Skip to main content

rescue media fails to boot

Beginner
Posts: 4
Comments: 6

acronis true image 2016 build 6571

built rescue media ( both cd, dvd, and usb stick ) and all fail with the same error.

 

right after choosing acronis from the boot options it says "loading please wait"

then comes back with

udevd-work mknod /dev/vcs2 7:2 failed no space left on the device

I am not sure what device it is talking about since the cd should not need space and the drive on the machine has several hundred GB of free space. also there is 16GB ram on the machine.

see the attached picture for full error details.

any ideas would be very helpful.

 

Attachment Size
acronis_errror.jpg 970.29 KB
Forum Hero
Posts: 29
Comments: 9631
mvp

Top

John, the /dev/vcs2 is just a linux virtual console character device being used in the Acronis boot process.

How does your Windows OS boot on this computer system i.e. using UEFI / Secure Boot or in BIOS / Legacy mode?

This is important as you need to ensure that the rescue media is booted in exactly the same mode.

See webpage: BIOS Mode - See if Windows Boot in UEFI or Legacy Mode for help on confirming the boot mode.

Forum Hero
Posts: 29
Comments: 5599
mvp

Top

Are you overclocking your RAM?  If so this could be the issue.  either scale overclocking back by a percentage or 2 or set to default settings for puproses of booting the Recovery Media.

Beginner
Posts: 4
Comments: 6

Top

Steve,

thanks for your time. It appears ( based on the link in your post ) to be legacy  in that looking at disk management I see two partitions neither show uefi (both are ntfs and my understanding is the uef partition has to be fat 32 )

 

 

Beginner
Posts: 4
Comments: 6

Top

Enchantech,

thanks for the reply. No i am not overclocking ram or cpu. just stock right out of the box.

Forum Hero
Posts: 29
Comments: 5599
mvp

Top

Yoiur error indicates that the boot media cannot create the ramdisk partitions necessary to fully the application.  It is possible that you have defective RAM.  You might want to run some diagnostics on it to see if you get any faults.

Forum Hero
Posts: 35
Comments: 6089
mvp

Top

Your screenshot shows a message about busybox?  Is this running in a VM or on a Linux hosted OS?  

If so, how much memory does the VM have allocated to it?  Another user had only 512Kb selected which is not enough.  You'll  need a minimum of 1Gb memory to boot the media on a VM as it loads into a ramdisk which is entirely in memory.  2Gb would be even better to make sure there's memory available to run on top of the ramdisk too.

As for Linux OS support... only Windows and OS X are supported (with the specific bootable media for each). 

https://kb.acronis.com/content/56517

 

 

Forum Hero
Posts: 29
Comments: 5599
mvp

Top

Busybox is the underlying Linux Distro that runs the TI application. 

Beginner
Posts: 4
Comments: 6

Top

Enchantech,

thanks again for your time,

 

I don't think this is defective ram as the box boots and runs with no issues at all.  I'll pull down memtest and see if it turns up anything though.

also, not sure if this matters, but the machine is a dell precision 5510 using an NVMe SSD drive

I have another machine  which can  boot from the true image 2013 media but which gives me the same error when i try to use the 2016 boot media.

I'd rather not use the wenpe option, so if there is some way to debug this i'd love to try it.

also,  just in case my AV was causing an issue with the media build, as a test I disabled all the AV services with msconfig rebooted and built a new boot cd,  but got the same results.

edit:  while the true image 2013 rescue media WILL boot the box above, it does not see the disk im a guessing because its NVMe.

edit :  I ran memtest on my machine and it came back clean.

Forum Hero
Posts: 29
Comments: 9631
mvp

Top

John,

It looks like the newer version of Linux used in the standard rescue media is having a problem on your specific system and the only way that you would be able to get this debugged would be to go directly to Acronis Support as per document: 18623: How to get Technical Support: Tips, Tricks and Useful Information and pay $20 for:

4.    Priority Pay Per Incident Support
- Related to the technical issues with the product
- Priced per incident
- Valid for 1 incident only
- 24x7
- Provided via e-mail, chat, phone
Response time: 
- 1 business day
- immediate via chat
- immediate via phone

The alternative is to give the Windows PE rescue media a go - if you are running Windows 10, then the process is painless from my own experience, you will be prompted to download the Windows 10 ADK plus any other required components if not already installed, and taken through the steps in a clear way.

 

    Forum Hero
    Posts: 35
    Comments: 6089
    mvp

    Top

    I would report this as a restore issue with technical support and it should be free. If you can't boot the recovery media to restore from it, then you can't properly restore.

    what is your sata mode in the bios and is secure boot off? I have 5510s and they boot with the media when sata mode is AHCI in the bios. 

    What if you download the iso from your account, burn it and try booting it to see if it's the same error? Perhaps the media creation on your machine is the culprit and trying the default iso may confirm or disprove this.

    can you boot your media on any machine?

    Forum Hero
    Posts: 35
    Comments: 6089
    mvp

    Top

    For what it's worth, you may also want to try setting the bios SATA mode to AHCI and ensure safeboot is disabled... For whatever reason Dell is shipping many of the new ultrabooks with sata mode as "RAID-ON" with a single disk instead of AHCI. I am able to boot rescue media on 7510's and 5510's with SATA mode in AHCI.  I'm also finding that the latest 7540's will only boot rescue media in UEFI mode - even though they have legacy/CSM mode and it can be specifically selected in the bios and in the F12 one-time boot menu.  

