Skip to main content

User Accounts

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 0

Hello,

I am hoping to use Acronis to deploy windows 10 to my users machines. I am hoping to do clean installs to all machines, however, I do need to preserve some account data  (I.E. Documents, pics, Favorites) after the update.

Does Acronis have a mechanism for saving that account data and then transfering it to the new image once installed?

 

Thanks

Josh 

Forum Hero
Posts: 36
Comments: 6141

Top

Hi Joshua,

Unfortnately, no, it does not - it's strictly an image deployment tool.  I'm only aware of one competing vendor that offers a user profile migration feature.  However, I have no experience with it so cannot recommend or advise it.  Plus, that is a separate profile migration tool; it is even a separate tool from their own backup/restore solution, and that backup/restore solution does not offer automated deployments like Snap Deploy either.  

Most of those items you want to transfer are raw data though.  You could take images of each existing machine (for posterity) and would be able to get the favorites and user DATA out of those backups with True Image Home (double click the tib and copy paste out of it to wherever you need from the machine with True Image installed). Just don't try to copy the user profile folder directly - that won't work because the associated reg keys would be missing and Windows won't like it.

Or, another thing I've done with success, is to deploy the new system images, have the user log on to the new system to create their profile, and then use robocopy to copy the profile DATA from the old machine to the new one across the network.  Remember, this only works with data, you can't just copyh the entire profile.  Here's an example...  You can exclude other directories (folders) by peceeding them with the switch /xd or do the same for files by preceeding them with /xf.  LIkewise, you can remove any of the exclusions you don't want to keep in the example too. 

 

robocopy.exe "\\OLD_PC_NAME_OR_IP_SOURCE\C$\Users\username" "\\NEW_PC_NAME_OR_IP_DESTINATION\C$\Profile\username" /E /W:0 /R:1 /tee /IPG:100 /MT:8 /xd "AppData" /xd "Application Data" /xd "Cookies" /xd "IntelGraphicsProfiles" /xd "Local Settings" /xd "My Documents" /xd "My Music" /xd "My Pictures" /xd "NetHood" /xd "PrintHood" /xd "Recent" /xd "Roaming" /xd "Saved Games" /xd "Searches" /xd "SendTo" /xd "Start Menu" /xd "Templates" /xd "$Recycle.Bin" /xf "$Recycle.Bin" /xf "pagefile.sys" /xf ntuser.dat* /xf ntuser.* /xf *.tmp 

 

NOTE 1: 

Be sure to replace the computer names (or IP's) and the user/profile names as appropriate

                The first computer name in yellow is the SOURCE you will be copying from

                The second computer name is the DESTINATION you will be copying to

NOTE 2: 

The username will be the name of the profile you want to copy from the source to the destination.  The user must have logged onto to both the old machine and the new machine already and created their user profile.

NOTE 3: 

If copying across the network, you can use the switch /IPG:50 or /IPG:100 to slow down the transfer rate so that you don’t impact local bandwidth with large data copies – the greater the IPG number, the slower it will go.  If you use IPG commands, you must remove the swtich /MT:8 because multithreading is not supported in conjunctoin with IPG switches.  IPG is generally only needed if copying across a WAN and usually doesn't impact a LAN too much, if doing this after hours, you should be able to dump the IPG for maximum copy performance.

NOTE 4: 

You may be wondering why we would want to exclude things like "My Documents" (/xd switch means to exclude a directory and /xf means to exclude a file) since that is where the majority of the users data usually exists. 

Back in Windows 7, anything with "My" in front of it is a recursive link to another existing folder (example “My Documents” is recursive to “Documents” and “My Music” is recursive to “Music”), so if you keep those in there, you actually end up copying the same data twice, which is not a good - especially if the second copy turns out to be a hidden/system file and you don't realize it's there! 

Also, I personally don't use robocopy to copy "appdata" or "application data" so my example has those excluded as directories with /xd.  You can try, but I've personally found that you're usually better off manually copying specifically what you need from appdata on m the old computer to the new one manually.  (for things like Chrome favorites which live in the users appdata folder).  

NOTE 5:

Always run robocopy from a command prompt that was launched under an admin account and using the right-click "run as administrator" option.  This admin account needs to exist on both machines for this to work across the network.