Skip to main content

Windows 10 ADK for PE boot image

Thread needs solution
Regular Poster
Posts: 15
Comments: 123

I have downloaded the Windows 10 ADK and have both the older 8.1 kit and the new one installed.
Will the PE builder use the new ADK 10?
Has anyone got this to work?

I've had no issues with ATI 2015 and the 8.1 ADK, but I've read about issues with the new version so I just wanted to check before I dive in. If it works I can uninstall the 8.1 ADK.

0 Users found this helpful
Forum Member
Posts: 10
Comments: 35

it is no longer recognized as dangerous now

is ok all

Forum Member
Posts: 10
Comments: 35

Well here are the results of the test backup and restoration cloud acronis 2016 build 5586,
with cd linux (french and azerty) and cd winpe (winpe in English and qwerty)

linux and "winpe" everything is ok but with exclusions acronis 2016 I recovered nearly 7GB it is normal that?

[url=http://terriers.vraiforum.com/image/110/4/0/8/2015-aout-30-acro...usions01-4c8d55e.jpg.htm][img]http://img110.xooimage.com/files/4/0/8/2015-aout-30-acro...usions01-4c8d55e.jpg[/img][/url]

10mn backup and hard but it restores not even see 3mn 2mn45

Attachment Size
294597-122059.jpg 89.37 KB
Forum Member
Posts: 10
Comments: 35

I find good or 7GB come to recover AC protection systems come from,
and since I acronis windows 7
I always disables the protection systems because
I recovered everything with acronis So everything is normal except perhaps winpe has to french,
how to configure winpe in FR and azerty?

Regular Poster
Posts: 15
Comments: 123

I do not depend on Windows System Protection to save restore points for me, so I have that feature disabled. The restore points quickly grow in size to whatever maximum you set up - 7GB or 8GB is common.

I find full image backups to be the best solution for me, so long as one is diligent. Naturally for most casual users, the system restore is useful so long as one knows how to use it properly.

The main issue I deal with is making sure I have a consistent set of backup images for all my partitions. I have 14 partitions with music software VSTs and libraries scattered here and there. So I need to make sure I can restore any or all of them, if needed.

Fortunately, that rarely becomes necessary these days as the software from reliable vendors is becoming more stable and robust.

The most common problem I encountered requiring a restore or recovery is due to new installations - not the older ones.

So I always backup before new installs.

Windows 10 updates are more of a problem because the new features are more hidden and the updates are more frequent. I presume that will change in the next few months as Microsoft telemetry data gets more refined.

Forum Member
Posts: 10
Comments: 35

regarding winpe how to configure winpe in french and AZERTY keyboard?
is what I have to reinstall the version winpe FR ?

Forum Member
Posts: 16
Comments: 21

Had same problem before. I made it work by uninstalling and reinstalling Acronis TI2016 Media addon and all is well now. Really frustrating though as I wasted lot of time on it. Just my 2 cents...

d f
Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 1

As mentioned in this post, I had to uninstall all of True image 2016 and addons and reinstall and it worked.

I had tried everything mentioned for 2 days with no luck.   After re-install it was perfect.

D

Forum Hero
Posts: 46
Comments: 7038

didier wrote:

regarding winpe how to configure winpe in french and AZERTY keyboard?
is what I have to reinstall the version winpe FR ?

I believe the Windows ADK for creating WinPE is language specific.  You would need to use this one (I think)

https://msdn.microsoft.com/fr-fr/windows/hardware/dn913721.aspx

 

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 1

When I install this I should be looking for an .iso that Universal Restore uses, right?

I run a Gaming LAN Center and use Acronis to clone drives off of an off-site template machine when I have issues with the machines in my store. Problem is, while most of my machines are the same as the temlate, a few of them are different and I am having trouble with the universal restore.

To complicate matters, a couple of my machines are running Windows 10 (all of them will be soon - trying to update everything before it stops being free) and there isn't an .iso available within Acronis for Win10. I followed the link posted here and installed it but don't see and .iso in any of the folders so I don't know what I'm supposed to select when I choose to "Use WinPE files located in the folder I specify."

Forum Star
Posts: 344
Comments: 1478

Adam you might save yourself a lot of work. Please make sure all of your machines support AHCI in the BIOS / UEFI (if you do not use NVMe yet). If you can reply to me that this is the case let me know if each machine already has AHCI enabled in the BIOS / UEFI or not.

In case that all machines use AHCI you do not need Universal Restore.

