Skip to main content

I have an old backup.tib splitted into two files but no metadata file

Beginner
Comments: 1

I have an old backup.tib splitted into two files but no metadata file so when I try to open the file I get the following message "The metadata file corresponding to this backup is not found. Place the backup and its metadata in the same folder, and then try again."

the source file and computer are long time gone. what I can do? 

Thanks 

Jose 

0 Users found this helpful
Forum Star
Comments: 4219

I have no experience with splitting *.tib files, but one thing that occurs to me is that validation may work.

This may depend on what version of ATI the backup was created with. You are using 2016 but if it was creeated an earlier version it may be more complicated, particularly with the changes that were introduced with ATI 2015. You could in that case try using the recovery media for that version of ATi which you should be able to download from your Acronis account.

Sorry I cannot be of more help.

Legend
Comments: 24728

As far as I understand only the ATI for Mac version creates metadata files along with its .tib files but like Ian I am not a Mac user so don't know the implications of not having the associated metadata file for a backup you are trying to open?

Beginner
Comments: 1

Hello thank you for your answers, 

yes I created the backup with the version 2013 and I was able to get the installer back and I put it on a windows computer and were able to open the file. 

In fact I was doing it on a Mac using the version 2019. 

I am glad my account had the licenses and those are perpetual. 

Thanks for all the help

Jose

Legend

Jose, thanks for the update and glad that the problem is resolved!

Forum Star
Comments: 4219

+1 to Steve's comment.

Ian

Beginner
Comments: 3