Skip to main content

Cleanup Tool

Thread needs solution
Forum Member
Posts: 10
Comments: 55

Hello,

I can't find an actual cleanup-tool which runs on Windows10.
Is there a new one around, also for 2016 Version?

0 Users found this helpful
Forum Hero
Posts: 207
Comments: 5031

We have been asking this question for some time, but as yet no answer.

Ian

Forum Member
Posts: 10
Comments: 55

OK, for the meantime I've build my own Win10 Version:

Extract "atih_cleanup_tool_s_e.exe" with 7zip or WinRar
Open "cleanup.cmd" in Edit mode
At the end of VER | FIND "... section paste these 2 lines:

VER | FIND "10.0" > nul
IF %ERRORLEVEL% EQU 0 SET OSNAME=Windows 8.1

Save.
Then run "cleanup.cmd" as Administrator.
Restart manually (script doesn't reboot)

EDIT:
If you clean ATI 2016:
There are 2 registry entries and 1 file leftover which you have to delete manually to get everything totally clean:

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\mmsminisrv]
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\tnd]

C:\Windows\System32\drivers\tnd.sys
(If you have used "Try and Decide" during your current session, this file cannot be deleted before you restart your computer.)

Forum Hero
Posts: 207
Comments: 5031

You probably get the same result setting compatibility to Windows 7 for the clean-up tool. I have not tried to do so.

Ian

Forum Member
Posts: 10
Comments: 55

Nope - "Wrong Windows version detected"...

Forum Star
Posts: 60
Comments: 2001

Ken,

For your information, I think there were new services introduced by TI 2016. Here is a list of TI 2016 services to check for:

1. AcrSch2Svc
2. afcdpsrv
3. file_tracker
4. fltsrv
5. mmsminisrv
6. snapman
7. syncagentsrv
8. tib
9. tib_mounter
10. tnd

Forum Member
Posts: 10
Comments: 55

Thanks for information, Mustang.

The pimped cleanup-tool is running without any problems on Win10 and (as far as I can see) removed completely a test installation of TI 2016.

Forum Star
Posts: 60
Comments: 2001

Ken,

I looked at the cleanup.cmd included in the TI 2015 cleanup tool. Following is a list of services that will not be removed:

1. afcdpsrv
2. file_tracker
3. mmsminisrv
4. tnd

You definitely need to uninstall TI 2016 from Windows 10 before using the modified cleanup.cmd.

Forum Star
Posts: 60
Comments: 2001

Ken,

I extracted driver_cleanup_tool.exe using 7-Zip. Looks like it will take care of removing the afcdpsrv and file_tracker services. That just leaves mmsminisrv and tnd.

Forum Member
Posts: 10
Comments: 55

Thanks again for detailed info, Mustang!

Now I've checked (with msconfig) the running services on Win10, there are only those 3:

- Acronis Scheduler2 Service
- Acronis Sync Agent Service
- Acronis Nonstop Backup Service

All 3 services are gone after running the cleanup-tool and a manual restart.
Nevertheless there are 2 registry entries and 1 file leftover which you have to delete manually to get everything totally clean:

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\mmsminisrv]
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\tnd]

C:\Windows\System32\drivers\tnd.sys
(If you have used "Try and Decide" during your current session, this file cannot be deleted before you restart your computer.)

Forum Member
Posts: 10
Comments: 55

Ok, in another post overhere I found a new version which works on Win10 but seems to be designed for TI 2015:

https://kb.acronis.com/system/files/content/2015/08/48668/CleanupTool_4…

Anyway, it removes the 2 above mentioned registry keys but leaves
C:\Windows\System32\drivers\tnd.sys
on the system...

Forum Member
Posts: 0
Comments: 30

Hello!

Please, be aware that for the moment there is no CleanUp utility for Acronis True Image 2016.
We strongly recommend you to use Installation file to uninstall you product.

Thank you

Beginner
Posts: 7
Comments: 10

I have been running ATI 2015 on Win 7x64. Just upgraded to ATI 2016. However, it won't install because it found ATI 2011 on board. (I have no idea why it's still in the system). Attempts to uninstall ATI 2011 have failed. Can't say I've ever encountered an application that can't uninstall its own prior versions... I see a bunch of discussion about Win 10, but not much about Win 7. Any clues as to how to get this Acronis stuff to play well together?

Forum Member
Posts: 18
Comments: 72

Robert Marr wrote:

I have been running ATI 2015 on Win 7x64. Just upgraded to ATI 2016. However, it won't install because it found ATI 2011 on board. (I have no idea why it's still in the system). Attempts to uninstall ATI 2011 have failed. Can't say I've ever encountered an application that can't uninstall its own prior versions... I see a bunch of discussion about Win 10, but not much about Win 7. Any clues as to how to get this Acronis stuff to play well together?

Acronis True Image 2015: Cleanup Utility
https://kb.acronis.com/system/files/content/2015/08/48668/CleanupTool_4…

Forum Member
Posts: 0
Comments: 30

Hello Robert,

For Acronis True Image Home 2011 please use the following article https://kb.acronis.com/content/34876.
Acronis True Image can be removed via Program and Features (Start -> Control Panel) for Windows 7.

You can also uninstall the product using the EXE installation file: run the installation file of the product that you want to uninstall and select the option Remove.

We recommend to do a backup using Bootable media or Windows native tool before running CleanUp utility.

Thank you,

Beginner
Posts: 7
Comments: 10

Since the uninstall failed in Programs and Features, my next step was to uninstall via the exe. Unfortunately, I haven't been able to find any folder or specific files for 2011. It's as if there are only remnants remaining on the PC. Additionally, ATI 2015 doesn't exist in the programs list in the control panel, but I've been using it nearly a year....

Forum Hero
Posts: 207
Comments: 5031

ATI 2015 was probably deleted by the ATI 2016 installation; it should be as they cannot coexist on the one system. ATI 2016 is designed to install on systems with either ATI 2014 or 2015, but not earlier versions which should be removed before installation of ATI 2016.

Ian

Legend
Posts: 172
Comments: 11125

Robert,

If you restart the install executable, there will be an uninstall option offered.

There is also a free IObit Uninstaller 5 which works very well.

Beginner
Posts: 7
Comments: 10

Thanks! I used IObit 5 and it worked perfectly.... Unfortunately, TI 2016 won't open after installation, but that's another topic...

Forum Member
Posts: 11
Comments: 31

IObit 5 is a very good uninstaller and can't believe it is free. I have the Revo Pro version and IOBit does a better and more complete job on uninstalls. I wasted money going to the pro version of Revo uninstaller software.

Forum Member
Posts: 18
Comments: 72

Gifford Tremblay wrote:

IObit 5 is a very good uninstaller and can't believe it is free. I have the Revo Pro version and IOBit does a better and more complete job on uninstalls. I wasted money going to the pro version of Revo uninstaller software.

I have the Revo Pro version and never used IObit 5.

Could you tell me in what way IOBit does a better and more complete job on uninstalls.

Forum Member
Posts: 11
Comments: 31

IObit finds remnants of left behind data after using Revo Pro to uninstall a program. Just my observation.