please note that the system partition (the partition the operating system files are stored on) always contains open files. 

If the target disk has/had a previous install of another operating system then this may cause the clone to ask for a reboot.

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 11

Is this product dead and no longer has new version or bug fix to release?

Regular Poster
Posts: 50
Comments: 143

cs ho wrote:

Is this product dead and no longer has new version or bug fix to release?

 Acronis is working flat out to release a new version 😁

Legend
Posts: 110
Comments: 28596

There have been no updates for ADD 12.5 for several years and it still has no support for EXT4 partitions!

I suspect that the number of alternative free partition manager type software applications have undermined this product and Acronis are now focussed on entering the Cyber Protection arena with the changes to Acronis True Image and their business Cyber Protect range.

I have been using the free MiniTool Partition Wizard software in preference to using ADD for several years now.

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 11

EaseUS partition master is another one.

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 1

So I bought (upgrade) this for my laptop to upgrade my SSD size and it would not work on my laptop.

I created a bootable disk and it would only boot with an error and never produce the menu to allow me to clone my original SSD.  And on top of that it messed up my boot manager and for a while there I didn't have a bootable laptop.  I was able to restore the boot manager, but I want a refund.  This software is worthless.  I have owned Acronis products for quite a while but stopped upgrading when the quality went downhill.  I for some stupid reason thought this would work and bought the upgrade.

btw, my SSD was installed in the second slot in my laptop.

I ended up downloading clonezilla and it works!!

after booting up on the cloned drive, I went ahead and gave Disk Director another chance to handle a simple partition resize, and of course it errored out.

I used Windows disk management to resize without issue...  

I deserve a refund  !!!

Forum Member
Posts: 22
Comments: 43

If there is a 12.5 version, I can't find it!  The 12 version that I have (perpetual license, btw) does not show any updates available.

My system got hosed recently due to Windows update process going south.  When I put my system to gather again, I needed to do some partition work.  Sadly, v12 doesn't seem to work on SSD's.  

Thankfully, I discovered the free MiniTool Partition Wizard, which worked great on my SSD's, easily doing everything I needed.

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 3

Thank you! Cool

Beginner
Posts: 2
Comments: 5

I think Acronis is no longer interesting for home/privat users.
They work on larger projects and have forgotten who made them "big". 
The users who had Acronis at home and who brought the programs into the company. 
Sad but true. :-(
Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 1

********************************************************************************************************************************************
 
Bill Anderson wrote:

So I bought (upgrade) this for my laptop to upgrade my SSD size and it would not work on my laptop.

I created a bootable disk and it would only boot with an error and never produce the menu to allow me to clone my original SSD.  And on top of that it messed up my boot manager and for a while there I didn't have a bootable laptop.  I was able to restore the boot manager, but I want a refund.  This software is worthless.  I have owned Acronis products for quite a while but stopped upgrading when the quality went downhill.  I for some stupid reason thought this would work and bought the upgrade.

btw, my SSD was installed in the second slot in my laptop.

I ended up downloading clonezilla and it works!!

after booting up on the cloned drive, I went ahead and gave Disk Director another chance to handle a simple partition resize, and of course it errored out.

I used Windows disk management to resize without issue...  

I deserve a refund  !!!

*******************************************************************************************************************************************

I am copying (by cutting and pasting instead of CC) an email I am sending to Macrium.  I bought Macrium, and after many years with Acronis, I may never have to use Acronis again.  I only wish I could ditch Microsoft, but I am 67 years old!  Been with Microsoft since before Windows.

*******************************************************************************************************************************************

*******************************************************************************************************************************************

OK, so the world started to make sense when I knew of the new Microsoft rule: no cloning over USB.  I guess Apple with USB C things were too close to sensible.  Anyway they can't outlaw ESATA (or can they?).  I finished cloning my old ASUS, with Macrium, using ESATA because of the new USB rule.  Then I cloned successfully my old Lenovo, using Disk Director 12 (not 12.5).

This is still very annoying.  A clone I created a long time ago with USB is now no longer accessible with USB because of the New Rule from Microsoft.

Yes, I can still access it with ESATA.  But outlawing USB, that should be illegal.  I don't mind Macrium but I'll probably never use most of its features, just the one I already owned, in Disk Director 12.  If I had known about the New Rule, I might never have bought Macrium.

