Skip to main content

program stops responding when selecting destination for backup

Forum Member
Posts: 20
Comments: 50

I have true image 2016 installed on my computer and have only used it twice on that computer so far and to create my 2nd backup I ended up having to do a repair of the program to get it to work.  I can't recall exactly why or how I got the message to do the repair, but after doing so the backup went smoothly.

I just plugged in my external hard drive and tried to create my backup and when I tried to select the destination folder for the backup the program stopped responding and even after 30 minutes it still had not responded.  I finally gave up and rebooted the pc and tried again with the same results.

After doing some searching I came across an older post that had something to do with the sync agent and I checked that in the services.msc section and it was not running so I tried starting it but got an error message saying that the system cannot find the file specified.  Not sure if that has anything to do with this issue or not.

Anyway, I rebooted again, found my download of the program and selected the repair and now the program is working again.   I am not having any issues (at least not yet) with the program on my other computer.   I am running windows 10 (64 bit) on both computers so it isn't the operating system.  The program is now running and the sync agent is also running but I have no idea why I keep having to do the repair steps on that computer.  I purchased the program online so I don't have a cd of the program - but since that computer does not have a cd/dvd drive it would not make any difference.

Any ideas as to what the problem could be and how to resolve it?  I don't use that computer much and there is very little installed on it and any programs that are installed are also installed on the pc I use daily.

Forum Hero
Posts: 36
Comments: 6141

Top

It's tough to say... did it stop working after a Windows update or ugprade (like when/if you now have the Windows 10 anniversary update)?  Windows upgrades, don't always bring everything over exactly the way they're supposed to.  In the past, whenever I went to a new major OS release I always started with a fresh OS because of this.  With Windows 10 being the last "version" ever, Microsoft is just masking new OS installs as "upgrades", when in fact, they are are new OS installs that then attempt to port over all user settings and applications so things often look ok on the surface, but may end up with some issues under the hood. 

See if things stay stable for awhile and perhaps you're good to go now (or at least until the next major Windows 10 "upgrade") and let us know.  If this behavior becomes an issue again though..

1) you can go into services and change this one from "auotmatic" to "automatic delayed".  It may be that other Windows services are taking a bit longer and not kicking in before this one does.  Setting it to the delayed option will extend that out by another 30 seconds and shouldn't impact the application unless you immediately boot up and go to Launch Acronis before the service is started in the background.  You can also set the starty delayed backup option in your scheduled task to say 1 or 2 minutes so that it doesn't try to run after a reboot or startup right away either, giving the delayed service a little time too.

Or,  if this is system with other Windows upgrades and/or Acronis upgrades from the past, removing it completely through control panel, then running the cleanup tool and installing "fresh" may ultimately save you time and effort and provide a more reliable experience as it could fix some underlying issues that the repair itself is missing.  Try this as a last resort after giving it some time and/or if delaying the automatic start don't help.

Full Acronis cleanup Steps

**Note that performing a full cleanup will remove all Acronis settings, schedules, etc - your old backup files can still be used for recovery with offline recovery media or be added in the Windows GUI again, but you will need to start with "new" backup tasks and should use unique backup names for new tasks, if you plan to hold onto the old backup files for posterity**

1) Remove the existing Acronis application through Control Panel >>> Programs and Features (or Add/Remove Programs on earlier versions of Windows).

2) Download the cleanup tool (it works for 2017) 

3) Right click the cleanup tool executable and "run as administrator" (even if already logged on as an administrtor - to ensure the highest privileges) when you run it.  Follow procedures listed in the KB article linked in the cleanup tool (you can usually skip the registry checks, I never check them)

4) After cleanup, check for leftover directories using Windows File Explorer (some of these are hidden folders so enable "show hidden folders and files in Windows" and delete them if they still exist:

C:\Program Files (x86)\Acronis

C:\Program Files (x86)\Common\Acronis     

C:\Program Files\Acronis     

C:\Program Files\Common\Acronis     

C:\ProgramData\Acronis  

%userprofile%\appdata\local\VirtualStore\ProgramData\Acronis

5) Reboot (not shutdown - if using Windows 10, fastboot may be enabled and you need to reboot to trigger a full shutdown instead of hibernation)

6) Download the most recent version of the Acronis installer from your account and verify the checksum of the file to make sure it matches.

