Skip to main content

Universal Restore STILL doesn't support newer Dell Optiplex

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 1

I could understand when the Dell Optiplex 3040 was released six or more months ago that Universal Restore wouldn't support it's chipset, but come on guys!  Half a year later and your software still doesn't support Delll's most popular business hardware line?  Pretty sure this is the last version of Acronis for me.  Universal Restore leaves the USB ports inactive meaning you can't login, meaning you can't do anything.  good work guys!

Forum Hero
Posts: 28
Comments: 9277
mvp

Top

Ben, welcome to these user forums.

It sounds to me that you are creating the standard, Linux based, Universal Restore media and that this does not contain the device driver support for your newer Dell Optiplex 3040 system.

You should be creating the Windows PE version of the AUR media instead which will provide greater support for newer devices, especially if you install the Windows 10 ADK which embeds a broad range of device support.  See screen image attached below for where to choose to build the WinPE version.

You can also create the Rescue Media to include both the Acronis True Image application and Universal Restore on the same media by choosing the options to include on the Advanced page tab settings for Removable Media - see second screen image below:

Finally, see sticky post: 127282: MVP Tool - CUSTOM ATI WINPE BUILDER for a utlity script program created by the MVP community that makes the task of adding additional device drivers to Windows PE media much simpler for users.

Attachment Size
400120-135589.png 11.7 KB
400120-135592.png 22.18 KB
Forum Hero
Posts: 35
Comments: 6089
mvp

Top

The screenshots in the second item above from Steve, only build Linux bootable media, so won't help with the creation of WinPE. However, that is an easy way to get all of the Linux components on the same drive as your backups.

Alternatively, you can do this with the Linux option of the Universal Restore Media builder as well.   C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Acronis\UniversalRestore\UniversalRestore.exe  The Linux version, let's you pick which componentes of Acornis to include in the bootable media.

 

HOWEVEr, if drivers are lacking in the default Linux media, WinPE is the way to go as you can add your own drivers in there and the newer versions of the Windows ADK are likely to have better "out of the box" driver support.  Tthe MVP PE builder is great for building the standard Acronis bootable rescue media, but does not include UR WinPE media.  It's not needed as you can build  UR WinPE media  directly in the UR media builder tool (see screenshots).

From there, you build the WinPE with the version of ADK already installed on the machine (the newer, the better - Windows 10 1511 is ideal).  When asked for drivers in the UR WinPE media builder, inject the Dell WinPE Driver pack for the version of ADK installed on the system and be sure to only include the ones for the PE architeture (32-bit or 64-bit) that you're building since the Dell WinPE driver.cab packs include both 32-bit and 64-bit drivers.

DELL WinPE - CAB Availability (follow the links for CAB details and to download)

WinPE version Current CAB
WinPE 10 A03 (04/12/2016)
WinPE 5.x A08 (04/12/2016)
WinPE 4.x  A06 (06/02/2015)
WinPE 3.x A20 (04/12/2016)
WinPE 2.x A00 (05/26/2009)

 

Attachment Size
400126-135595.jpg 49.64 KB
400126-135598.jpg 53.33 KB
Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 1

Top

My thanks to the both of you.  I hope I've made my dilemna clear - I am able to run the Universal Restore and point it to the hardware drivers for the Optiplex 3040 (obtained as a driver pack from Dell for Windows 7 X64), and it seems like it works correctly.  However, when I boot to the new disk that has been cloned and then UR'ed, it boots fine but doesn't correctly load the USB drivers, meaning I can't login.  The mouse and keyboard are active in the BIOS and there are no problems iwhen running the UR boot media, it's just when I want to actually boot the UR'ed disk.  Additionally, the network drivers are not correctly loaded either, so I can't RDP into it either, leaving me effectively locked out of the machine.  I can take that disk and put it into an Optiplex 3020 and the USB ports and devices are recognized correctly.  Dell changed something in the 3040 (most likely the chipset) and Acronis appears to not have caught up.

When I last ran into this, I banged my head against the wall for some 20 hours (including using the WinPE option instead of Linux) but got nowhere.

I am familar with creating the bootable media containing both TI and UR.  

Does the inclusion of the Win ADK drivers into the WinPE boot disk help with the drivers that are then installed onto the resulting disk (the restored disk that will go in the end machine) or does it just help the WinPE disk run with more hardware?

