Skip to main content

Failed to read data from sector

Beginner
Posts: 2
Comments: 7

Hi,

I am getting below error during backup. Chkdsk says the disk is fine and can't find any issues. This happens consistently. What is the remedy?

Thanks

Axel

 

Information: Failed to read data from the disk.

Details: Failed to read from sector '227,356,359' of hard disk '4'. Try to repeat the operation. If the error persists, check the disk using Check Disk Utility and create a backup of the disk.

Failed to read the snapshot. (0x10C45A)

CRC error. (0x100155)

Legend
Posts: 36
Comments: 11886

Top

Axel, unfortunately this is a real disk issue with a bad sector but it is possible that you are not running CHKDSK against the correct disk drive.

Acronis numbers drives starting from 1 which is different to how Windows numbers drives, starting from 0.  So if you are looking at the message, disk 4 = Windows disk 3.

It is also possible that the bad sector is in a partition without a drive letter allocated, as snapshot data can be stored on such partitions.

Please try running CHKDSK /R against your disk 3 drive and allow this to run to completion - this will be a long running activity depending on the size of the drive involved.

Forum Star
Posts: 86
Comments: 1702

Top

If that does not work, try using the drive manufactures utility (both Seagate and WD have such utilities). You will probably need to use the most comprehensive alternative, which can take many hours but may solve the problem. 

Ian

Beginner
Posts: 2
Comments: 7

Top

Ian

Thanks much. Figuring out which disk it is clarifies things.

However, I have run chkdsk/R on all drives, nothing found. I have reformatted the respective drive (which strangely appears to be the drive to which the backup is written even though the error report indicates a "read" error). I've used the slow reformatting version which should have remapped bad sectors. The error pops up for two separate sector and they are consistently the same.

Any other ideas?

Thanks

Axel

Legend
Posts: 36
Comments: 11886

Top

See KB 59873: Acronis True Image 2017: recovering Windows from a boot failure and scroll down to the section on Troubleshooting where you will see a list of links to different diagnostic tools from various disk makers.

2) Dedicated diagnostic utilities from the disk manufacturers take the longest time to complete the checks, but provide the most accurate methods of checking whether the disk is good or needs replacement:

 - Western Digital drives: Data Lifeguard Diagnostic for Windows

 - Seagate disks: SeaTools for Windows

 - HGST disks: HGST Windows Drive Fitness Test (WinDFT)

 - Intel SSDs: Intel Solid State Drive Toolbox

 - Samsung drives: Samsung Magician

 - ADATA drives: ADATA SSD ToolBox

 - Kingston SSDs: Kingston SSD ToolboxKingston SSD Manager

 - Transcend SSDs: Transcend SSD Scope

 - Silicon Power disks: SP ToolBox

 - Toshiba disks: Toshiba PC Diagnostic Tool Utility

Forum Star
Posts: 86
Comments: 1702

Top

I agree with Steve that it is time to consider using a dedicated diagnostic program for the particular brand of HDD.

Beginner
Posts: 2
Comments: 7

Top

Thanks everybody for your advice. Here is the status. Using the SeaTools (seagate drive) software, I was able to identify that the drive indeed had bad sectors. I received a new drive under warranty. I ran the SeaTools software on the new drive and it passed. Then I ran an Acronis Backup which again failed with a bad sector. I ran SeaTools scan, and now the drive shows as bad.  I waited a bit ran the SeaTools scan again, now it passes.  Ran Acronis again, failed again. It appears that there is some reason for intermittent "bad sector" indicators. This is a large 8TB drive, is it possible that size or access speed might be generating the "bad sector" erroneously? 

Legend
Posts: 36
Comments: 11886

Top

Axel, is the Seagate 8TB drive the source drive for your Acronis Backup operation?  If so, what type of backup are you doing here?

I have not heard of any cases where running an Acronis Backup can cause a drive to have bad sectors without there being a latent problem on the drive

How is the drive connected to the computer, what type of interface, is any form of hub involved etc?

Forum Star
Posts: 86
Comments: 1702

Top

Some older Seagate 8TB Archive drives had performance issues; this could be resulting in an incorrect bad sector message.

In reply to by Steve Smith

Beginner
Posts: 2
Comments: 7

Top

Thanks for you reply. The 8TB drive is the target drive and. The error happens during a full back up, incrementals finish fine (after ignoring errors on the fulll backup).  The drive is connnected via USB-3 without a hub. 

 

Thanks

Axel

Legend
Posts: 36
Comments: 11886

Top

Axel, can you post the backup task log for where the bad sector is being reported please?