7) Temporarily disable Anti virus programs (this may not be necessary, but if you're here already, it's not going to hurt with the process and may help)

8) Right click the installer and "run as administrator" even if logged in as an admin

Hopefully it installs correctly and all is well again. 

Forum Member
Posts: 20
Comments: 50

Top

Sorry for the delay in getting back to you.  Family emergency and then a death in the family so I am now just getting back to things again.

 

I honestly don't know if there was an update that was installed and then I tried to do the update or not.  I created a backup yesterday without any problems and then today I did some updates (just not the anniversary update for windows 10) and now when I went to create a backup True Image does stop responding when I go to select the destination.  

 

This computer came with Windows 10 Professional installed on it - if that matters.  This is the only version of Acronis True Image that has ever been installed on this computer.

 

You suggested 

"1) you can go into services and change this one from "auotmatic" to "automatic delayed".  It may be that other Windows services are taking a bit longer and not kicking in before this one does.  Setting it to the delayed option will extend that out by another 30 seconds and shouldn't impact the application unless you immediately boot up and go to Launch Acronis before the service is started in the background.  You can also set the starty delayed backup option in your scheduled task to say 1 or 2 minutes so that it doesn't try to run after a reboot or startup right away either, giving the delayed service a little time too.'

 

When I go into services which item am I switching from Automatic to Automatic Delayed?

My computer had been running for a little while before I launched True Image to create the backup today.

 

I just went to my account and am currently downloading the program again.  Not sure how to verify the checksum - but will look into how to do that.

I am also downloading the cleanup tool in case I do have to go that route.

 

In case you wanted to know which updates were just installed...

Security Update for Adobe Flash Player for Windows 10 Version 1511 (for x64-based Systems) (KB3214628)

Windows Malicious Software Removal Tool for Windows 8, 8.1, 10 and Windows Server 2012, 2012 R2, 2016 x64 Edition - January 2017 (KB890830)

Cumulative Update for Windows 10 Version 1511 for x64-based Systems (KB3210721)

Synaptics - Pointing Drawing - Synaptics Pointing Device

Logitech - Other hardware - Logitech USB Input Device

Update for Windows 10 Version 1511 for x64-based Systems (KB3181403)

Update for Windows 10 Version 1511 for x64-based Systems (KB3161102)

Security Update for Windows 10 Version 1511 for x64-based Systems (KB3172729)

 

Oddly enough, these updates are installed on the other computer and I am not having an issue with creating backups on that pc.  Darn computers!

Will wait on doing the uninstall'; running cleanup tool and then installing the program again until I hear back regarding the items you suggest I do in Services.  

 

Forum Member
Posts: 20
Comments: 50

Top

I figured out how to check / verify the checksum and the download matches.   

So now if I do need to un-install the program and then run the cleanup tool and reinstall True Image I have a good download.

Will wait to hear back and see exactly which files to swich to delay and then try creating a backup and see if it still stops responding before going any further. 

Thanks Again

Legend
Posts: 43
Comments: 13041

Top

Lisa, the main Acronis Service that it is recommended to set to Automatic Delayed is the Scheduler 2 service which is required for backups to run.

Forum Member
Posts: 20
Comments: 50

Top

Thanks, I did that and then shut down the computer, waited about an hour and then turned the computer back on.  Did a few things, went for a walk and when I came back tried running the backup software again and I am still getting the "not responding" when I click to select the destination source. 

Even if I wait for a while it never does respond and I have to go to task manager in order to end the task.

I am guessing that maybe I should follow the steps for the Full Acronis cleanup steps that you gave me - including running the cleanup tool and then after following all of those steps install the new download.

Is this correct?

 

Thanks Again 

Forum Hero
Posts: 33
Comments: 6380

Top

Yes full uninstall and clean up is recommended.

