Skip to main content

Automatic Cleanup not saving or working for Incremental Backups

Thread needs solution
ceg
Beginner
Posts: 3
Comments: 4

I have upgraded to the latest version of Acronis True Image 2017 and the automatic cleanup of Incremental backups is not working.  The settings are not getting saved after I exit Acronis.  While I am in Acronis, it appears my settings are saved but when I exit Acronis and go back in, the Backup Schema tab does not show that Automatic Cleanup is turned on.  I have to start over and set the settings but then when I exit, the same thing happens.  In addition, the backups are not getting cleaned up.  I have create a brand new Incremental Backup and the same problem happened to it as well.

How can I get the Automatic Cleanup to work?

0 Users found this helpful
Legend
Posts: 106
Comments: 26782

ceg, when you make changes to your task configuration, then these are only saved when you click on one of the Backup options, i.e. Backup now, Backup in 1/2/4/8 hours, Backup Later.  Without clicking on one of these options all changes are lost.

ceg
Beginner
Posts: 3
Comments: 4

That does not appear to be the case now.  The Options button when selected has an Ok and Cancel set of buttons.  I press the Ok.  Then the only button when I exit that screen is to run the Backup Now button.  The Options should already have been saved.  This still shows my settings until I exit all the way out of Acronis and go back in.

Legend
Posts: 106
Comments: 26782

The OK button on the Options pages will only register the changes you have made but these are not saved until you click on the Backup Now button.  If this is a new backup task, then the Backup now button has additional choices that you can select to backup in 1,2,4,6 hours or later, but for an existing task, it only has the single backup now option that is used to save the changes so that they are kept.

ceg
Beginner
Posts: 3
Comments: 4

I made the change to the Options settings, hit Save, then clicked on Run Backup.  The backup ran successfully but no prior backups were deleted.  Then I exited Acronis and went back in and like before, my settings were NOT saved.  You suggestion did not make a difference in the outcome.  Acronis is not saving the changes made to Turn on Automatic Cleanup.  In looking at the script file, there seems to be no information about number of backup sets to keep or for automatic cleanup.

Legend
Posts: 106
Comments: 26782

ceg, can you try creating a completely new backup task and setting these cleanup options then testing whether this is kept correctly for you?

I have tested this on my own system and all is working correctly so I cannot recreate the issue at my end.

Can you also confirm what build version of ATIH 2017 you have installed on your computer - this will be shown on the Account page?

deb
Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 3

Same here. Nothing in the cleanup options has been saved. Create a new Backup Task, closed the app and when i newly oppened it - nothing has been saved!

Whats wrong!?!

Forum Hero
Posts: 70
Comments: 8348

FYI after making changes to a task, the version chain is reset. For example, if you say to cleanup after 7 incrementals, it completes #5 and you chqnge the task, you've got 7 more to go now. It also won't cleanup until th next full has completed. And last, if you are using a cleanup day count, like 7 days... that cleanup won't occur until 7 days after that next full completed. 

Basically, best to start with a clean backup task and not edit it if you can avoid it and I'd recommend using # of backups to retain instead of number of days. 

deb
Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 3

again. i did a new backup task. i say cleanup after #3 incrementals. save the new task and say backup later. close the app. when i newly open it, the changes, which i have made before, aren't there. Why not???

Forum Hero
Posts: 70
Comments: 8348

Not sure. I can't produce the behavior.

if you upgraded from an earlier version at some point, you may have inherited issues as a result. You can try downloading the most current version, right click and "run as admin" even if logged in as admin, and try a repair install. Then create a new task with a unique, never used name and try again. If that first do it, I'd remove the app, run the cleanup tool with right click and "run as administrator" reboot and reinstall clean, but you'll be starting over completely new, which means making new tasks and running fresh backups.

you should also open a support case and show this behavior to Actonis directly so they can confirm you're doing this correctly, and, if you are, something is amiss in your particular setup that might be identified with an Actonis system report.

ceg
Beginner
Posts: 3
Comments: 4

The exact same thing happened.  The Options settings for Automatic Cleanup did not save.  I performed the backup as well.

deb
Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 3

okay. i open a support case to acronis directly. Let's see, what they mean.

