Skip to main content

[IMPORTANT ISSUE] User will not get notified about available updates for Acronis Universal Restore

Thread needs solution
Forum Star
Posts: 444
Comments: 1841

In the matter of investigating another problem, I have checked whether the Acronis Universal Restore is still up to date.

This made me aware that there is no notification or auto-update feature for the additional components for True Image 2016.

Please implement a notification and scheduled task that will care about this. Quite likely this could also affect other additional tools like the Windows PE builder but I haven't tested that yet. Have you checked that yet, Mustang as you are the designated expert for WinPE here.

0 Users found this helpful
Forum Star
Posts: 444
Comments: 1841

At the moment the user has to login to his Acronis Account and download the UR installer, which doesn't show version itself in the name of the MSI or in the user backend interface on the website. So it is just try and error to learn if there is a new UR update available. Also in the Details tab of the MSI there is no version noted - as it is usually the case for MSI packages.

Attachment Size
314587-124291.png 17.08 KB
Forum Star
Posts: 55
Comments: 1948

It is important to update both the media add-on and the Universal Restore component to build 6027. They have both been improved to make them able to create WinPE media with the latest ADK for Windows 10 1511 build 10586 installed.

Forum Star
Posts: 444
Comments: 1841

Good to know, so I think you concur that an update notification for these is quite needed.

Regular Poster
Posts: 3
Comments: 105

If you log into your account with one of the following urls you will be able to see the version numbers before downloading.

https://www.acronis.com/en-us/my/products/

https://www.acronis.com/de-de/my/products/

Attachment Size
314696-124297.png 31.26 KB
Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 7

How do you check that you have the latest version of Acronis Universal Restore (for ATI 2016 version 6027)?

How do you update it?

Is there any difference between Acronis True Image programs for the UK and for the US?

If there is a difference then I want the UK version.

Forum Star
Posts: 444
Comments: 1841

Nils Haugland wrote:

If you log into your account with one of the following urls you will be able to see the version numbers before downloading.

https://www.acronis.com/en-us/my/products/

https://www.acronis.com/de-de/my/products/

 

That is actually true, but to be honest you are referring to the legacy Acronis Web here. The reported issue is valid for the new webpages though.

 

 

Forum Star
Posts: 444
Comments: 1841

Geoffrey Laughton wrote:

How do you check that you have the latest version of Acronis Universal Restore (for ATI 2016 version 6027)?

How do you update it?

I there any difference between Acronis True Image programs for the UK and for the US?

If there is a difference then I want the UK version.

 

Hi Geoffrey,

you can login to your Acronis account to download the new UR installer.

You can check your installed version in the Control Panel > Programs and features (make sure version column as activate in the view) only, as new the "immersive control panel" in Windows 10 for Apps & Features still does not show version numbers in Build 10586 (aka 1511)

 

 

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 7

Hello Karl

Thank you for your reply.

I used "My Account" to download "Universal Restore". The program listed in the Control Panel is now "Acronis Universal Restore Bootable Media Builder" version "11.5.40010". Prior to this download, the Control Panel showed the version as "11.5.39006".

Acronis seems to like making things complicated.

Thanks again Karl

Geoffrey

 

Forum Star
Posts: 444
Comments: 1841

That's perfectly fine. You are welcome Geoffrey. I hope that also other users will see the need of this suggestion and Acronis will also download and update the UR component if applicable when they roll out an ATIH update.

Frequent Poster
Posts: 287
Comments: 535

Just checked and indeecd universal restore (UR) is build 6027 - whet the update to ATIH was posted originally UR had not been updated.

Why can't acronis get their act together an get ALL the necessary updates in place BEFORE that make people aware of a new version. Sigh...

Now got to do the UR update.

Edit: And why dont they include the build number in the various file names - it would make life so much easier - but then that is not the way of Acronis

Forum Star
Posts: 444
Comments: 1841

I concur it would be a best practice to include the version in the UR msi filename and not a big deal to do that, same for the Version number in the MSI file tags as shown.

Adobe does that e.g. Flash and and many other software vendors. It would be kind if - just for the start ATIH would inform the user that he needs to look for updates when there is a new release installed like ATIH 6027, but then when I look how much this application is talking with Acronis server anyway (cloud, update check, account login etc etc, it would not harm to introduce an update check for UR.

The problem is, that they do not see the product as a unique piece. UR is basically an external component taken from the enterprise backup.

For the WinPE they cannot include it simply because of license limitations with Microsoft and last but not least you can see this also for the "Tools" in ATIH, where you find even duplicate features outside ATIH 2016 or features that are not included into the ATIH 2016 interface because they are rarely used and according to a statement of Acronis may get dropped in the future.