Chris

 

On 10/7/2021 3:11 PM, Chris Sullivan wrote:
> Something very odd happened.  My 4-bay USB docking station stopped being able to access the drive that I had cloned using Disk Director 12.  Disk Director 12 can see this drive and catalogue its partitions but can't access it because Windows can't see it.
>
> Acronis now has 12.5 which I can only get in a trial version that can only clone 100 MB.
>
> So I said the hell with it and decided to install Macrium on my old Asus machine.
>
> As soon as I had Macrium on that machine, my USB docking station started whirring.
>
> OK, so somebody got more money out of me because Windows helped them do it, and now Acronis is out of favour with Microsoft.
>
> OK fine but I am going to start using Unix.   I never liked either Apple or Microsoft anyway.  Software should be free.
>
> I still have to clone my old Lenovo but the old Acronis Disk Director 12 can still do it, and I guess if I am going to clone my new Lenovo I have to buy another license, half price.
>
> What happens when Microsoft stops liking Macrium?  I know IBM taught them the lesson on day 1, that you get more money out of people by making the software stop working on the "old" hardware, so they have to buy "new" hardware, i.e., pay them more money.  It's really extortion.  Apple does it too.  Someday users are going to wise up.
>
> Chris Sullivan

>>
>> Macrium Support
>>
>>     On Tue, 5 Oct at 7:47 PM , Chris Sullivan <chris@sullivanweb.me> wrote:
>>     WRT the subject line of this message: I have now received the license details.
>>
>>     A long time ago I purchased Acronis software to create a cloned hard drive.  Of course it would not work on my new computer, an Asus.
>>
>>     Microsoft had started using a different kind of drive on the Asus.  The cloning software had to be re-purchased.
>>
>>     So I bought the new Acronis cloning software, Disk Director 12.  It worked and I cloned my new computer's hard drive.
>>
>>     Let's call this clone Clone X.  Clone X is a tested and working clone of the Asus's hard drive, made using the Acronis cloning  program, Disk Director12.
>>
>>     So I bought a newer Lenovo computer.  Only the new Lenovo had a new kind of software that the Acronis software didn't understand. So I could not use the new Acronis software, Disk Director 12.The hardware I used for this cloning operation is a 4-bay USB and ESata docking station.
>>     I couldn't clone my new Lenovo, which didn't seem to like Acronis.   I was not able to use Disk Director 12 because Windows complained.  
>>     So I bought Macrium.  But I only could use it on one computer.  Which?  The new Lenovo or the Asus?
>>     Well, I had an old clone of the ASUS that I  had created using Disk Director 12.  I put the clone drive into my docking bay.  It would not respond now.  Microsoft had done something so that it was not acting like a normal USB drive in my docking station.  So Windows must have changed such that my clone made by the Acronis clone software, Clone X, was no longer usable.  So it looked like I needed another Macrium license for my old Asus's disk.
>>     Windows was now saying "please insert disk".  I  could not insert a disk into a USB hard drive.
>>     But hey, I haven't installed Macrium anywhere.  Maybe I could use it on the old Asus.  But if I couldn't clone the new Lenovo without Macrium, I needed it there too.
>>     So do I need another Macrium license?  I haven't even used it yet, on any computer!  And there's only one of me, so why do I need 2 licenses when I can't use it on 2 computers at once!  There's only one of me.
>>     You see my dilemma? Paying extra when I haven't even used it yet on any computer, and can't use 2 computers at once anyway?
>>     BTW Windows on the Asus even says "please insert disk" about a drive I used yesterday (mounted USB) from my old Lenovo.  That doesn't seem to make sense.  It seems the Asus now not only can't see an older clone, but also doesn't even work on a known good drive (not a clone, just an ordinary drive, mounted USB).
>>     I just watched the movie about the Russian space station.  I feel like I am in that movie.
>>     Help!  I have MS, and I am suffering from all this stress...
>>
>>     Chris Sullivan

 

 

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 2

Hello! I tried Acronis, and it can not change USB-FLASH drive letter (I can not see this item in menu). Also the program can not split volume USB-FLASH (It need restart, but after that nothing has been done with USB-FLASH Volume) See picture. In this picture G - my USB Flash

 

Attachment Size
609641-349414.png 117.87 KB
609641-349417.png 116.67 KB
Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 2

Hello! I tried Acronis, and it can not change USB-FLASH drive letter (I can not see this item in menu). Also the program can not split volume USB-FLASH (It need restart, but after that nothing has been done with USB-FLASH Volume) See picture. In this picture G - my USB Flash

Attachment Size
609642-349420.png 117.87 KB
609642-349423.png 116.67 KB
Beginner
Posts: 2
Comments: 5

Thu, 02/07/2019 - 16:16

Acronis Disk Director 12.5 Home has been released!

We wrote 14.09.2022

And Still Acronis Disk Director 12.5 is available  ;-)