Beginner
Posts: 5
Comments: 7

I have exactly the same problems. I use the build 8085 and Windows 7. 

Doesn't anyone have a solution?

Legend
Posts: 106
Comments: 26782

Kreuzritter, can you post a screen shot of your Backup Scheme page settings for the task where you see this problem?  The options that I use that work are shown below

2017-08-22 12_35_23-Acronis True Image 2017.png

In reply to by deb

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 2

okay. i open a support case to acronis directly. Let's see, what they mean.

Deb: did they fix your issue?  I'm having the same issue with cleanup set to a size restriction.  The settings reset when I switch between viewing backup jobs.

Legend
Posts: 106
Comments: 26782

Andrew, please ensure that you have the Backup Scheme set to be Custom scheme in order for it to retain your cleanup settings correctly.

Beginner
Posts: 1
Comments: 2

I ended up saving it custom "2TB cleanup" and this worked.  I think where people are getting confused is they think each backup job has its own custom scheme as the interface would lead one to believe and it's what I'm accustomed to being an old Ghost user.  This isn't the case.  Perhaps it should be revisited by developers.

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 1

ATI2017 User Guide says this...

Automatic cleanup rules
To delete obsolete backup versions automatically, you can set one of the following cleanup rules:

  • Delete versions older than [defined period] (available for full method only) - Select this option to limit the age of backup versions. All versions that are older than the specified period will be automatically deleted.
  • Delete version chains older than [defined period] (available for incremental and differential methods only) - Select this option to limit the age of backup version chains. The oldest version chain will be deleted only when the most recent backup version of this chain is older than the specified period.
  • Store no more than [n] recent versions (available for full method only) - Select this option to limit the maximum number of backup versions. When the number of versions exceeds the specified value, the oldest backup version will be automatically deleted.
  • Store no more than [n] recent version chains (available for incremental and differential methods only) - Select this option to limit the maximum number of backup version chains. When the number of version chains exceeds the specified value, the oldest backup version chain will be automatically deleted.
  • Keep size of the backup no more than [defined size] - Select this option to limit maximum size of the backup. After creating a new backup version, the program checks whether the total backup size exceeds the specified value. If it's true, the oldest backup version will be deleted.

The first backup version option
Often the first version of any backup is one of the most valuable versions. This is true because it stores the initial data state (for example, your system partition with recently installed Windows) or some other stable data state (for example, data after a successful virus check).

Do not delete the first version of the backup - Select this check box to keep the initial data state. The program will create two initial full backup versions. The first version will be excluded from the automatic cleanup, and will be stored until you delete it manually.

If you select incremental or differential method, the first backup chain will start from the second full backup version. And only the third version of the backup will be incremental or differential one.
Note that when the check box is selected, the Store no more than [n] recent versions check box will change to Store no more than 1+[n] recent versions.

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 2

Andrew Burns wrote:

okay. i open a support case to acronis directly. Let's see, what they mean.

Deb: did they fix your issue?  I'm having the same issue with cleanup set to a size restriction.  The settings reset when I switch between viewing backup jobs.

Did anyone ever get to the bottom of this issue, as mine is now started randomly doing this after being installed & set up two years ago!!  After two years it decided to change all the settings of the jobs back to default :( 

Legend
Posts: 106
Comments: 26782

Dean, the settings being reset is a known issue caused by a change on the Acronis servers that deal with their dashboard feature!

please see forum topic: True Image 2020 -Backup option settings loss - where the same issue has been reported by multiple different users with many versions of ATI.

Acronis have asked for users to submit Feedback including an Acronis System Report from affected computers.

See KB 57216: Acronis True Image: Send Feedback for help with the Feedback process.

Beginner
Posts: 0
Comments: 2

Thanks for that Steve, though I was going nuts then!!

I dont use the online dashboard so have disabled the Mini Service to see how that goes.