Skip to main content

32bit or 64bit?

Thread needs solution
Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 12

Dear people!

I'm using TI 2017 since one week.

Now I find myself in the position, that I have to recover something from my data-partition.

After restarting the PC with the boot disk, I had to choose which version I want to run - 32bit or 64bit.

My system is 64bit. But I was unsure about that, because I didn't remember to have had a choice after purchasing it last week. So I decided to start Windows again to find out which version is installed.

I couldn't find it out through the program itself. So I've been looking for the program-folders and it is installed in the x86-folder.

So I'm quite sure, that the 32bit-version is installed, because I wouldn't have changed the folder during the installation that way, if another folder was suggested.

So here are the questions:

1. Is there a way to find out which version is installed through the program itself?

2. Will a recovery even function if the 32bit-version is installed?

3. If the recovery will function, would it be a good idea to change to the 64bit-version after all? What is the difference, if the 32bit-version runs too?

4. Am I right if I think, that backups which are made with the 32bit-version won't be compatible with the 64bit-version version?

Many thanks in advance!

Kind regards

olynt

P. S.: I'm not a native english speaker....

0 Users found this helpful
Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 12

#1

...well...

Meanwhile I've been installing TI 2017 on the 2nd of 3 Windows 7 64bit systems.

It leaves no choice about versions!

It automatically installs itself into the x86-folder!

So what does this mean for me (and for anyone else) in the end???

Does this mean, that TI 2017 is a 32bit program, and that the Boot-CD is only asking for the existing system?????

If so, I think the available choices from the Boot-CD shouldn't be that imprecise!

....or did I overread something?

Thanks in advance for any comments!

Kind regards

olynt

(for Mrs. Zander)

Regular Poster
Posts: 63
Comments: 345

#2

Hi @ Sylvia Zander  ,

Acronis True Image 2017 is a 32-Bit program. It isn't a 64-Bit program, so it can be installed on both 32-Bit and 64-Bit operating systems.

Are you talking about the Installation CD or Bootable Rescue CD?

 

Legend
Posts: 102
Comments: 22529

#3

Sylvia, when using the Boot CD / Rescue Media, you will see choices for both the 32-bit and 64-bit Acronis True Image application and this is normal, but in your instance where you have a 64-bit system, you should choose the 64-bit program to use for restoring data.

The Boot CD / Rescue Media is designed to be used on both 32-bit and 64-bit systems hence the choices.

One of the easiest ways to see what type of system you have (if unsure) is the open the Properties for 'This PC' where the panel will show this.

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 12

#4

Thank you for the answers!

thecreator wrote:

Are you talking about the Installation CD or Bootable Rescue CD?

I've been talking about the Bootable Rescue CD.

 

Steve Smith wrote:

... but in your instance where you have a 64-bit system, you should choose the 64-bit program to use for restoring data.

That's what I wanted to know! Interesting! And I think it's kind of confusing for the users.... Am I the first one asking that question? ;-)

Kind regards

olynt

(for Mrs. Sylvia Zander)

 

Legend
Posts: 102
Comments: 22529

#5

olynt, Acronis assumes that users have a certain level of computer experience in order to use this application, which in itself is very powerful, i.e. you can destroy a computer system by using the product in the wrong way, i.e. restoring a backup image to a computer where it will not work or using some of the embedded drive cleaning tools etc.

I understand that some users may find the choice of options to be confusing, and I would recommend using the built-in Feedback tool to communicate this concern directly to Acronis to alert them to this.

I am sure that you are not the first person to ask this question and will not be the last one either.

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 12

#6

Dear Steve!

I'm using True Image (Home) since 2011.

Before this new version, I've been using the versions 2011 and 2014.

I've been recovering several partitions on three PCs for differnet reasons (Trojan-Infection, HDD change etc.) at least 15 times during the last 6 years.

But in my opinion the old versions (see above) were more clearly arranged and therefore easier to handle.

Steve Smith wrote:

I would recommend using the built-in Feedback tool to communicate this concern directly to Acronis to alert them to this.

Thanks for this tip! I'm gonna do that!

Kind regards

 

Forum Hero
Posts: 70
Comments: 8343

#7

Just FYI... I've used 32-bit and 64-bit versions to restore images - really no issues using either in the process that I've come across.  I actually find that using the 32-bit version of the default Linux rescue media, may work better with wireless mice / touchpad devices than the 64-bit version.  However, you can only pick 32 or 64-bit if you are booting the rescue media in LEGACY mode.

If you have a UEFI system and a UEFI/GPT installed OS, you should be booting in UEFI mode (make sure you are if you aren't) and UEFI will only give you the option that matches your BIOS firmware capabilities - there is no UEFI firmware that has both 32 and 64 boot capability (that I'm aware of to date).  

In a nutshell, it really won't make a difference in legacy mode.  UEFI mode will pick for you based on the bios firmware and architecture.

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 1

#8

The terms 32-bit and 64-bit refer to the way a computer's processor (also called a CPU), handles information. Processor calls data from Memory i.e. RAM by giving its address to MAR (Memory Address Register). Selector electronics then finds that address in the memory bank and retrieves the data and puts it in MDR (Memory Data Register) This data is recorded in one of the Registers in the Processor for further processing. Thats why size of Data Bus determines the size of Registers in Processor. Now, if my processor has 32 bit register, it can call data of 4 bytes size only, at a time. And if the data size exceeds 32 bits, then it would required two cycles of fetching to have the data in it. This slows down the speed of 32 bit Machine compared to 64 bit, which would complete the operation in ONE fetch cycle only. So, obviosly for the smaller data, it makes no difference if my processors are clocked at the same speed. Again, with 64 bit processor and 64 bit OS, my instructions will be of 64 bit size always... which unnecessarily uses up more memory space.