Skip to main content

WTF! - Acronis hangs at terminating current process!

Thread needs solution
Forum Member
Posts: 18
Comments: 65

This is getting very old. Acronis used to be a solid piece of software, not this piece of crap it is now!

Rebooting goes into this extended wait time up to 5 minutes while it is terminating processes! Which I usually have to hit the reset button...

I have performed multiple work arounds and it always comes back.

I don't want this crap SYNC or CLOUD crap running! I don't use or want it. All this is doing is hosing up Windows 10. WTF did I buy an SSD for if your software that I paid money for hoses the reboot time!

Fix this piece of crap. There are numerous, and I mean numerous reports of the same problem!

If anyone has a solution as to which version of Acronis (any previous version) to run on Windows 10, I would appreciate the information. If I have to go back as far as 2012, and that is the fix, no problem.

A fustraited paid client of Acronis!

 

0 Users found this helpful
Forum Hero
Posts: 59
Comments: 7358

Michael,

It doesnt' do you any good to demand assistance in the forum - we're all just users like you.  Happy to help though, but it would be nice to start fresh instead of with a rant if possible.  You'll find others are more likley to provide assistance this way, but that's just my recommendation.

ATIH 2016 v6027 works fine with Windows 10.  I'm running Win10x64 on three personal systems with Acronis and things are running fine.  

1) Are you running non-stop backup by any chance?

2) Did you upgrade from an older version or ATIH?

3) Or did you have Acronis installed on a pervious OS version and then upgrade to Windows 10?

IF so, that is probably why you're seeing these issues, although there coudl be other settings, configurations, applications or even hardware that can cause issues with applications.  Regardless, I would recommend doing a clean uninstall and reinstall following these instructions and you should not see the delayed shutdown messages (you might every now and then, but only if Acronis backups are in progress and in need of closing out and saving the database for active backups).  If you're running nonstop backups, you're more likely to see this message as well, since nonstop backup runs every five minutes and would need to save and closeout before allowing the system to shutdown to avoid database corruption.

Clean removal and install instructions: https://forum.acronis.com/forum/113656#comment-334624

 

 

Forum Member
Posts: 18
Comments: 65

I've been running Acronis for several years. I've been through all the hoops to get around this problem, including uninstall and using the clean tool.

The only thing I do is preform a single version backup for every day of the week, and that is it.  

I don't understand why Acronis froces all theses extras to be ran when they are not needed.

Here is an example; I just updated IE10 from 10586.122 to 10586.164, and it required a reboot. I got the message on reboot that Acronis was processing and would require 2 minutes to shut down (more like 5 minutes). The backup that was last prefoprmed had completed 10 hours prior, so what was acronis doing?

Now an hour later I rebooted again, and again the same message popped up.

Zapping the scheduled tasks and redoing them seem to help for awhile, but it eventually goes back to that same message.

It's fustraiting becuse it appears that Acronis could care less. There are multiple users with the same problem.

It appears that I'm going to have to go back to 2014 in order to rectify the problem. There was a thread some where statring that was one solution, but I can't remember how far back they said to go.

Never had one single problem with Acronis until I updated to 2015, or 2016

 

Regular Poster
Posts: 19
Comments: 196

Michael,

Development team is working on resovling this annoying 'shutdown behavior' and the fix will be implemented in the next update that we expect to have in April.

Gaidar

Forum Member
Posts: 18
Comments: 65

I know a WHOLE lot of users will be very happy.

Thank you...

Regular Poster
Posts: 19
Comments: 196

I personally will be happy as well! :) Take care!

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 1

Nothing has changed. Some of the bad behavior...hanging on a shutdown were a problem in the last version. Time for a more robust and bug free solution.

Forum Member
Posts: 18
Comments: 65

I found that disabeling the Non stop backup service, and Sync Agent service helps to resolve the problem.

 

There is a script somewhere that disables all the crap. 

Forum Hero
Posts: 59
Comments: 7358

Havent' any issues with shutdown problems since 2016 v6559.  Steve, you didn't provide a lot of details or information so really hard to provide any assistance - especially if you aren't running v6571 now.  This message may still appear if an actual backup is running when shutting down too - it is a warning that a backup is in progress and it cleanly shuts down the backup before allowing the OS to complete the shutodown process.

Michael, here are some simple scripts that can be renamed to .bat files and double clicked to stop or start services.  Using :: in front of any line comments it out so you can pick and choose which services to stop/start and/or set to disabled.  I usually set NSB to stopped and disabled since I never use it.  

I commented out the 2017 mobile services in both as well before uploading since these services don't exist in 2016 and earlier.

 

Attachment Size
392288-133498.txt 1.4 KB
392288-133501.txt 1.44 KB
Forum Member
Posts: 18
Comments: 65

I'm running build 6571 and the problem is still there. When the Anniversary edition was officially released I decided to do a fresh install. After installing Acronis, the delayed shutdown was still there and disabling the services was the only solution.

It looks like Acronis continues to load an absolutely great backup utility with unnecessary bloat. Apparently they know what is best for their clients to use. There should be options when Acronis is installed that allows the client to install whatever services they require, thus eliminating running unnecessary services, or what we call bloat.

Until Acronis give its clients options I'm sticking with 2016 build 6571 and manually disabling those services that continue to give problems. I've also read where some users have gone back to using 2012, which works prefectly well with Windows 10, and installs without the bloat.