Skip to main content

Cloning Never Begins After Restart

Thread needs solution
Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 1

I'm using Acronis True Image 2015 (the software that came with my Crucial 1TB SSD drive) to clone my laptop's 500GB drive running Windows 10 onto the new drive. 

Whenever I begin the clone function, choose the right source and destination disks, my computer restarts, brings up the cloning program, then a minute or so later, just restarts as normal. No cloning occurs.

It seems like Acronis' only level of support is, upgrade ($$) to a newer program, because they don't support their old programs. I'm just using what came with my drive. 

Can anyone help?

0 Users found this helpful
Forum Hero
Posts: 68
Comments: 8216

#1

Chad, please see this post.. https://forum.acronis.com/forum/129112#comment-407415 You'll find the answer there.

FYI, you didnt' buy an Acronis product, you bought a crucial product, supported by Crucial, who, unfortuantely, continues to supply an outdated, heavily modified version of a 3 year old product that Acronis does not support and the OEM is supposed to. Acronis has a 2 year support life cycle for fully, functional, non-modified OEM versions - even the original Acronis 2015 version is out of the supported life cycle though.  Acronis does offer discounted upgrades for OEM versions and the upgrade licenses are pretty reasonable (I think I saw a 3-pack upgrade for $29.99 on the main page the other day), which gives you current licensing, direct support and full functionality on 3 systems for $10 each.  If interested, I woyld contact technical support and see what deals they have available for upgrades from OEM versions.  

2201: Support for OEM Versions of Acronis Products

Crucial Community - Using Acronis True Image HD 2015

 

 

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 1

#2

I figured I'd eventually get that response, but I appreciate hearing it from an MVP. The best things in life are never free... or something like that. Thanks again.

Forum Hero
Posts: 68
Comments: 8216

#3

You probably will be able to clone with it, make sure you note the link in the other one I referenced above...  If you follow Steve's advice and instructions to use the rescue media, things will probably pan out.  If possible though, please take a backup and store it somewhere else as a precaution - that may be your saving grace for any failed clone attempt.  Using rescue media, instead of starting from windows for a CLONE or any FULL DISK RESTORE, is key for success.  Too many system variations, bios settings, etc. that can can cause these to fail.  Plus things like bad sectors on a disk (fixed with chkdsk /f /r in many cases), can cause an issue, or things like using dynamic disks or disks with different sector sizes.  If you have a backup taken, you can always restore that backup and end up with similar results as cloning, but with the added value of a backup (as a safety net and recurring restore point) in the process. 

[IMPORTANT] CLONING - How NOT to do this!!!

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 1

#4

Had the same problem today, solved it by upgrading to 2017 version.

The crucial software is not working enetirely correct with windows 10, version 2017 is working fine

Legend
Posts: 81
Comments: 18432

#5

wilco wigman wrote:

Had the same problem today, solved it by upgrading to 2017 version.

The crucial software is not working enetirely correct with windows 10, version 2017 is working fine

Wilco, welcome to these user forums and thank you for your feedback on this topic.

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 2

#6

This is a lot of merchandising crap between Acronis and Kingston for offering a useless version of a software forcing you to upgrade. Fake Publicity by saying that the SSD comes with a cloning software when it's just useless bloatware until you update, better not to provide it at all I think.

Forum Moderator
Posts: 123
Comments: 4737

#7
rubendao@gmail.com wrote:

This is a lot of merchandising crap between Acronis and Kingston for offering a useless version of a software forcing you to upgrade. Fake Publicity by saying that the SSD comes with a cloning software when it's just useless bloatware until you update, better not to provide it at all I think.

Sorry to know about your bad experience with using an OEM version of Acronis product. Acronis True Image OEM products are based on Acronis engine, but usually feature-limited as opposed to full versions of Acronis True Image. Acronis works closely with the OEM manufacturers on investigating and solving issues that arise, however all changes in the OEM software and support as well are entirely handled by the hardware manufacturers who distribute OEM products.