Skip to main content

acronis_drive.exe causes issues with the Windows 10 Subsystem for Linux (bash)

Thread needs solution
Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 1

I am using Acronis True Image build 8053 and if acronis_drive.exe is running in the background, many commands within the bash shell fail.

Below is a sample list of commands that end with errors if acronis_drive.exe is running at the same time.

~# adduser testuser

groupadd: cannot open /etc/group
adduser: `/usr/sbin/groupadd -g 1000 testuser' returned error code 10. Exiting.

~# sudo apt-get update

Reading package lists... Error!
...<more errors are listed after this>...

~# mv testfile newfile

mv: cannot move ‘testfile’ to a subdirectory of itself, ‘newfile’

NOTE: The current workaround for me is to stop the acronis_drive.exe process when I want to use the bash shell. 

Thanks

groupadd: cannot open /etc/group
adduser: `/usr/sbin/groupadd -g 1000 steve' returned error code 10. Exiting.
groupadd: cannot open /etc/group
adduser: `/usr/sbin/groupadd -g 1000 steve' returned error code 10. Exiting.
0 Users found this helpful
Legend
Posts: 106
Comments: 26726

Doug, welcome to these user forums.

This is a problem that you need to report directly to Acronis Support by opening a Support Case. 

Acronis Drive is a new function introduced with ATIH 2017 in support of Mobile Backups and has caused a number of new issues which development will need to review and consider making changes for.  As such there is very little the user community can do for this type of conflict issue.

Please use the contact link in my signature below to get in touch with support.

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 1

Thanks Steve for the reply.   I will open a support case for it.

Legend
Posts: 106
Comments: 26726

Thanks Doug, please let us know how the support case goes for this issue.  I doubt there are a lot of users who will see the issue or use Bash on Windows 10, but would be good to have this documented for those who do.

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 1

I'm an Acronis True Image 2017 user (have been upgrading for several years) and have been experiencing the same issue Doug reported when installing Ubuntu on Windows for many months now.

I'm presently using Win 10 Pro build '16251.rs3_release.170721-2122' and have found that by killing the 'Acronis Drive' background process prior to doing the 'lxrun /install' you do not encounter the error that would otherwise occur when the 'useradd' process runs during the Ubuntu on windows install.

So great to have this figured out on the user side.

I've added a link to this post on a related bug report on the WSL bug tracker at Github.
(https://github.com/Microsoft/BashOnWindows/issues/1704)

Legend
Posts: 106
Comments: 26726

Brett, if you are OK with the workaround here of killing the Acronis Drive process, then fine, but otherwise, as advised to the OP, please raise this as a Support Case with Acronis directly, or use the Feedback tool in the main GUI to alert them to this issue.

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 2

Same here.

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 1

Год прошел релиз 2018 10640, а это acronis_drive.exe блокирует работу WSL. Какое-то время работала Ubuntu из Microsoft Store но потом сломалась

XX@YYY:~$ sudo apt-get update
Hit:1 http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu xenial-security InRelease
Hit:2 http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu xenial InRelease
Hit:3 http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu xenial-updates InRelease
Hit:4 http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu xenial-backports InRelease
Reading package lists... Error!
E: Problem renaming the file /var/cache/apt/srcpkgcache.bin.I7qqOF to /var/cache/apt/srcpkgcache.bin - rename (22: Invalid argument)
E: Problem renaming the file /var/cache/apt/pkgcache.bin.Vh7XTq to /var/cache/apt/pkgcache.bin - rename (22: Invalid argument)
W: You may want to run apt-get update to correct these problems
E: The package cache file is corrupted

XX@YYY:~$ /mnt/c/./Windows/System32/taskkill.exe /f /IM acronis_drive.exe
SUCCESS: The process "acronis_drive.exe" with PID 13652 has been terminated.
XX@YYY:~$ sudo apt-get update
Hit:1 http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu xenial InRelease
Get:2 http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu xenial-updates InRelease [102 kB]
Get:3 http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu xenial-security InRelease [102 kB]
Get:4 http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu xenial-backports InRelease [102 kB]
Fetched 306 kB in 1s (275 kB/s)
Reading package lists... Done

А что-бы наверняка, то

acronis.png

Legend
Posts: 106
Comments: 26726

Vitaliy Belov wrote:

The year was released 2018 10640, and this acronis_drive.exe blocks the work of WSL. Ubuntu of Microsoft Store worked for a while but then it broke

