Skip to main content

Unable to transfer ATI 2020 license to new machine

Thread solved
Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 1

I've recently installed a quad NVMe card and the Softraid software appears to be messing up True Image 2020 since I moved to Windows 11.  I've got fed up trying to get it working and want to transfer the license to a different machine so I can at least back that up. 

I go through the transfer process via the accounts page, select the right copy of Acronis press the transfer all licenses button, type in the registered email and password then I get a "that's a 500 error" Opps something went wrong, try to refresh the page or contact our support. 

 

I've refreshed the page 20 times, now trying to get support involved but it appears that it is not in support anymore. 

 

Any ideas?, as this appears to be an Acronis problem.   

 

Thanks in advance

Attachment Size
Screenshot 2022-03-24 094235.png 30.59 KB
0 Users found this helpful
Legend
Posts: 110
Comments: 28777

Steve, welcome to these public User Forums.

The option you are looking at does not transfer any licenses between different PC's, it would only transfer the licenses to a different Acronis Account as indicated by the new email address you are using, so that new account needs to be created first!

To move your license to a new / different PC you just need to install ATI 2020 on that new PC then use the options that will be shown for solving activation issues.

See KB 62744: Acronis True Image 2020 (Windows): "You've exceeded the maximum number of activations for this serial number" - for moving your license to the new computer.

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 1

Thanks for that, it wasnt particularly clear the transfer function, hence the confusion. 

 

I had already uninstalled and attempted to reinstall the software on the new doner machine, this just got stuck in a loop, saying that it had been activated too many times then the above confusion set in. All I wanted at that point was a WinPE boot disc and did it from the USB key.  The machine has subsequently being turned into an unRAID server now.   

Thanks again for the clarification of that transfer function.

 

Forum Member
Posts: 14
Comments: 23

How can we transfer licenses from the program when we can't login :-(
Have the same issue with 2016. Tried all fixes. Still not able to login :-(
This is just poor customer service and you will loose customers!

Legend
Posts: 110
Comments: 28777

Lars-Erik, from some testing I was doing yesterday for another user topic True Image 2015 License Transfer there looks to be issues on the Acronis side with their certification server used for doing license transfers!

Please open a support case direct with Acronis via the Non-Technical option which provides support for Activation & Licensing issues.

Forum Member
Posts: 14
Comments: 23

Acroinis refuses to look at both my login problem and help transfer licenses.
Say product is retired (or something) even if I have a 3 PC ligetime license.

Idiotic that there is no other way to move a license than from within TrueImage

Legend
Posts: 110
Comments: 28777

Lars-Erik, please raise this issue directly with Arpita Ghosh <Arpita.Ghosh@acronis.com> who is the Acronis Senior Product Manager for True Image / Cyber Protect Home Office.