Skip to main content

Converting an Acronis 2016 image file to *.vhd or restore a *.tib as a virtual machine

Beginner
Posts: 2
Comments: 0

Hi,

I would like to ask if there is a possibility to import a *.tib image file into Oracle VirtualBox or if is possible to create a *.vhd file by converting a *.tib?

Thanks for your help.

Tommy

Regular Poster
Posts: 0
Comments: 184

Top

Hello, Thomas.

Acronis True Image 2016 does not offer such functionality.

Hovever, you can use a bootable media .ISO to boot a VirtualBox VM, then restore the image to the virtual disk.

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 1

Top

Hello,

I just moved from True Image 2013 to 2016, I used several versions of True Image and was always used to find a TIB to VHD convert feature, as explained in https://kb.acronis.com/content/3499

I have issues on my laptop running Windows 7 Enterprise and need to have a VHD file to boot.

What do you suggest if this feature has been removed from True Image in TI2016 ?

Best Regards

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 1

Top

Hey there,

this might be late, but I found a way to convert a *.tib to *.vhd in Windows 10 by work around (not sure if it works in Win7 or earlier):

1. Create VHD in Windos:

Right-Klick on the Windows Logo and enter the "Disk Management".

Then Action -> Create VHD, Chose the Location, the disk size, format VHD (VHDX doesn´t work in VirtualBox), your preferred disk type and then OK.

2. Init and format virtual drive:

Next right-klick on the new disk in the Disk Management and Initialze the disk.

Then Create New Simple Volume, next, next, next, finish.

3. In True Image restore the *tib to the virtual drive, but make sure that the real drive - the virtual drive is located in - has enough space.

4. Detach the VHD in the Disk Management. Done!

Now you can use the VHD in any Virtualization Tool.

Bruno

Forum Star
Posts: 62
Comments: 2377

Top

Bruno,

Thank you very much for your input!

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 1

Top

I am just now needing to create a VHD file from a .tib file and since my .tib file validates successfully and the conversion tool fails, I need to use your method to do so. But your instructions are confusing to me. First off, I have installed Classic Shell which replaces the start menu with one that looks more like Windows 7. So, right-clicking the Start Button (Windows Logo) does not show Disk Management. Right-clicking on the This PC icon and choosing Manage does open Disk Management in both cases. I discovered this after uninstalling Classic Shell. Secondly, before step 2, your instructions say to choose Create VHD and to choose the location. Then, step 2 says to format the virtual drive. How do I format a virtual drive? Do you mean to format the disk where the virtual drive is located? If I go that route in Disk Management, a message appears that says "Formatting this volume will erase all data on it.". So, if I format the disk, the VHD file will be erased. Will you elaborate on your method?

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 1

Top

When I reboot the VHD does not stay attached so it is not available for a restore. 

Two questions - was your Window's VHD shown as a restore target?

Was the restore bootable?

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 1

Top

The solution given by Bruno works great. I managed to restore and use a Win7 x64 image.

So thank you very much for this good information.

Legend
Posts: 29
Comments: 10004
mvp

Top

You may want to take a closer look at the new ATIH 2018 product version as this now includes an option to convert a backup .TIB image to either VHD or VHDX (depending on the OS).

From the ATIH 2018 User Guide: New in this version

  • Converting Acronis backups (.tib files) to virtual hard disks (.vhd or .vhdx files)—You can create .vhd(x) files based on disk-level backups, and then mount these files as virtual drives or run them as virtual machines.

In reply to by Steve Smith

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 5

Top

Unfortunately it requires full disk imaging which means if i have two partitions C and D; D being for data...then to use VHD conversion functionality I need to image whole disk. That might require too much space.