Skip to main content

Backup from NAS to Cloud fails

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 7

I am trying to back up approx. 16 gig from my NAS to the cloud.

There are no passwords on the NAS. Every time I try to run the backup it fails with 'The last backup has failed.
Cannot find the files or folders selected for the backup.'

I tried rebooting, re-creating the backup job - always the same error

Win7 64bit

TS419P QNAP NAS

MVP Log output:

log uuid=2BC612F7-AA8B-457A-92C4-68F3567699BE;  product=True Image;  version=19.0;  build=6595;  task=046801FE-1EC4-45E9-BB5A-62628B2C1227;  task_name=Photos
Start= 26/09/2017 08:06:42
id=1;  date/time=26/09/2017 08:06:42;  message=Operation Photos started manually.
id=2;  date/time=26/09/2017 08:06:45;  message=Operation: Backup
id=3;  date/time=26/09/2017 08:06:45;  message=Backup type: file level
id=4;  date/time=26/09/2017 08:06:46;  message=Cannot find the files or folders selected for the backup.;  line_tag=0x4D3F22948E29F345
Error_Code=Af0DCwBF8ymOlCI/TUNhbm5vdCBmaW5kIHRoZSBmaWxlcyBvciBmb2xkZXJzIHNlbGVjdGVkIGZvciB0aGUgYmFja3VwLgAkbW9kdWxlAEF0aV9kZW1vbl92c182NTk1ACRmaWxlAEFrOlw2NTk1XHByb2R1Y3RzXGltYWdlclxhcmNoaXZlXGltcGxcdXRpbHMuY3BwACRmdW5jAEFUcnVlSW1hZ2U6OkFyY2hpdmU6OkNoZWNrQmFja3VwT3B0aW9ucwAkbGluZQBObgIAAAAAAAAA
id=5;  date/time=26/09/2017 08:06:46;  message=Cannot find the files or folders selected for the backup.;  line_tag=0x4D3F22948E29F345
Error_Code=Af0DCwBF8ymOlCI/TUNhbm5vdCBmaW5kIHRoZSBmaWxlcyBvciBmb2xkZXJzIHNlbGVjdGVkIGZvciB0aGUgYmFja3VwLgAkbW9kdWxlAEF0aV9kZW1vbl92c182NTk1ACRmaWxlAEFrOlw2NTk1XHByb2R1Y3RzXGltYWdlclxhcmNoaXZlXGltcGxcdXRpbHMuY3BwACRmdW5jAEFUcnVlSW1hZ2U6OkFyY2hpdmU6OkNoZWNrQmFja3VwT3B0aW9ucwAkbGluZQBObgIAAAAAAAAA
id=6;  date/time=26/09/2017 08:06:46;  message=Failed to process tag 'script' in script '046801FE-1EC4-45E9-BB5A-62628B2C1227'.
id=7;  date/time=26/09/2017 08:06:46;  message=Priority changed to Low.
id=8;  date/time=26/09/2017 08:06:46;  message=Operation has completed with errors.;  line_tag=0x9F2C53C72E8BCE7B
Error_Code=AQUAPAF7zosux1Msn09wZXJhdGlvbiBoYXMgY29tcGxldGVkIHdpdGggZXJyb3JzLgAkbW9kdWxlAEF0aV9kZW1vbl92c182NTk1ACRmaWxlAEFrOlw2NTk1XHByb2R1Y3RzXGltYWdlclxkZW1vblxtYWluLmNwcAAkZnVuYwBBbWFpbgAkbGluZQBOhQIAAAAAAAAA
Start= 26/09/2017 08:06:42
Finish= 26/09/2017 08:06:46
Total Time= 00:00:04

 

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 7

Top

P.S I can browse to the folders on the NAS without issues

Forum Star
Posts: 80
Comments: 1429
mvp

Top

I assume you are using a files and folders backup. Looking at the manual this appears to be supported in general, but there is no mention of the ability to do so to Acronis Cloud, or any limitations on doing so. This is not something on which I have any expertise, hopefully someone will be able to provide assistance.

Ian

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 7

Top

Thanks Ian - yes I am using the files and folder method. The weird thing is that I have other files and folders on the NAS backing up to the cloud and that works OK.

 

 

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 7

Top

Hi

Can anyone help with this ? The backup is still failing.

 

regards

Oliver

Forum Hero
Posts: 28
Comments: 9193
mvp

Top

Oliver, have you tested mapping a Windows drive letter to your NAS source data and then backing up that drive letter to the Cloud?

