Skip to main content

Crucial MX100 and random freezes

Thread needs solution
Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 2

I just purchased a Crucial MX100 512GB SSD, and decided to re-install Windows 8.1 using the SSD for boot drive, after applying all of the updates from Windows Update, I started to re-install True Image 2015. Once re-installed the system started to start going unresponsive, firstly a single application, normally a browser, and then it spread and the entire system was unresponsive. The only way to restart the computer was by doing a hard reset.

I reinstalled each piece of storage, and determined it was True Image 2015 which was causing the problem. Once I had uninstalled True Image, the system became stable again, re-installing True Image, and the System would start freezing again. I will not be re-installing True Image until it is patched to fix this issue, and I not willing to pay for support, especially as just upgraded versions in September, the 30 days support limit is not acceptable.

I was using the latest build of True Image.

0 Users found this helpful
Forum Star
Posts: 124
Comments: 2672

Hello pointywalnut,

recently we've received several similar reports and at the moment our development is investigating the situation.

I'll let you know when we find the route cause.

Thank you.

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 4

I'm glad I stumbled across this. I've also got an MX100 and was experiencing random freezes. I was about to return the MX100 suspecting a hardware fault even though all the diagnostics I ran said everything was fine. I've uninstalled TrueImage 2014 and haven't had a freeze since. Please also let me know when this is fixed.

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 1

Ditto here Ralph, I had the exact same issue as you. In addition I moved the drive to a different system and did a fresh install of Windows 8.1 and it was great. Once I put TI 2015 on it had random freezes and issues shutting down/booting up within 5 minutes. Removed TI and it was happy again. Looking forward to a fix!

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 2

Thanks for investigating, please keep me updated

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 1

I had the same problem with TI 14. Thought it was the drive and was worried. Found a different message board (after multiple searches) and got the information about uninstalling True Image. I did and it worked perfectly. This is a pretty big issue and I'm surprised there isn't more out there on it. It pretty much makes the "bonus" software with the MX100 a liability.

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 1

I sent a PM to Ms. Anna Trifonova on the status of where Acronis were on fixing this issue. I just went from MRB BIOS to UEIF BIOS when I replaced my motherboard this week. At first I thought that it might be the mSATA (Crucial 512GB M550) SSD I had installed on the motherboard but reading posts in this forum I found one dated October 2014 where this issue was reported to Acronis. Like many of you I have been a user of TI for many years and this 2015 version is the worst RTM by Acronis.

Let's hope they get a fix ASAP - Hello Acronis! When will 6526 be out with the fix?

Thanks,

Ed
Houston, TX

Forum Star
Posts: 124
Comments: 2672

Hello Everyone,

we have an updated SnapAPI version that should help. Please contact me via a private message if you are willing to check the solution.

Thank you.

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 1

Is that updated SnapAPI available still?   Is it working?   I'm having the same problem with an MX300 I purchased..  I disabled TI 2014 in services and haven't had an issue since then but I'd rather run TI.