My scenario is that I am upgrading the entire hardware of an existing older machine with lots of installed software; I have done this with many clients where the software seems to be in good order.  I clone the original disk to the new hard drive, Universal Restore to replace hardware drivers, then boot to the new disk, login and fix any outstanding driver issues.  

I will next try the DEVCON hack (again) and see if I get further this time.

Forum Hero
Posts: 28
Comments: 9277
mvp

Top

Ben, thanks for the further information and update on status for this issue.

The fact that you say you can take the restored / prepared disk and put it in an Optiplex 3020 and all is recognised OK would suggest that this is going to be a chipset issue.  Have you added the Optiplex 3040 chipset drivers to the Universal Restore media?

The inclusion of the Win ADK drivers into the WinPE boot disk is simply to make this run with the broadest range of hardware and should not affect the drivers that get included with the restored disk in the end machine.  The ADK drivers are there to allow the media to boot to access the Acronis applications and allow these to recognise the available hardware devices involved in the backup or restore actions.

Just an aside, do you have Samsung Magician installed / active on the drive being migrated here?  We have seen some strange issues in the forums where this has rendered USB keyboard and mouse devices inoperative until it was disabled.

The other option would be to open a support ticket directly with Acronis for this issue - all ATIH 2016 & 2017 Users now get upto 2 years of support from date of purchase (instead of the original 30 days only).

Forum Hero
Posts: 29
Comments: 5576
mvp

Top

I agree with Steve here, your issue is likely that of incompatible chipset drivers.  Including updated chipset drivers in the UR should reslove the issue for you.

Forum Hero
Posts: 35
Comments: 6089
mvp

Top

Have you tried to use both the USB 2.0 and 3.0 ports on both the front and back to see if any port makes a difference after deployment? the specs for the Optiplex 3040 show the following (try them all initially a the rear 2.0 ports may give you better luck initially if it's a driver issue):  

4 – USB 3.0 ( 2 front / 2 rear )
2 – USB 2.0 ( 0 front / 2 rear )

 

Is it the same issue, if you don't add any additional drivers with Universal Restore - let it just run and generalize with no additional drivers with UR at that time and and try to boot?

 

In either scenario (what you've tried so far and/or without adding any additional drivers in UR), once the OS is deployed and is bootable, if the USB is not working, how about if you try to boot into safemode - does it work then?  If so, perhaps you can try installing the drivers manually there?  I'd be intereseted if the drivers are actually installed, but showing disabled, which could be a different issue.

 

I had a Dell 530 several years ago that had some custom USB settings for USB 3.0.  The default settings for "super speed" or whatever it was called, actually prevented UsB 3.0 working correctly out of the box.  Perhaps there's a bios config for USB that might help if nothing else is on this particular system.

 

I would think that providing the full extracted Dell driver pack for this system (make sure you're only including the 64-bit drivers and not the 32-bit, assuming your OS is a 64-bit OS) would have all of the drivers necessary.  What OS is your image deployment and which driver pack .cab are you using?  Did you exctract the contents of the .cab and ensure that only the proper architeture is being used (64-bit for 64-bit machines or x86 for 32-bit machines - which will be based upon the OS that was installed when the image was taken, of course).

Optiplex Systems - CAB Availability (follow the links for CAB details and to download)

System Windows 10 System CAB Windows 8.1 System CAB Windows 8 System CAB Windows 7 System CAB Vista System CAB XP System CAB
3040 A05 (11/08/2016) A02 (07/12/2016)   A04 (11/08/2016)  

In reply to by Steve Smith

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 1

Top

I have Samsung Magician installed and took an image while the computer was attached to the domain.

It's giving me the same 'no mouse or keyboard' when it gets to the 'Press CTRL + ALT + DEL' screen...

I want to rename the new computer and change the SID (just like I used to with Ghost).

 

Should I disable Samsung Magician on my old machine, then take an image, then restore to new machine?

OR

Should I disable Samsung Magician on my old machine, remove from domain, take image, restore to new machine?

Forum Hero
Posts: 28
Comments: 9277
mvp

Top

Greg, welcome to these Acronis User Forums.

Sorry but I cannot help or advise you regarding Samsung Magician other than to say that there have been reports in these forums that having this active can cause issues with backup images when they have been restored.

If you are restoring to different hardware as indicated, then yes, I would recommend disabling Samsung Magician before making a backup image and restoring that image to new hardware, followed by then booting the new computer using the Universal Restore utility.