Forum Hero
Posts: 46
Comments: 7038

Adam,

You lost me a little bit.  So, you've got a Windows 10 template, but are looking for a Universal Restore media to run on it as well?  The last version of UR was with v6027 on the Linux side.  If that is not detecting your OS for some reason, then WinPE would be the way to go to create a new .iso or a bootable USB thumb drive.

You would need to download and install the Windows 10 ADK first.  Once installed, run the Universal Restore media builder (not the media builder in Acronis).  Instead of the default Linux media, select the WinPE option.  Acronis will do the rest and build you a 64-bit WinPE .wim, .iso, bootable usb drive OR burn directly to a disc of the appropriate size that you can use to boot your newly created WinPE Universal Restore media.

As Karl mentioned though, Windows 10 is much more forgiviing with drivers than previous versions of Windows.  If your OS image was originally built on a motherboard that had the SATA MODE set to AHCI, UR is almost never needed with Windows 10.  

Forum Star
Posts: 344
Comments: 1478

Thanks Bobbo, but it is not really limited to Win 10. The original use of UR is that Windows will result in a stop 0x7b error because of non existant IDE / SATA / RAID drivers. Since AHCI drivers are usually universal (some caveats with a few AMD chipsets) and a user can also switch from the current specific driver to AHCI without reinstalling, UR is not necessary.

Once he can deliver me the results of the BIOS / UEFI setups he has in his branch, I'd like to give him further instructions. If he has some computers that do not support AHCI at all but just IDE / RAID modes he cannot live without UR, also Win 10 might not have the drivers included or actively loaded by default.

 

Forum Hero
Posts: 46
Comments: 7038

Karl, agreed on the stop code and the need to use AHCI in many cases and if AHCI is in use, UR is, for the most part, not necessary.  The only other time I have generally had to use it is for special RAID controllers.

Unfortnately, if UR is not detecting the installed OS at all, it won't be usable in any instance.  That's why I would try testing with a WinPE version of UR that was created with the Win10ADK as that will give the best chance at detecting the OS.  I've also found that how you boot the rescue media makes a difference.. if OS was installed in Legacy mode, but the rescue media in legacy mode and vice-versa if using UEFI mode for the OS.  The best way to do this is using the sytsem boot override or onetime boot menu so you can see the different boot options and specicially pick one instead of letting the bios pick the one it thinks it should based on the boot order configured in the bios. 

Forum Star
Posts: 344
Comments: 1478

Agreed.

In reply to by Mustang

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 1

Now why would you want to downgrade to 8.1, I just think it's pretty crappy how this issue has been going on for over a year-and-a-half disk director media builder is a waste of time you cannot create a bootable Windows PE 10 current build with disk director rescue media but this is not new this is been going on for way too long acronis used to be number one product used to be number but they're not even close as far as I'm concerned too many issues and crappy support.....

Forum Moderator
Posts: 109
Comments: 3981

Hello Anthony,

Welcome to Acronis forums! Sorry to know that you're disappointed with our software and service. Would you mind sharing the ticket ID, so that we can discuss your support incident with the team manager? If you are currently experiencing any issues with Acronis software, I'd welcome you to start a new discussion and we'll try to help. 

Have a great day!

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 1

This issue is happening over 3 years after this thread was created! In my situation, as far as I know, the machine I am forced to use (since my machine is out-of-order, hence the need for Acronis), has never had an Acronis product installed on it previously. Today, I downloaded the **latest** version of Disk Director 12 (build 96, from 2017) and installed it and ran the media builder. Prior to this I had already installed the very latest ADK for Windows 10 as well as the preinstallation addon for it. Did Disk Director allow me to build a WinPE-based rescue disk? Nope. And this with it offering the same download link as I had used to previously download the ADK from!!! I then noticed that the screen says it wants either the AIK or WDK even though above this it provides links to versions of AIK and ADK! However, just to be sure, I still installed the latest WDK. I restarted Disk Director but still no luck. It simply won't let me build a WinPE boot disk!!! Seriously Acronis. It's been over 3 years and this issue is still happening! Come on.

Legend
Posts: 46
Comments: 15463

Andreas, welcome to these public User Forums.

Please consider downloading and using the  MVP Tool - CUSTOM ATI WINPE BUILDER - which will allow you to create WinPE media and include Acronis True Image 2016 - 2019 plus include Disk Director using the Win 10 ADK.  The Acronis products need to be installed on the computer running the tool.