Skip to main content

Acronis True Image 2015 broken after update to Windows Creators Update

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 2

After updating my system to Windows Creators Update I noticed that I can't use Acronis True Image 2015 anymore. I uninstalled it  couple of times and reinstalled. I also noticed that there is a build 6613, which I then downloaded and installed.In the end nothing worked and Acronis is still broken. Problem is that it gives me no indication of what the problem is. In the backup list there are a number of very odd backups, that were never done by me. If I delete the backups the program bombs out and no matter what I do, it will not recover. It then gives me an opportunity to report it to Acronis, which I have done and it also automatically attaches the log files. I don't however know if I will get a response or if it is just a general error that gets sent to Acronis in the normal course of improving their products. I am very experienced using software and has been in IT for many years so it is not a matter that I am ignorant or are making silly mistakes. This is definitely an issue with something that stopped working in the software somewhere between Anniversary Update and/or Creators Update. As I haven't been very active on my computer since November last year, my last backup was made on the 17th of January 2017. Now after updating my system to Creators Update, I wanted to make a full image backup. This not working is therefore critical and I can't potpone it much longer.

I assume that this is a new issue that hasn't been raised before as I am not seeing any reference to it on any site. There are lots of reference to issues on Anniversary Update but I have a feeling that this is different and specifically related to Creators Update.

My Acronis True Image 2015 Build is 6613. I also tried the previous versions.

My Windows installation is Windows 10 Pro version 1703 64 Bit and I am running an Asus ROG GL 552 VX with 24 GB Ram, a 1 TB Solid State Drive and a 1 TB HDD. CPU is a Intel Core I7 6700HQ.

My only other option at this stage is to do a Macrium Full Image backup as I can't afford to have the content of this computer lost. 

 

Forum Hero
Posts: 28
Comments: 9248
mvp

Top

Wernher, welcome to these user forums.

Please see post: https://forum.acronis.com/forum/129388#comment-409239 which may offer you a method of trying to get your ATIH 2015 to work with the Windows 10 Creators Update.  

Other than the above, then you could make a full backup by using the offline Acronis bootable Rescue Media.  You would need to test that this will work for you on your computer and whether you may need to disable Secure Boot if you have UEFI - this is mainly needed for the standard, Linux based, Rescue Media.

Currently Acronis have only produced new build updates for ATIH 2017, not for 2016 or any earlier version.  It is unlikely that they will provide any new build for your ATIH 2015 version as this is out of support.

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 2

Top

Thank you Steve. 

This sorted the issue out. I just deleted my Godmode folder as I only use it very seldom and can always set it up again if I need it. This partly solved the issue as it then didn't start the backup even after I restarted the PC. I then stopped and started the Acronis Scheduler service and restarted the application. It is now back in operation and busy with the backup.

It is a pity that 2015 is not supported anymore as I am not ready to upgrade at this stage.

Anyway, thankfully it is working.

 

 

Forum Hero
Posts: 28
Comments: 9248
mvp

Top

Wernher, thanks for the feedback / update, glad to hear that the referenced post helped with regards to the Godmode folder causing problems.

Beginner
Posts: 2
Comments: 8

Top

My TIH2015 also fixed by moving God Mode shortcut into folder on desktop.

Forum Hero
Posts: 28
Comments: 9248
mvp

Top

Thanks for your feedback Dietmar and welcome to these user forums.

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 2

Top

Dietmar, I must say I am impressed that the guys made this connection, as it must be one of the most difficult issues to find. After going back to the Windows Forums, I picked up that it caused issues with other Windows programs as well.

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 5

Top

No update for 15 ?? I am getting real tired of this program conking out, and now no update for a 2 year old program, why not just admit you are on a subscription model!

 

Forum Hero
Posts: 28
Comments: 9248
mvp

Top

acronisti, sorry but Acronis only provide updates for current program versions, i.e. 2017 & 2018 versions.

This is documented in the following webpages:  

Acronis Support Lifecycle Policy for Consumer Products 

KB 6031: List of support options for Acronis products

Please don't shoot the messenger here - I am just a user like yourself, not an Acronis employee or paid by them etc!

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 5

Top

Thanks Steve
Some how I always regret my experiences with non free software :(

Forum Hero
Posts: 28
Comments: 9248
mvp

Top

Understand your comments - unfortunately we are all playing on a non-level playing field, especially if you participate in the Windows 10 Insiders programme where MS seem to break something new with each new build they introduce while fixing things broken in earlier builds!  They did this with ATIH 2018 with the 32-bit version of the OS.

Free software is great for many purposes and I too like to use this where appropriate but it often comes with its own limitations and restrictions - the adage being that you get what you pay for...!

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 5

Top

Ha ha did I pay for a head ache ;)?
I dropped out early from the Insiders program, good luck with that.