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 7

Top

Hi Steve,

Just tried that but am getting the same error.

The weird thing is:

- it used to work. I can see there is data backed up for the folder in the Cloud

- other folders that backup to the cloud work OK

 

Oliver

 

Forum Hero
Posts: 28
Comments: 9193
mvp

Top

Oliver, the only other suggestion would be to try creating a new backup task with a unique task name which will then prompt for any NAS credentials and will eliminate any problems with the current task script configuration.  

Note: doing the above will involve making a new full backup of the NAS source data, so will take some time depending on the size of data involved, and may also require that you delete the original data on the Cloud if space is going to be an issue when doing this.

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 7

Top

Hi Steve,

I already created a new backup task for the folder but I get the same error as soon as it starts the backup.

There are no specific access rights on the NAS (QNAP) but I added read-only permissions for 'Everyone' to the folder and the started the backup again.

The error log this time is:

 

log uuid=33CB1EFF-EAA9-47F4-BDF8-6025D0C1FB0B;  product=True Image;  version=19.0;  build=6595;  task=F24C365A-65DE-4648-965E-8D94844DBA13;  task_name=Family
Start= 05/10/2017 18:18:53
id=1;  date/time=05/10/2017 18:18:53;  message=Operation Family started manually.
id=2;  date/time=05/10/2017 18:18:56;  message=Operation: Backup
id=3;  date/time=05/10/2017 18:18:56;  message=Backup type: file level
id=4;  date/time=05/10/2017 18:18:57;  message=Operation: Consolidation
id=5;  date/time=05/10/2017 18:18:57;  message=Priority changed to Low.
id=6;  date/time=05/10/2017 18:18:57;  message=Succesfully set default ctcp settings
id=7;  date/time=05/10/2017 18:19:00;  message= ;  line_tag=0xA46E8D7BA5BB85F2
Error_Code=AWIAmADyhbule41upAAkbW9kdWxlAEF0aV9kZW1vbl92c182NTk1ACRmaWxlAEFrOlw2NTk1XG5ldHdvcmtcYXN0b3JhZ2VcY2xpZW50XHNlcmlhbGl6ZS5oACRmdW5jAEFBU3RvcmFnZTo6b3BlcmF0b3IgPj4AJGxpbmUATtEAAAAAAAAAAA==
id=8;  date/time=05/10/2017 18:19:01;  message=Operation has completed with errors.;  line_tag=0x9F2C53C72E8BCE7B
Error_Code=AQUAPAF7zosux1Msn09wZXJhdGlvbiBoYXMgY29tcGxldGVkIHdpdGggZXJyb3JzLgAkbW9kdWxlAEF0aV9kZW1vbl92c182NTk1ACRmaWxlAEFrOlw2NTk1XHByb2R1Y3RzXGltYWdlclxkZW1vblxtYWluLmNwcAAkZnVuYwBBbWFpbgAkbGluZQBOhQIAAAAAAAAA
Start= 05/10/2017 18:18:53
Finish= 05/10/2017 18:19:01
Total Time= 00:00:08

I would consider upgrading to Acronis 2018 if I could be sure that the cloud backup worked.

Oliver

P.S Thanks for taking the time out to try to help

Forum Hero
Posts: 28
Comments: 9193
mvp

Top

Oliver, while I cannot guarantee that this cloud backup of your NAS data would work by upgrading to ATI 2018, the one key benefit that you would get by upgrading is the ability to raise this issue as a Support Case with Acronis to get them engaged in working with you to work out why you are seeing this problem.

If you have received a promotional offer from Acronis for ATI 2018, then this may be well worth considering.  I have just taken advantage of the offer for 3 computers perpetual licence of 2018 at a cost of only £7.00 (UK sterling) per computer - this doesn't include Cloud storage but as you already have a Cloud subscription, it would be just a matter of signing in with your Acronis credentials in the 2018 app to have access to the storage.

If you have a subscription product, then you should be entitled to upgrade for free to later versions for as long as your subscription is active.

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 7

Top

Thanks Steve - I'll do that. Cheers for your help as well :)

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 7

Top

Just wanted to let you know I upgraded to 2018 and created a new backup job . I selected NAS as the backup source and Cloud as the target and everything is working :) The backup is running as I type this.

Thanks so much for your help :)

Forum Hero
Posts: 28
Comments: 9193
mvp

Top

Oliver, that's great to hear.  I like the 2018 version - it has a lot more going for it than some of the earlier ones!