Forum Member
Posts: 20
Comments: 50

Top

Okay, will do that now.  I did copy and print the steps you gave me so that I can be sure to do it all in the order as given.   Thanks So Very Much

Forum Member
Posts: 20
Comments: 50

Top

I also printed out the information on the cleanup utility.  I was just running it on that machine and I got to a step that is not included in the information for the tool.   It is asking if I want to removed extended capacity disks.   This question came up after clicking  / selecting y for the question regarding terminating Windows Explorer.   I have not gone any further since I was not sure if I should select Y or N

 

Legend
Posts: 43
Comments: 13041

Top

Lisa, it is very unlikely that you have extended capacity disks and this software function was dropped from Acronis True Image in around 2014 IIRC, so you should take the N option.

Forum Member
Posts: 20
Comments: 50

Top

Thanks, will do that now and will continue with the rest of the steps.  Thanks So Very Much 

Forum Member
Posts: 20
Comments: 50

Top

I followed the rest of the steps and then clicked to restart the computer.  I am now getting a screen saying "getting Windows ready Don't Turn Off your computer" and the rotating circle.  It has been at that step for almost 30 minutes now and the computer is not restarting.

Legend
Posts: 43
Comments: 13041

Top

Lisa, every time I have seen the screens you mention, this has always been a Windows Update or a new version of Windows being installed, and the best advice is to let it complete normally as you may end in a worse state if it is interrupted.  There have been some quite large updates recently for Windows 10 which took similar time on some of my systems.

Would suggest to leave the computer powered on and go do something else for an hour then come back and check on the progress.

Forum Hero
Posts: 33
Comments: 6380

Top

Ditto Steve on that, let the process complete.

Forum Member
Posts: 20
Comments: 50

Top

Okay, will do so, and will make sure to plug in the power cord too since it is a little laptop computer.  Will check back in about an hour.

Thanks So Very Much 

Forum Member
Posts: 20
Comments: 50

Top

My computer has now started again and I disabled my anti-virus program and then selected to run the installer as administrator.  I did check to see what updates might have been installed but nothing showed up in the update history.  Oh Well!

However, by disabling my anti-virus for the install the installation of Acronis True Image failed and the message stated that "an installation for Sophos Management Communications System is currently suspended.  You must undo the changed to continue.  So going to turn back on the anti-virus and try again.

This time the installation completed successfully and when I clicked to select the destination the problem is gone.  Thanks So Very Very Much

Legend
Posts: 43
Comments: 13041

Top

Lisa, thanks for giving feedback and glad to hear that you have ATIH working again after doing the clean install.

Forum Member
Posts: 20
Comments: 50

Top

I am just so happy that it is working again and I can't thank you enough for all the help  :)   Have a Great Day  :)

 

Forum Member
Posts: 20
Comments: 50

Top

I realize that this is an old post but I am again having issues with Acronis True Image 2016 and this Lenovo Thinkpad which is running windows 10 professional.

I only use this little laptop maybe once a month and sometimes I don't use if for even longer.   Windows did the "update" yesterday so after I went through the updates and then went to make a backup of the computer.   But again, the program is not responding when I go to select the destination for the backup.

So I started to follow the steps above again.  

I have gotten as far as ..... but when I click on C:\Program Files (x86)\Acronis I keep getting a message saying that "the action can't be completed because the foklder or a file in is is open in another program. Close the folder or file and try again.   But I do not have anything else open.

In the meantime I am downloading the installer again so that once I get past this issue I can then reboot and then reinstall the program.

 

 

Legend
Posts: 43
Comments: 13041

Top

Lisa, sorry to hear that this problem looks to have come back again.

If you have an existing backup task that you are trying to run here to make a fresh backup after the latest Windows 10 Update just installed, then it should only be necessary to try clicking on the Backup Now button for that task initially.  If that gives an error message that something cannot be found, then you should try reselecting the Source data first, then the Destination data if that is being indicated as a possible error.

If you have downloaded the latest ATI 2016 build installer, then you can try doing just a Repair install if there are still problems with getting the backup to run.  This just means installing ATI again without uninstalling the current software first.

You could also try creating a new backup task instead of reusing the old one to see if that will work for you?