XX @ YYY: ~ $ sudo apt-get update
Hit: 1 http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu xenial-security InRelease
Hit: 2 http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu xenial InRelease
Hit: 3 http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu xenial-updates InRelease
Hit: 4 http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu xenial-backports InRelease
Reading package lists ... Error!
E: Problem renaming the file /var/cache/apt/srcpkgcache.bin.I7qqOF to /var/cache/apt/srcpkgcache.bin - rename (22: Invalid argument)
E: Problem renaming the file /var/cache/apt/pkgcache.bin.Vh7XTq to /var/cache/apt/pkgcache.bin - rename (22: Invalid argument)
W: You may want to run apt-get update to correct these problems
E: The package cache file is corrupted

XX @ YYY: ~ $ /mnt/c/./Windows/System32/taskkill.exe / f / IM acronis_drive.exe
SUCCESS: The process "acronis_drive.exe" with PID 13652 has been terminated.
XX @ YYY: ~ $ sudo apt-get update
Hit: 1 http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu xenial InRelease
Get: 2 http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu xenial-updates InRelease [102 kB]
Get: 3 http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu xenial-security InRelease [102 kB]
Get: 4 http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu xenial-backports InRelease [102 kB]
Fetched 306 kB in 1s (275 kB / s)
Reading package lists ... Done

And that for sure, then

Vitaly, welcome to these User Forums.

As advised to other users on this topic, please open a Support Case directly with Acronis to get an official answer as to why the Acronis Drive has the effect you show with updating Ubuntu software.

In reply to by Steve Smith

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 2

But don't hold your breath waiting for a fix...

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 2

I'm having this issue, also. It is becoming a pain to shut down Acronis every time I want to run a BASH prompt. (I shut down all of Acronis) Then I forget that I shut it down, and my Backups don't run. The Linux for Windows Subsystem is becoming more popular. No other program I have affects this Windows Option.

 

In lieu of a fix, A command-line shutdown and restart I can put in a script would be helpful.

Thanks

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 2

To be honest, I have one Win10 system where Acronis does not affect LSfW, but have another where it does.

Legend
Posts: 106
Comments: 26726

SR712, welcome to these public User Forums.

Ideally, as advised to the other users posting in this thread, you should open a Support Case direct with Acronis to report this issue, as the more people that do, the more chance of the developers doing something about resolving it!

In the interim, you are welcome to use the PowerShell scripts in the attached zip file that I wrote recently when dealing with a different issue and needed a way of shutting down all Acronis Services & Processes, then later restarting the core required ones again.

See webpage: PowerShell – Running scripts is disabled on this system. - which you may encounter if you are not already using PowerShell.  This shows that you can overcome this issue by using: 

powershell -ExecutionPolicy ByPass -File script.ps1

You would need to put the name of the actual scripts from the zip file in place of 'script.ps1'

Attachment Size
496830-166770.zip 187.67 KB
Forum Moderator
Posts: 209
Comments: 6680

Hello SR712,

I've counted your comment in the list of affected customers (internal ID of the issue TI-107218). Unfortunately, there is no ETA on when the fix will be available. 

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 1

+1 having the same issue with WSL on Windows 10

Version    10.0.18362 Build 18362

 

Is there an update as to a fix?

 

I have to manaally kill the acronis_drive.exe

 

 

Forum Star
Posts: 193
Comments: 4616

As ATI 2018 is out of support the fix would be made in the current version of ATI. Given the absence of any ETA I would speculate that any fix will not appear until ATI 2020 is released at the earliest. You could try the beta and see if things are any better (send a PM to Ekaterina to get access to beta).

Ian

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 1

As noted above (in Russian), the problem is specific to the Acronis Drive process. To prevent the Acronis Drive process from starting, one can modify  the Access Control List (ACL) on ‪C:\Program Files (x86)\Acronis\TrueImageHome\acronis_drive.exe to add a Deny access right for principal Everyone. You can do so manually if you know how. (See the screenshot above, in Russian, in case that helps you.) Alternatively, here is a PowerShell script that solves the problem. It kills the Acronis Drive process, sets the ACL to prevent it from running, and removes the substitute "Acronis Drive" drive:

$file = 'C:\Program Files (x86)\Acronis\TrueImageHome\acronis_drive.exe'
if (Test-Path $file) {
    Get-Process -Name acronis_drive -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue | Stop-Process -Force
    $acl = Get-Acl $file
    $rule = New-Object System.Security.AccessControl.FileSystemAccessRule('Everyone', 'ExecuteFile', 'Deny')
    $acl.SetAccessRule($rule)
    Set-Acl $file $acl
    if (Test-Path 'M:') {
        & subst M: /d
    }
}

You must run this script as Administrator for it to work. The usual cautions apply (starting with "Don't run random scripts you find on the Internet, especially not as Admin,....").

Works for me, though.

Source/credit: https://github.com/microsoft/WSL/issues/2437#issuecomment-325058101

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 1

I too have this problem and will be following to await a solution.

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 1

Hello:

Im facing the same exact issue.