You can use the MVP Log Viewer tool available via the Community Tools link in my signature to view the log contents.

Beginner
Posts: 2
Comments: 7

Top

This is the log generated:

 

Entire PC (STORMTROOPER) task is waiting for user interaction.

Description:

Information: Failed to read data from the disk.

Details: Failed to read from sector '227,356,359' of hard disk '4'. Try to repeat the operation. If the error persists, check the disk using Check Disk Utility and create a backup of the disk.

Failed to read the snapshot. (0x10C45A)

CRC error. (0x100155)

 

Legend
Posts: 36
Comments: 11886

Top

Axel, thank you for the further detail of the error message.

This indicates an issue with your disk '4' but you need to understand that Acronis starts numbering at 1, not at 0 as is used by Windows Disk Management, so if you check in the latter you need to look at disk '3' for where this error is being given.

The next part of the error message: Failed to read the snapshot. (0x10C45A)  shows that the error was encountered in an area of disk 3 that was being used to store snapshot data by the Microsoft VSS function, so this will be in an area assigned to System Volume Information or free space used for Shadow Copies.

You can eliminate Microsoft VSS from the backup issue by following the advice given in KB 59440: Acronis True Image 2017: 'Snapshot for backup' option overview - this option was introduced with 2017 but applies to 2018 too.

Beginner
Posts: 2
Comments: 7

Top

Steve 

Thank you. Thanks for pointing out the disk sequencing issue. I had noticed that somewhere before on the forum and I am pretty sure I am talking about the correct disk. Unfortunately the VSS option isn't available in TrueImage 2016 which is the version I am still using. 

Best

Axel

Legend
Posts: 36
Comments: 11886

Top

Axel, sorry about the VSS KB document not being relevant to ATI 2016, you can still disable this on a per task basis but is a little more of a manual process and will be reset if any changes to the task are made.

From an older forum topic:

It is also possible to disable VSS usage for a particular backup task without touching Windows VSS service itself:

1) open the folder where your backups settings are saved: C:\ProgramData\Acronis\TrueImageHome\Scripts

2) each file there stores settings for particular backup job. Open files one-by-one in Notepad, or open latest modified file (if you have just modified your task), until you find the one that has backup name on 5th line, e.g. MyBackups

3) click Edit - Replace and replace use_vss="true" with use_vss="false"

4) save changes and close the file

Forum Member
Posts: 4
Comments: 22

Top

I am having the same problem here. ATI 2016 gives me the option to ignore and proceed. What is the implication of ignoring ?

I have also done a complete CHKDS/R with no problems noted. The computer finished and just booted up. Is there a way to further identify is there are bad sectors other than ATI telling me so? 

 

Rick

Legend
Posts: 36
Comments: 11886

Top

Rick, ignoring bad sectors really depends on what / where these are, what is held in them etc.

CHKDSK can only check mounted drive partitions, so if your backup task includes hidden / system partitions, i.e. System Reserved / Recovery / EFI partitions, then you either need to be able to allocate a drive letter to these to run CHKDSK or else use a diagnostic tool from the drive manufacturer to check the whole drive.

Forum Member
Posts: 4
Comments: 22

Top

Thank you, Steve. Coincidentally, the only change to my computer was a BIOS update from Dell the day before yesterday. ATI was working just fine before this. Could a BIOS update cause this problem? And if so, will going back to a point before the BIOS update give me the previous BIOS? 

 

My Hard Drive is a Toshiba. I have not been able to find any diagnostic tools that will work with this on my internet searches.  Any ideas? 

Forum Star
Posts: 80
Comments: 2919

Top
Forum Member
Posts: 4
Comments: 22

Top

Thank you, I will give that a try.

Actually, it is a Dell Computer with a Toshiba Hard Drive. This looks like is a similar program as Dell, but for Toshiba computers.  I have used the Dell Diagnostic tool and all of the Hard Drives show Pass with no errors. 

Legend
Posts: 36
Comments: 11886

Top

Rick, another tool that I have used a number of times is Hiren's Boot Disk, and in particular the HDAT2 diagnostic tool from the DOS Tools menu options.

See the attached document showing how to use this tool.

Attachment Size
441707-143461.pdf 681.62 KB
Forum Member
Posts: 4
Comments: 22

Top

Thanks, Steve. That is very helpful. Interestingly enough, after three fails ATI now works. Go figure. 

Legend
Posts: 36
Comments: 11886

Top

That is strange Rick - hope it stays working well for you!