    Also when booting your media, REBOOT (don't shut down - fastboot may have locked the hiberboot.sys file which I've read will prevent other pre-boot devices from working when this happens).  Rebooting forces a full shutdown and prevents a hibernation file from remaining locked.  After rebooting, press F12 to get to the one-time boot menu and specifically select UEFI USB to boot the media... assuming it's good media, safeboot is off, sata mode is AHCI, it should definitely boot.

    If doing those things with secure boot off is still bringing this error, then I'd try the media on another machine to see if it works on it or not.  If not, I would guess something is going wrong with your media creation and would try to build it from another system with a clean install of Acronis 2016 v6579 installed.  

     

     

    Beginner
    Posts: 4
    Comments: 6

    Top

    thanks to each of you for your responses.

    not sure this is relevent or not but the partedmagic  linux disk boots up just find on this machine.

          for reference : https://partedmagic.com/

    this should be fine for the 5510 since i wanted to boot into true image to security wipe the disk.

    however on the other machine i tested that exibits the same error ( but true image 2013 does boot correctly )

    i still need to trouble shoot.  I will check the disk setting in bios to see if its AHCI or something else

     

    edit :  ok checked bios and it is set to use AHCI

    edit2:   kundo's to Bobbo_3C0X1  on the machine i was building the media on, it was originally installed as acronis 2013 and upgraded to 2016

                i had a newer machine that i had installed 2016 on and just built  media with it and it seems to be working !

               so my guess is something got borked with the 2013 -> 2016 upgrade.

    my thanks to each of you for your time and thoughts on this.

     

    Forum Hero
    Posts: 29
    Comments: 9631
    mvp

    Top

    John, thanks for giving your feedback with the solution you have found to this issue.

    Forum Hero
    Posts: 35
    Comments: 6089
    mvp

    Top

    Finally got my hands on a 5510 today.  No issues booting 2016 default linux recovery media in either UEFI or legacy mode.  I have attached some bios screenshots of my settings and the bootmenus.  I have confirmed that all bios menus boot into their respective applications as well (my menu is custom, but that is just .xml formatting to get the menus to look how I want and me adding in different tools so I only have to use one USB.  All of the files are original with no changes, other than me updating the menus in the .xml files so they appear as options.

     

    Attachment Size
    378318-132028.jpg 208.21 KB
    378318-132031.jpg 125.92 KB
    378318-132034.jpg 212.49 KB
    378318-132037.jpg 317.01 KB
    378318-132040.jpg 306.17 KB
    378318-132043.jpg 313.16 KB
    378318-132046.jpg 513.35 KB
    378318-132049.jpg 295.7 KB
    378318-132052.jpg 356.11 KB
    378318-132055.jpg 321.85 KB
    378318-132058.jpg 469.75 KB
    378318-132061.jpg 234.95 KB
    Ori
    Forum Member
    Posts: 15
    Comments: 23

    Top

    Bobbo_3C0X1,

    I am impressed and very appreciative of your help.

    I reviewed the screenshots of your bios.  Of course, the bios of my older system does not have many of the settings you cite.

    I made sure that any of the settings found in my older system match the value, or have similar values, then saved the bios and restarted.

    PE recovery did not start - computer goes right to boot from hard drive.

    The Linux recovery did boot up.  While the original error was a crash by this version, this did not happen this time!  Is it the weather? Time of day?

    I am going to shut off the system and try again tomorrow.

    Thank you again for your time and help.

    Forum Hero
    Posts: 35
    Comments: 6089
    mvp

    Top

    Glad to help.  I wonder if it is skipping the USB boot at times because the system is in a fastboot hibernation instead of a full shutdown.  Try powering off using command prompt and

    shutdown /p

    This will always force an immediate, full shutdown and avoid a fastboot shutdown (hibernation).

    If the Linux boot media continues to work, feel free to use it.  If you want to try WinPE again, do a full disk format (a long one instead of a quick one).  Then rebuild the WinPE resuce media and use the MVP creator to help as it will give you the IRST drivers (just in case you're using any type of RAID in the system). I think that the shutdown/p or booting after a RESTART may help in either case though.

    Beginner
    Posts: 1
    Comments: 23

    Top

    Guys, any help for me?  I have a 5510 that bricked and have restored the Windows 7 image but cannot get my Acronis to work!  I have a list of images and it says they are not the last?  Or are incomplete.  PITA....

     

    BTW, the handy guide pinned to the start is no longer available. 

    Forum Hero
    Posts: 29
    Comments: 9631
    mvp

    Top

    Jerry, if you have already restored your Windows 7 image, then when you say that you cannot get Acronis to work, is this the Windows version?  If so, please open this as a New Topic as it is a different issue than not being able to boot the Acronis Rescue Media.

    On the handy guide - do you remember which particular pinned post it was?  Unfortunately with the new forum software most of the pinned posts have gone back to being regular posts!

    Beginner
    Posts: 1
    Comments: 23

    Top

    This does not work:

     

    https://forum.acronis.com/forum/acronis-true-image-2017-forum/tutorial-…

     

    I give up.  I have to find some other back-up solution.  I cannot rely on this product.

    Beginner
    Posts: 1
    Comments: 23

    Top

    This does not work:

     

    https://forum.acronis.com/forum/acronis-true-image-2017-forum/tutorial-…

     

    I give up.  I have to find some other back-up solution.  I cannot rely on this product.

    Forum Hero
    Posts: 29
    Comments: 9631
    mvp

    Top

    Jerry, you can get to the tutorial document at ATIH 2017 Disk Restore.PDF

    We would be happy to try to help you further if you want to share more information on what the actual problem is here and what you have done so far etc?